We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever you do, don't miss dinner at the restaurant!”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #23 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I agree with the reviewer who mentions that the hotel does disappoint (a little, mainly with regard to the spa) in comparison to other R&C properties, but it is still an excellent, not unreasonably priced, well-located option in Krakow. The rooms were dated but large and charming and the meal at the restaurant was fantastic. Staff were helpful and breakfast in the "courtyard" was very pleasant. The massage I had was good, but the room it was in could not really compete with most 5* hotels. I would happily return if I was visiting Krakow again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklebunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Copernicus for your recent stay in Krakow and your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

Our guests often tell us how helpful Trip Advisor is before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
When it comes to our Spa in our hotel we are planning to enlarge the offer of our Spa in the nearest future and I really hope you enjoy it and find it more interesting than.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Copernicus the next time you're in Krakow.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Copernicus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Initially we were not sure what to expect when we arrived. Hotel is quaint and small, but rooms are great and the rooftop terrace is amazing. Bathrooms are very large and spacious. We were not sure about the bathtub and no shower, but it was actually not bad at all! There are some rooms in the hotel with showers, ours didn't have one but it was not bad in anyway shape or form. We were a very large group and the staff did an amazing job from check in until we left. They could not be more accommodating and helpful every day. They helped arranged our tours of Auschwitz, Schindler's Factory and the Salt Mines and it was amazing. They even coordinated box lunches for us on the day we did the Factory and the Concentration Camp. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious and we can not say enough about the service we received from the staff. There was even a Hollywood star in the hotel and from what we could see she and her family were treated with great care by the staff and honestly they treated us the same way. We can not say enough about the staff from the bellman to the front desk to the wait staff to the manager. These are great people that understand the meaning of 5 star service. The hotel is beautiful and it's a fantastic location. It's right next the Pope John Paul's home in Krakow and very easy to walk everywhere. The value was great as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301 on the top floor and it was awesome.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianebornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much!

All the Copernicus Team enjoyed your visit in our hotel. Your little group was extremly enthousiastic and nice. It has been a real pleasure for us to host you.

We hope to welcome you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Warning: I am judging this hotel by reference to the facts that (a) it is a 5-star hotel and (b) it is a Relais & Chateaux property. By reference to those, the hotel disappoints. The hotel's location is very good, but there are no spectacular views from it, as the property is ensconced between other buildings of similar height. The hotel has a small spa that includes a modest indoor pool and a modest gym. They are both in good repair. The decor of the rooms and common areas is a bit sparse and reminiscent of the 1990s. The central courtyard is under-utilized, serving as a spillover area for the small restaurant, which is apparently very good from a culinary point of view, though that aspect we did not confirm, as we ate out every night. To one side of the central court yard, there is a sort of lobby, which is somewhat unwelcoming -- there is nothing there but a few sofas and chairs. The nicest feature of the hotel is some frescoes that pepper the common walls and the lift, but I'm afraid this comes off as a somewhat feeble attempt to create "character". The hotel charges 5-star prices and the for a Relais Chateaux property, you'd expect truly a lot more genuine character and style. Service was fine, but nothing to write home about: We made reservation to eat at the hotel restaurant, which is supposed to be one of its strongest features, but reception failed to pass the message on and we were not able to eat there. Reception, after acknowledging their mistake, should have offered an alternative, but they simply reverted to pointing out other restaurants in the neighborhood. Admittedly not a horrible way to deal with the issue, but falling somewhat short of expectations for a property vaunting a 5-star rating and membership in R&C.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rufino1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I am really sorry to read that your stay with us was so disappointing. It appears that we definitely failed when it comes to your restaurant reservation. I reviewed your comments with the Copernicus Team to avoid such unpleasant situation in the future. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience and we hope that you give us another try.

Hoping to welcome you at the Copernicus Hotel again I am sending you my best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Copernicus for a week whilst in krakow on business. My single room was splendid - high, wooden-beamed ceilings and a luxury bathroom, with a room overlooking the cobbled streets below. The staff were friendly and efficient - when I asked for an ironing board/iron it was with me within 2 minutes. There is also a pool / health area in the basement, which really surprised me - it has been tastefully done, retaining much of the original stonework and architecture of the building.

What made this a 5-star hotel for me was its character. There was an old-school charm to it and an atmosphere of class and sophistication, without over-formality. A personal farewell from the hotel manager was also a nice touch. I was bewitched by Krakow during my stay and will be visiting again soon - in this hotel, if it is available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are glad that you appreciated the atmosphere of our small hotel. The Copernicus Team would be honored to host you in the nearest future again both on business or leisure occasion.
We will of course do our best to respond positively on your future booking request:)

Warm regards from Krakow.
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Special hotel, relatively few rooms in a great location with superb staff. We drove in from Slovakia and discovered that you can't just drive up to the hotel entrance (turns out that you can if you're a hotel guest), which provides a hint to the great location. You're in the shadow of Wawel Castle and have an unbelievable view of the castle, especially at night, from the roof top patio. The hotel staff quickly took charge of our car and luggage and got us settled in. Throughout our stay, the front desk, door, and concierge staff were incredibly helpful. My wife gave all she could find a hug before we left. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. With so few rooms and floors, it was almost like staying in a lodge or small mansion instead of a hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front of the hotel with a castle view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMGIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank You, Thank You, Thank you:)

I must say that I am really impressed with the personal character of your visit in our hotel. It has been a real pleasure for us to host you.

I hope you already plan another trip to Poland and you choose the Copernicus Hotel for your next visit in Krakow.

We all can not wait to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed in July to celebrate our wedding anniversary & also because we've wanted to do the Auschwitz tour for a long time. The hotel's in a great spot to go the Wawel or square and has lots of character unlike the corporates in Krakow such as Radisson etc. Presidents Obama & Bush have stayed here (wish we'd had the presidential suite!)
Our room faced the inner courtyard and therefore we had no fresh air when we opened the window, just air-conditioning. We've stayed at another Relais & Chateaux, Le Manoir & were hoping for the same level of luxury but Copernicus doesnt have any tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board in the rooms, or shower - just a bath with a shower attachment which was a bit of a pain. Wish there'd been a power shower like the one in the cellar which was fabulous. We did ask if any other rooms were available but the hotel was apparently full.
We loved how a pool, gym & sauna had been incorporated into the cellar. The staff were very pleasant especially the very cheerful & attentive waitress we had at breakfast on 10/7.
The roof garden was a nice spot to chill out after a long day sight-seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a proper shower?
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acornfencing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying at the Relais & Châteaux Copernicus Hotel and your kind appretiation of our Team. Anna the Waitress is sending you her best personal regards.
I am glad that you are choosing the Relais & Châteaux hotels. Every hotel is different and has its own charm. I hope you will choose another R&CH Hotel on your next trip.

I am hoping to welcome you at the Copernicus Hotel in the nearest future again.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was a delightful little hotel. Location was great, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good. On the negative side, they forgot about our requests from reception twice (ie please bring up some ice etc) and the first room we were in only had a hand held shower so you had to bathe sitting down. But they were accommodating when we requested to switch rooms. Accordingly I would recommend room 306 instead of 209. Would be happy to return here next time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nckbrdfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Copernicus Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing the Copenicus Hotel for your stay in Krakow.
I am glad that you enjoed it and you consider another stay with us.

I would also like to thank you for your remarks and sorry if we missed the two of your kind requests. Hoping to welcome you again in the nearest future I am sending you our best personal regards,

Joanna Wilgierz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#55 of 261 in Krakow
715 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,045 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#73 of 261 in Krakow
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#86 of 261 in Krakow
628 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,091 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#13 of 261 in Krakow
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £123 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing