We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and has a pool!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #40 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location and has a pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Hotel Copernicus is in an excellent location and the service was fantastic. The amenities are superb. The hotel manager made us feel very welcome. To come back from a day sight seeing to a swim and then a sauna before going out to dinner was great. Two minor points would have made things even better: a kettle and coffee making facilities in the room and water available in the gym and near the sauna. Next time in Krakow I shall definite stay at the Hotel Copernicus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you very much for your lovely opinion. We are glad we could make your stay more pleasant. It is wonderful to read that you consider visiting us in the future. We would be honoured to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    105
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
69
230
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a BEAUTIFUL hotel - a very old building in a street of historic houses. Excellent location, five minutes from the market square and at the foot of the Wawel. Visiting Krakow in very cold weather - snow in April! - this hotel was warm, comfortable and cosy. We had a deluxe room overlooking the picturesque street - a large, traditional room - very spacious, beautiful bathroom with underfloor heating. Excellent breakfasts. We booked on the hotel's own website and booked dinner at what we thought was the hotel restaurant for our first night. This dinner turned out to be at the pod roza hotel restaurant - their sister hotel. This was excellent but we would have rather eaten in the Copernicus itself. We would not hesitate to return to or recommend to others this very charming hotel

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenScotlandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

How nice to read your very kind review. It is an honour to see so many positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed diner at Pod Roza restaurant. We are hoping that next time you would enjoy the Polish cousin served in our restaurant. We would be honoured to host you at the hotel Copernicus again.

With very best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is centrally located to the old city square. The room was clean with lovely appointments. The staff were helpful and the degustation menu in the restaurant was superb. The building is full of history and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you for your precious opinion. We are happy to read that you consider return to our hotel. We would be honoured to host you at the Copernicus hotel in the nearest future.

Warm regards from Krakow.
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Copernicus dates back to the time of it's namesake. If one looks closely at some of the walls in the rooms you can see frescoes from that time period. The room was large especially for Europe and was very clean. Although the hotel is very centrally located it is on a side street and is very quiet. You can go up to the roof and see over a large area of Krakow. The hotel is especially close to Wawel castle the main attraction in Krakow.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I couldn't believe the low cost of the hotel (just south of $200/nt) as it would probably be about $300-$400 in the U.S. or Canada and breakfast was included which was very good.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeancrazy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

How great to read your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the history and the atmosphere of our small hotel. We do our best to make our staff highly qualified and we are glad you appreciate their service. We would be happy to welcome you in nearest future.

Best personal regards.
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Hotel Copernicus during Easter Week. What a wonderful hotel. The location is terrific, just steps away from the Castle on a very quiet street and literally steps away from the hustle and bustle of Krakow. All the staff were just wonderful and very helpful. I want to call out Joanna, Lukasz (the bartender), Marcin and the others for above and beyond service. We were a family of 5 and had two rooms, room 201 and the suite with a view 301. Both were great, large and comfortable. It is a small hotel which creates a very comfortable environment in contrast to staying in a large hotel with a ton of people.

If in Krakow, I would highly recommend the Hotel Copernicus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novakkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Friends,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your excellent feedback about your stay at the Copernicus! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and you have been pleased with our service . We look forward welcoming you in Krakow soon .

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We spent 4 nights at The Copernicus..The Hotel is Exquisite, The Location is Superb and The Staff is without a doubt the Best Staff we have ever encountered....Talk about going Above and Beyond, each and every employee in this Hotel was FANTASTIC....They really made us feel at home and could not do enough for us...Although Krakow has many Great Restaurants, we could have had every meal in the Hotel as the Food and Presentation was Absolute Perfection..Our room was quite large and lovely, and always kept to the Highest Standards, very Comfortable..We so enjoyed coming back to the Hotel after a Full Day of sightseeing and sitting at the Bar with Lukas, the Bartender....Lukas was always ready to listen to our days activities and share other things we should see in Krakow....Lukas was a True Delight and made our stay at The Copernicus so Charming.....He is a great Asset to the Hotel and a delight to talk with....Great Job Copernicus on hand selecting the Best that Krakow has to offer....We will be back, Michael and Michael from Chicago

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael55962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Michael & Michael,

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you spent a nice time in Krakow. A warm greetings from all the staff especially from Lukas.

We are all hoping to welcome you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Joanna Wilgierz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I spent 5 nights nights here. I was looking for an independent hotel close to both the main square and Wavel Castle but off the main street. This has it and more. Beautiful large rooms and enclosed courtyard. Located in the oldest and possibly quietest street in Cracow the castle is three minutes walk, five to the main square. It is unusual for a hotel to have so much history itself to be surrounded by so much culture and history, literally on its doorstep. Pope John Paul's former pad directly opposite.
An opera singer was performing round the corner (at freezing temperatures) in front of a church that hosts classical concerts. The bugle from the cathedral in the square can just about be heard at night. A great view of the castle from the roof terrace. The three horse drawn carriages all parked silently like taxis just up the cobbled street at night could have been a scene from 200 years ago.

Faultless service from the staff, the front desk were able to supply tickets to all the events I wanted and was nothing they couldn't do. A pool, sauna and gym which was never busy. The lounge could have been larger but great service from the bar at night which went, owing to the conversation and range of alcohol on display, well beyond the call of duty. In all, to me many of the hallmarks of a leading hotel. If budget allows this should be on your short list.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richcgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Reviever,

All the Copernicus team joins me to thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted to read that your experience at the Copernicus Hotel was nice and hope to welcome you in Krakow again in the nearest future.

With best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#51 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#29 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#76 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain a health and wellness spa, which is open non-stop. Massages are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing