We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old City Charm”
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #29 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old City Charm”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is situated on the most beautiful street in Krakow, right at the bottom of Wawel Castle. The rooms and bathrooms were beautiful and comfortable. The one thing that was odd was that we only had a bath with handheld shower, but I didn't mind that. The staff all were friendly and very helpful. Although the hotel is within walking distance to cafes, shops, and restaurants in the Stare Miasto, we did also utilize their valet parking for our car as we traveled across the area. I would absolutely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fun2TravelNJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for such a great review of Hotel Copernicus. We are delighted to know that your stay at Copernicus was a perfect experience and our Staff could make you feel as the most welcome Guests.
It will be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Copernicus!

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    113
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
72
252
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My favorite hotel in my favorite city in Poland. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are world-class. Hotel is gorgeous, with live classical music concerts on the roof deck. The indoor, basement pool is fabulous, as is the dining. The spacious lobby is old-school European, complete with a library. The staff is superb; I lost a pen here that I'm attached to and they found and sent it to me. Old Krakow is wonderful and I'll stay here again without considering alternatives.

Room Tip: We had three rooms. There were all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerrDrProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Copernicus Guest,

Thank you for the very positive feedback regarding your stay in our historical property.

Your compliments regarding the friendly service have been forwarded to the Staff.
We shall be happy to see you as our Guest again.

Best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hotel Copernicus could not have been better in terms of the service, the rooms, the spa, the location, and the overall experience! It's located on the oldest street in Prague, right next to Wawel Castle. From there it's easy to walk almost anywhere in the main city. There are cafes, bookstores, and so forth right across the street, and the main shopping drag is one street over. The staff were incredibly helpful (e.g., arranging for a car to pick us up at the airport when we arrived so late that buses were no longer running) and every single aspect was done perfectly, politely, and exactly on time. The spa is a tiny dream - we made use of the sauna and the pool every day, and our room had a Jacuzzi tub to boot. The buffet breakfast is not included in the room price but is well worth the extra cost as it includes made-to-order hot dishes as well as the usual selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, and so on. Our experience was so perfect that it's difficult to think of anything that could have been considered a drawback. One thing that might be distracting for some is that the rooms all either open onto or have windows onto the main inner courtyard area, somewhat similar to how Embassy Suites are organized in the US. However, the hotel is small enough that if you are on the first floor, all of the noise from the ground floor can be heard in your room. We did not find this distracting (some nights included musicians playing in the courtyard, which was lovely), but it is likely that any room would receive some ambient noise. Our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer so that we could have used the common room with the fireplace or made more use of the rooftop deck or the bar. We also did not have the chance to have dinner in the restaurant, but the one room-service meal we did order was excellent and delivered very swiftly. We can't wait to go back here!

Room Tip: Room 108 was extremely comfortable (a two-room suite, really) and had a great deal of closet space a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kswygert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Close to Wawel, great location in old Krakow. Rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, furnished tastefully, bed was very comfortably and room very quiet even though it looked out onto cobble-stone street. Restaurant was great. Staff polite, very helpful and friendly. We stayed 8 nights and loved it. Krakow is one of the world's most beautiful cities and well worth a visit with everything within walking distance of The Copernicus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mymate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Copernicus. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Relais & Châteaux Association, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Looking for your next visit in our hotel I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a charming hotel ideally situated to enjoy this beautiful city. The rooms are furnished with old style furniture & the bed whilst looking uncomfortable , is really comfortable. My room did not have a view but was very quiet & there is so much to see & do in Krakow, that there is really little time spent in the room. The small swimming pool with a swim current feature is a great addition to this top class hotel. The roof top terrace is a great spot to sit & have a drink while looking over the rooftops.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The location of the Hotel Copernicus was ideally located, right off the main square, within walking distance of most restaurants and evening activities. The deluxe rooms were spacious, with beamed ceilings and Renaissance style furnishings. Our bathroom was literally built into our bedroom, and had a small but efficient shower. Our children lacked a regular shower in their room, and used a handheld shower in the bathtub to wash their hair. The buffet breakfast was nice, but nothing special. Service at times was very slow.

Room Tip: When we booked we were told that both rooms would face the street and would have regular showers. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DameDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in this excellent hotel, which is perfectly situated in the old town, central for all that is so good in Krakow. Our room had a lovely view of the street and Wawel castle and was very spacious with air conditioning which was so welcome in the August heatwave. Robes, hairdryer and nice products in the bathroom. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet with a cooked option too. Excellent service from all staff who were efficient and happy to attend to your every need. The swimming pool in the basement provided a wonderful escape from the heat, and we were able to use the facilities on our last day after check out which was really appreciated. Loved Krakow and Hotel Copernicus would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoozieColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Copernicus Friends,

Thank you very much for the nice review and enjoying our staff, the atmosphere and the location of the hotel. We would be honoured to host you at the Copernicus in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#50 of 260 in Krakow
704 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 260 in Krakow
2,009 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 260 in Krakow
480 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#90 of 260 in Krakow
623 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing