We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Brilliant value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town
Ranked #83 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel. Brilliant value”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated for all attractions. The staff cannot be more helpful, particularly Dorota one of the receptionists. The buffet breakfast is more than adequate with fresh everything every morning. Our room was enormous and on the front of the hotel where there is some tram noise but to be honest you are so tired from all that sightseeing that sleep is instant! Will definitely go back to this hotel later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for your wonderful opinion. I am really proud of our staff. The hotel is situated nearby the main road with trams, but this is the price of the location in the city center. Hope you will come back to us next time.

Best Regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    382
    143
    44
    13
See reviews for
100
343
29
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Lancs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from the main square, on the road leading to Wawel Castle. Our room was in what they call "Jazz", which appears to be an extension to the original building and was quite minimalistic. It was very clean and very brightly decorated, with some of the lighting regularly changing colour. Quite different to anything we have previously experienced. It had a large comfortable bed, but surprisingly didn't have either a fridge or a safe. It had a wide screen tv. BBC News was the only English channel,but this wasn't really a problem.
The staff were friendly and there was a wide selection of food for the buffet breakfast. It was very warm in our room, but as we visited in January, it needed to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluemoon-Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your feedback. We have got deposit / safe at the reception desk. We are 3*** hotel, so we do not have the fridges in the rooms. I am really happy, that you were satisfied of our staff quality - it is very important for me. I hope that you will choose our hotel also next time.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Brilliant for people who are more interested in location than luxury. It's a basic hotel - small room, but very clean and fresh towels every day etc. The location is brilliant though - across the road from the Main Square and only a walk away from everything else - the castle, Jewish quarter and the shopping centre. The tram stops right outside the door so it's very handy. Only downside is that the room/building shakes every time the tram goes past (which is about every 10-15 minutes!) so you'll have to learn to block that out. Didn't bother us but might bother some people/light sleepers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for your opinion. Yes, it is true that we are nearby the main street with trams, but this is the price for the localization in the city center. Hope you will come back to us next time.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is one of the best hotel I had ever stayed in Europe. I stayed there for 5 nights over the Christmas holidays. The room was cleaned everyday and the towels were changed... The room had a very comfy bed and a good size TV. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and since I was checking out pretty early on the last day, they let me had an early breakfast... which was a nice gesture.
The hotel itself is pretty close to the main square and the Wavel Castle. So I didnt need to take the local transportation at all for roaming around the city's attractions... as everything was in walkable distance... but there is one Tram stop right in front of the hotel. And since it was December, when I felt bit cold walking outside... I just come back to the hotel to warm up... and then continue on to the next one.
There is also a super-market right next to the hotel entrance.. in case you want to buy fruits etc.

The only minor remark that I could say about is the sound of the Tram ...especially during night time.... since the hotel is just on the main road, you could feel the quiver in your room when a tram passes by. BUT that is absolutely something we cannot blame the hotel at all. And I got used to it after the first day....

Fully satisfied customer :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gopalakrishnan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your opinion. I am really proud of my staff and it was a great pleasure to read your opinion. Hope, you will choose our hotel during your next stay in Cracow.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I found the hotel to be very nice inside, modern and well maintained, the check in staff were very friendly with a good understanding of English. We were in the new section of the hotel named Jazz, these rooms were very well decorated, very clean and a nice size and nice powerful shower etc etc.

Breakfast buffet is included in the price of the stay and was ample, very good selection of cold cuts, cheese, breads etc, nice breakfast area, comfortable and homely. Over all on these points I could not fault the hotel, the bad bits are just little things that if they were sorted the hotel would have been given a 5 star rating by myself.

These bits were that on arrival at our room, the room was very cold (i.e. Krakow in January) the porter came to the room and turned on the small radiator under the window, I asked about air conditioning and he went and came back with the control, unfortunately the air con did not work, so radiator had to be on full blast all the time and had to open the window a bit when the room was to hot.

Next point is the bed, yes very comfortable, only point is that they were two single beds pushed together, which didn't really go down well when you are a couple, been better if there was a proper queen or king sized bed in the room.

Apart from these two issues the hotel was a good place to stay, close to the main square, within walking distance of the main sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember08192015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your feedback. I hope you was satisfied and you will come back to us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over the New Year, the hotel is in a great location, central for everything.
Our room was clean, decent sized, the bedding and towels a little jaded, but servicable, and another couple with us had to request a room change as the one allocated to them was midget size !! we also had to request a kettle for our room, which was not very well received, Our room was at the front which was noisy with the traffic and the trams, but after a few local vodkas it didnt stop us sleeping !!
We would definatly stay here again, it is real value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, and check the size of room you book, a lot of the standard double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Owner at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoy your stay and I hope that you will visit our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Clean modern hotel - great location, just a short stroll through pretty back streets to main square & walking distance from Jewish Quarters, castle etc but there is a tram stop right outside the front door if needed.
A small ish room but a very comfy bed.
Friendly helpful reception team, the bar staff not quite so much.
Good breakfast choices - if you go out early they will prepare a breakfast box for you. They will also prepare a packed lunch - recommended if visiting Auschwitz, a full on day with little or no time to stop.
If you are visiting for New Year be warned the whole city seems to shut down by 3pm on NYE in preparation - we couldn't even get a drink in the hotel!
All in all - a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you very for your opinion. It is very important for us.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Krakow Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#113 of 259 in Krakow
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Krakow City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wielopole Hotel
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 259 in Krakow
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legend Hotel
Legend Hotel
#35 of 259 in Krakow
123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Efekt Express Krakow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town

Property: Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 6, Krakow 31-046, Poland (Formerly RT Monopol Hotel)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Krakow
#54 Business Hotel in Krakow
#71 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krakow Old Town Hotel Krakow
Rt Monopol Krakow
Hotel Rt Monopol
Monopol Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing