We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location - YES, Service - NO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Krakow Old Town
Ranked #83 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Location - YES, Service - NO”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Location is great for visiting Cracow's Old Town.
You just need to cross the Planty park ring and you are in the middle of action.
This is definitely the biggest asset of this hotel.
The rest lies in the hands of the staff, which is no so good.

I have arrived late, around midnight.
They had troubles finding my reservation for over 20 minutes (very tiring).
Then the first assigned room was simply not prepared - leftovers from the previous guest(s), dirty dishes on the table, bed linen on the floor. Disaster.
Only the second room (no.101) was OK. Well, they said it's on the premium floor, hence the larger size and two narrow beds.

Beds were comfortable. Only the linen a little worn out and "scratchy" in feeling.
Bathroom clean, yet rather small comparing to the size of the room.
Wi-Fi at the edge. Barely working when trying to use Skype.

Breakfast itself was good. Broad and tasty food selection. Real(!) espresso/coffee machine.
Still, the restaurant staff tried to hide and preted they are not there.
No one to assist you. No one to clean the table...
(maybe it's a strategy to cater the neighbourhood for free?)
No tablecloths, just some dirty and worn out thick napkins.
Not a pleasure to start your day. Pity!

Checkout was fast and the guys have even offered to call the taxi for me.
Still, I'm not sure if I'm coming back.
Maybe if you want a lower budget hotel next to the Old Town?

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the courtyard since the noise from the Gertrudy street might be very distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your opinion.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    377
    141
    43
    12
See reviews for
98
341
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Chose the Best Wetern because of the location...and it didnt dissapoint, only a few minutes walk to the town centre. Staff were bery friendly and we were given an upgrade because of a mix up in rooms. The cost was very good also...Breakfast was continental but good produce.Rooms are a bit old fashioned , but clean and would recommend as a cheap hotel for anybody visiting the beautiful city of Krakow .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesscot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your opinion. It was really nice to read it. I hope that you will choose our hotel in the future also.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The room we had was a bit small (my husband is disabled and we had to move the bed from the wall to let him get in! However, next day they changed our room from 305 to 101. Huge!! 2 single beds, sufficient wardrobe space, really hot water, lovely towels.
We had booked a tour of Auschwitz/Birkenau and had to leave early, but the staff moved our cases into the new room for us, even things that I had forgotten to take from the shower!!
Almost everyone spoke English, and the service was premier!!
Only downside was a group of extremely disrupting teenagers who seemed to take over all the floors. There were many complaints about them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, as the front ones can be a bit noisy with the trams cnstantly passing by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafasuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for your feedback. Yes, it is true, that the group of teenagers are disturbing, but we do our best to keep them silence and do not disturb other Guests.
I hope that you will come back to us during your next trip to Cracow.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Hotel staff - excellent
I arrived having hurt my ankle so was on a crutch and they immediately re-arranged our rooms so I could have a lower level room which was an upgraded room.
They did this without being asked and the upgrade was free.
The room we had was at the front of the hotel so quite noisy from the Trams that run until 2 in the morning then start again at 4am!
The room was large, tea & coffee, TV, Telehphone. Bathroom was excellent, good size shower.
It probably needs a make over as the decor is a little on the dull side, but it was always clean and beds made every day.

Room Tip: Room 102 is at the front so can be noisy from Trams - if your used to noise it shouldn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for your opinion. It is a very important for us. Yes, we are in the city center, nearby the main road with trams, but it is the price for the location - you have got a few minutes by walk to every tourist attraction in our city.
I hope, that you choose our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay, went to this hotel as I had used it last year and found it good. Location good as short walk to main square etc

Only problem - cancelled a night's stay with you and got refund but when we arrived at hotel found that no one had told them!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your feedback. We do our best to satisfy each Guest and make his or her stay enjoyable. I hope that you recommend our hotel and will be back in the future.

Kind regards,
Magadlena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at the Best Western hotel in the old town Krakow for 3 night. It was just a standard double room. The room was on the top floor and with me scared of lifts it was some walk to the top haha but it didn't put me of. Room was very clean the only problem I had was with the room was it was 2 single bed put 2 gether and I kept slipping between them haha. If you like to get a nice hot shower in the morning before breakfast I would advice you get up really early as we got up at 8 and there was no hot water left we had to wait till about 12. The breakfast was nice but a hot cooked breakfast would have been even nicer since it was really cold outside and that would have set me up for the day haha. I read some of the reviews saying about the trams and the hotel shaking with well I was at the back of the hotel and it was fine it didn't bother me at all I had a really good stay and I would defiantly go back again and staff are really nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Debbie,

thank you for your opinion. It is very nice for me and our staff. We have got a problem with hot water for 3 hours a few days ago, but we immediately called for a service and now, everything is ok. It was an accident, not a standard in our hotel.
Hope, you will choose our hotel also in the future.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This review could depend on whether you evaluate an old part of the hotel or the new part. Both parts are vastly different. New Part is modern and away from the street noise and squeaking wheels of the old trams, old part is just an old part - a bit rundown and exposed to the street noise. So if you are an alert sleeper - do not go to the old part. You will simply not sleep !!! Go to the new part instead, but do not be surprise of an avant-garde decor. Breakfasts are nice in a form of a buffet, typical Polish cuisine. The location is fine - with a short distance to the Old Town and Wawel Castle. You could also easily walk from there to Kazimierz - the Jewish quarter of the pre-war Cracow.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room at the New Part of the hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanuszRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at Best Western Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your opinion. Each of them is very important for us. The new part is more quiet, but also a half of the standard part is overlooking the backsite. we are trying to ask each of our Guest which side is preffering, but sometimes it is impossible, because of occupancy of the rooms. Hope you will choose our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#110 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#24 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#70 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Krakow Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Krakow Old Town

Property: Best Western Krakow Old Town
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 6, Krakow 31-046, Poland (Formerly RT Monopol Hotel)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Krakow
#54 Business Hotel in Krakow
#71 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Krakow Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Krakow Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krakow Old Town Hotel Krakow
Rt Monopol Krakow
Hotel Rt Monopol
Monopol Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing