We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The top hotel in its class”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #34 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The top hotel in its class”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The location is a bullseye, staff is friendly and attentive, breakfast is great, atmosphere is tremendous, pool is to die for. When we where in Krakow it was snowy but the pool and the sauna made you forget that outside was -5 celsius.
I am eager to go again any day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMilcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

How nice to read your opinion about the visit in Krakow. We would be happy host you at the Copernicus during the summer time - again, you could discover the sunny side of our Historical City.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    111
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
72
249
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is stunning and very well located. The frescoes in the rooms are amazing. The pool in the basement is beautiful and well-designed (a great use of the space!). The place is luxurious, and feels it. From the moment we walked in the door-- we felt incredibly well taken care of. The general manager came out of her office to very warmly greet us and to ask the receptionist to upgrade us to a superior room if it was possible (it was-- and the room was fantastic). The staff were all friendly and helpful, and even managed to set up a private vodka tasting for us at a fantastic local bar. We will certainly come back, and can highly recommend this hotel to all! The service ethic here is truly truly fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bfdcshskpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you so much for writing so many nice words on behalf of our hotel. We are glad that your stay in Krakow was nice ,you enjoyed the upgrade and the atmosphere of our hotel.

I would be happy to welcome you in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards from Krakow,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Hotel Copernicus is in an excellent location and the service was fantastic. The amenities are superb. The hotel manager made us feel very welcome. To come back from a day sight seeing to a swim and then a sauna before going out to dinner was great. Two minor points would have made things even better: a kettle and coffee making facilities in the room and water available in the gym and near the sauna. Next time in Krakow I shall definite stay at the Hotel Copernicus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you very much for your lovely opinion. We are glad we could make your stay more pleasant. It is wonderful to read that you consider visiting us in the future. We would be honoured to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a BEAUTIFUL hotel - a very old building in a street of historic houses. Excellent location, five minutes from the market square and at the foot of the Wawel. Visiting Krakow in very cold weather - snow in April! - this hotel was warm, comfortable and cosy. We had a deluxe room overlooking the picturesque street - a large, traditional room - very spacious, beautiful bathroom with underfloor heating. Excellent breakfasts. We booked on the hotel's own website and booked dinner at what we thought was the hotel restaurant for our first night. This dinner turned out to be at the pod roza hotel restaurant - their sister hotel. This was excellent but we would have rather eaten in the Copernicus itself. We would not hesitate to return to or recommend to others this very charming hotel

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenScotlandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

How nice to read your very kind review. It is an honour to see so many positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed diner at Pod Roza restaurant. We are hoping that next time you would enjoy the Polish cousin served in our restaurant. We would be honoured to host you at the hotel Copernicus again.

With very best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is centrally located to the old city square. The room was clean with lovely appointments. The staff were helpful and the degustation menu in the restaurant was superb. The building is full of history and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you for your precious opinion. We are happy to read that you consider return to our hotel. We would be honoured to host you at the Copernicus hotel in the nearest future.

Warm regards from Krakow.
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Copernicus dates back to the time of it's namesake. If one looks closely at some of the walls in the rooms you can see frescoes from that time period. The room was large especially for Europe and was very clean. Although the hotel is very centrally located it is on a side street and is very quiet. You can go up to the roof and see over a large area of Krakow. The hotel is especially close to Wawel castle the main attraction in Krakow.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I couldn't believe the low cost of the hotel (just south of $200/nt) as it would probably be about $300-$400 in the U.S. or Canada and breakfast was included which was very good.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeancrazy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

How great to read your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the history and the atmosphere of our small hotel. We do our best to make our staff highly qualified and we are glad you appreciate their service. We would be happy to welcome you in nearest future.

Best personal regards.
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Hotel Copernicus during Easter Week. What a wonderful hotel. The location is terrific, just steps away from the Castle on a very quiet street and literally steps away from the hustle and bustle of Krakow. All the staff were just wonderful and very helpful. I want to call out Joanna, Lukasz (the bartender), Marcin and the others for above and beyond service. We were a family of 5 and had two rooms, room 201 and the suite with a view 301. Both were great, large and comfortable. It is a small hotel which creates a very comfortable environment in contrast to staying in a large hotel with a ton of people.

If in Krakow, I would highly recommend the Hotel Copernicus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novakkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Friends,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your excellent feedback about your stay at the Copernicus! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and you have been pleased with our service . We look forward welcoming you in Krakow soon .

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#51 of 259 in Krakow
696 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 259 in Krakow
1,985 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#80 of 259 in Krakow
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,069 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
662 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#91 of 259 in Krakow
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing