We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic hotel in historic district” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #38 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Historic hotel in historic district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Pricey but very cool hotel. Historic charm, cool downstairs mini swimming pool and sauna. Huge glass roof over center. Place was clean and everything worked. Don't miss the roof deck. Great location near Wawel palace and river. 5 min to main square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markus99s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you very much for the nice and valuable review. We are glad you appreciated the location and the atmosphere of our small hotel. We would be honoured to host you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Warm regards from Krakow.
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    105
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
69
230
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just returned from a few nights away in Krakow, and have got to agree with the majority here that this hotel is a gem, a location is perfect, only 3 to 5 minutes walk from the main square, the room was fantastic and the pool amazing. The staff were all very friendly and we could not fault the service in any way

Thank you to everyone

Room Tip: We booked the suite on the roof top, amazing room and bathroom, certainly worth that bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MILLS_family_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Mills Family,

Thank you for a lovely update regarding the visit in our Hotel. We would be happy to welcome you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Best regards from historical City of Krakow,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem. It is located in the center of town and it is very close to all of the wonderful restaurants and tourist attractions. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We had 2 adults and 2 kids so we stayed in a suite which had one bedroom with a king size bed and then in the living room there was a daybed with a pull out cot. It was very comfortable. The staff are all very helpful as well. There is a nice library on the first floor where you can sit and relax. Another great thing was the swimming pool. It is not very big but the kids loved it! There is also a nice area to sit while the kids are swimming. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you very much for the nice review and for having enjoyed the facilities and the organization of our small hotel. We would be honored to host you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Warm regards from Krakow.
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The location is a bullseye, staff is friendly and attentive, breakfast is great, atmosphere is tremendous, pool is to die for. When we where in Krakow it was snowy but the pool and the sauna made you forget that outside was -5 celsius.
I am eager to go again any day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMilcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

How nice to read your opinion about the visit in Krakow. We would be happy host you at the Copernicus during the summer time - again, you could discover the sunny side of our Historical City.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is stunning and very well located. The frescoes in the rooms are amazing. The pool in the basement is beautiful and well-designed (a great use of the space!). The place is luxurious, and feels it. From the moment we walked in the door-- we felt incredibly well taken care of. The general manager came out of her office to very warmly greet us and to ask the receptionist to upgrade us to a superior room if it was possible (it was-- and the room was fantastic). The staff were all friendly and helpful, and even managed to set up a private vodka tasting for us at a fantastic local bar. We will certainly come back, and can highly recommend this hotel to all! The service ethic here is truly truly fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bfdcshskpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you so much for writing so many nice words on behalf of our hotel. We are glad that your stay in Krakow was nice ,you enjoyed the upgrade and the atmosphere of our hotel.

I would be happy to welcome you in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards from Krakow,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Hotel Copernicus is in an excellent location and the service was fantastic. The amenities are superb. The hotel manager made us feel very welcome. To come back from a day sight seeing to a swim and then a sauna before going out to dinner was great. Two minor points would have made things even better: a kettle and coffee making facilities in the room and water available in the gym and near the sauna. Next time in Krakow I shall definite stay at the Hotel Copernicus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you very much for your lovely opinion. We are glad we could make your stay more pleasant. It is wonderful to read that you consider visiting us in the future. We would be honoured to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a BEAUTIFUL hotel - a very old building in a street of historic houses. Excellent location, five minutes from the market square and at the foot of the Wawel. Visiting Krakow in very cold weather - snow in April! - this hotel was warm, comfortable and cosy. We had a deluxe room overlooking the picturesque street - a large, traditional room - very spacious, beautiful bathroom with underfloor heating. Excellent breakfasts. We booked on the hotel's own website and booked dinner at what we thought was the hotel restaurant for our first night. This dinner turned out to be at the pod roza hotel restaurant - their sister hotel. This was excellent but we would have rather eaten in the Copernicus itself. We would not hesitate to return to or recommend to others this very charming hotel

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenScotlandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

How nice to read your very kind review. It is an honour to see so many positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed diner at Pod Roza restaurant. We are hoping that next time you would enjoy the Polish cousin served in our restaurant. We would be honoured to host you at the hotel Copernicus again.

With very best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#50 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#31 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#22 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain a health and wellness spa, which is open non-stop. Massages are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing