We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town
Ranked #81 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here with some friends for the weekend. It has a superb location & only a very short walk into the centre of town.
Breakfast was great & plentiful.
Only bad points are no air con as it was rather warm when we stayed, but they did provide a fan & some rooms are a bit on the small side. Other than this great place to stay & I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter as there is a tram line at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for your feedback. It is important for us.
I hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    371
    137
    43
    11
See reviews for
98
337
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to email ahead and upgrade our room to one in the Jazz section of the hotel. My partner is a light sleeper and these rooms are on the back of the hotel, so they are away from the trams which run past the hotel into the night and early morning. They were not a problem for us but some people who sleep lightly may find them a problem. We were greeted at the desk on arrival by very friendly staff and shown to our room which was amazing. Brand new section of the hotel has posters of Jazz Festivals and the rooms are very brightly decorated. We had a Superior room and it had air condiitoning and colour changing lights. We loved it. The room was bright and spacious.
Breakfast was continental style, self service but also served scrambled eggs and sausages every day. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. We emailed ahead for information on getting to the hotel from the airport and Malgorzata from the Reception team emailed us back with full details on which bus to take, bus times and distance to walk to hotel from the bus station. A lovely lady and very helpful.
Just a 5 minute walk down the road is the Main Square where there are lots of bars and restaurants. Lots to see and do here, great food, and the nightlife is excellent. At the other end of the road only a five to ten minute walk is Wawel Castle and cathedral which is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "Jazz Section are the best, away from the trams, and have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your feedback. It is very important for me to know that we are doing our best to satisfy our Guests.
I hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

just returned home from a short break in krakow. we stayed at the best western for four nights. on arriving, we were upgraded to a jazz room. these rooms are at the rear of the main building. aircon as standard in the jazz rooms which was fine because the weather was very hot and sunny while we were there. the reception staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful. book any trips with the reception staff and you are picked up from and dropped off at hotel. the towels in the rooms are changed every day and rooms cleaned every day. the breakfast in the hotel is excellent and plenty of choice. we didnt have supper in the hotel, but it is very good from all reports. the hotel is centrally situated and only five minutes stroll from the main squares and shopping streets. there is also a large shopping centre a few minutes further away. the castle is a short stroll in the other direction. there is no aircon in the main building bedrooms and it is very hot here in the summer. the only small problem is the trams that pass the hotel every fifteen minutes or so. they are a wee bit noisy but dont let this spoil your stay. when we decide to go back to krakow, we will stay at this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: the jazz section at the rear of hotel are newer rooms but this is no reflection on the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you so much for your really nice opinion.
I hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a well placed hotel close to the old town with it s beautiful churches museums and Square. The breakfast was good. We expected cold buffet but were pleasantly surprised by fresh cooked omelettes, scrambled eggs and sausage as well as cereal and excellent cold buffet. The coffee machine did a stonking cup of coffee. just what I need first thing in the morning.
We were fortunate to arrive when the international festival of street theatre was on and spent a lot of our time in the magnificent market square watching and drinking at the many bars.
We also went on a combined trip to Auswitch and the salt mines
Back to the hotel. We stayed in the Jazz section which is modern with light features in the bedroom , flat screen TV, Air con which we didn't need in spite of it being a scorching weekend and jazz featured wall decoration. We spent 3 nights here and returned to UK fully refreshed.
One word of warning. Krakow has a tram system and in common with other hotels you may hear them through the night and early morning if you are a light sleeper. We heard them but they didn't spoil our experience.and we were so tired from walking along the river, around the castle and to the Jewish quarter (market on Sunday) we went to bed and slept soundly.
The staff were very helpful spoke excellent English and had good taxi contacts for our morning flight home.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quieter. Jazz rooms are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bell-ringer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you so much for your nice opinion. It was a pleasure for me to read it. It means that we are doing well our job.
I hope you will come back to us soon.

Kind regards,

Magdalena godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We initially booked this hotel with loyalty points and had no idea that the room that was booked had no air conditioning! Other rooms booked with points were always the "superior rooms" with all of the basic amenities, so we were very surprised to learn that when looking for check-in times that our room would not air-conditioned in August!

When we contacted the hotel, we were very rudely informed by some staff member that there were no rooms available with air conditioning and we would be dealing with what we were given. We even offered to pay an "upgrade fee", but were then told that there was nothing that could be done for us. So we tried to cancel and ended up booking another hotel that saw air conditioning as a standard amenity. When booking a hotel room in this day & age, you get heat in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Poland still gets very warm in August (It was at least 33 without the humidex today!)

When we tried to cancelled, the (same rude) individual told us that they could do nothing for us and to contact our loyalty points program. When we did - we were told that it was the hotel's problem. Needless to say, this was a very frustrating experience and the manager only just stepped in to help, I think, after she realized that we were serious about cancelling when we did not show up last night. Hopefully she will be able to do something.

We cannot comment on what the hotel is like, as we did not stay there, only dealt with some pretty rude individuals. If you are going to book here - definitely make sure to book in the JAZZ Wing, as that is the only part of the hotel that has air conditioning.

Room Tip: Book the JAZZ wing so that you can get the "basic" amenity known as air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea_Wallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you very much for your feedback. Each of them is very important for us. However, we received your reservation for standard room without air conditioning. Our hotel has got 2 parts: classic with standard rooms without airconditioning and new part Jazz with premium and superior rooms (18) with air conditioning. We are not hiding this information, you can see it everywhere where our hotel exists. We were not able to confirmed you with or without additional fee the room with air conditioning, because all of tchem have been already reserved. There are many hotels in Cracow, Poland and Europe which are situated in historical buildings (as we are) and have no air conditioning, this is not the standard, when the summer lasts 2-3 months (on those dates: 10, 11.08.14 - the average temperaturę for Cracow during the night was 17 degrees, so I do not think that the air conditioning was so necessary). I have contacted on Friday, before your arrival with BEST WESTERN to solve the problem about come back miles and not charging for your reservation; as I wrote you on Monday - we are not able, BEST WESTERN too - to cancel and give your miles back, because you should to do it directly via agent where you made the reservation. Me and my staff woulld like to help you from the beginning, so I am surprised because of yours opinion.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that can have another Chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is very well located for visiting the amazing historic centre of Krakow. Rooms are average, but ok for the price you pay. Make sure that you get a room at the more quiet backside, since trams rattle day and night in font of the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay at the backside preferably in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your feedback. It is very important for us. It is true, that we are situated in the city center next to the main road with trams. The windows are overlooking the noisy street and the second part the courtyard / parking space (this are more quiet), also the modern jazz part is facing the parking space so it is more quiet.

I hope you will come back to us.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilpshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Although the hotel is well presented don't expect the same welcome, smiley faces as in the UK. Breakfast is a complete farce, and most of the staff do there best to avoid you. Krakow as a city will probably compensate for the failings of the hotel. Beautiful city with plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTMonopol, Manager at BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your feedback. I do not understand what do you mean that our breakfast was a farce, would you be so kind and please explain and help me to change it? We do our best to satisfy our Guests, but sometimes we do not meet with their expectations. However, I always would like to know and ask what was the problem to have chance to solve it and be better.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Godzic
Hotel Manager
BEST WESTERN Kraków Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya
#106 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#23 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#67 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town

Property: BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 6, Krakow 31-046, Poland (Formerly RT Monopol Hotel)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Krakow
#54 Business Hotel in Krakow
#71 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krakow Old Town Hotel Krakow
Rt Monopol Krakow
Hotel Rt Monopol
Monopol Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing