We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world Poland”
Review of Pollera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pollera
Ranked #121 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Old world Poland”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Hotel Pollera has been in the same ownership since the late 19 century with 40 plus years of state ownership in between . It shows a bit ! However it has a lot going for it especially its location : handy for the old town centre and the train station . It is clean and acceptable if a little faded . The bathrooms may be small but (most) of the bedrooms are spacious . The staff are friendly and the prices are not high . Who wants luxury when you can have character !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    155
    64
    21
    5
See reviews for
45
105
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Everything was fine about this hotel until it came to checkout. We were sadly left with a bad taste in our mouths when we were told that due to a fault with the card machine we'd have to pay cash. The staff kept giggling at first leaving us unsure as to whether they were joking or not. Since we were leaving Poland that day why would we still have £360 of local currency on us? They demanded that we go to the ATM to withdraw money. We offered instead to pay via bank transfer but were refused. We declined to go to the cash machine - why should we be penalised with the extra fees because their system had failed and they didn't have an alternative in place? We eventually reached a compromise of leaving the card details to be processed once the system was back online - but this came about the hard way as the hotel staff approached it with the totally wrong attitude. What a shame, the attitude of the staff spoiled it for us, I won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. In a good spot. I had no problems w noise from outside, but I had a room at the back. The problem I did have with noise, however, was when the staff started in the mornings - I could hear them all talking loudly and laughing from about 6.30am!!! Not very considerate of their guests.

In general, I did find the staff a bit disinterested and unhelpful. I think a bit more friendliness would go a long way.

The room was quite good. Like some other reviewers, I found that the water did take a whole to warm up, but once it did, it was fine.

The bed was a little hard, but at least had an underlay to make it a little more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very central location. Good value for money and the closest I have stayed to the city centre on a short break. Helpful staff. Wi Fi which was useful to plan schedule. I saw other reviews complaining about breakfast but this a central Europe continental breakfast which I found substantial filling and good quality. The look is art deco. If you want a modern hotel do not stay here. However if you want a comfortable , traditional hotel for a city break which is close to the town centre this seems to be good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wexter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

pollera is an old hotel but kinda cool. it is only a couple blocks from the market square which is fantastic! you KNOW you are in Europe when you stay here! a teeny bathroom is shoehorned into the room which is appreciated, the floors are very squeaky and the beds are hard. no AC so we had the windows open all night and the partiers never really seem to go away till dawn. not somewhere that I'd like to stay long term but it was just fine for 4 days!

Room Tip: try to get a room on the backside of the hotel to avoid noise or bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendykaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Pollera is in an excellent location, easy walking distance from the train station , the central square and all the local sights.
The hotel has a slighlty nostalgic run down feel to it but was clean and our room was cool and air conditioned.
Breakfast was fairly standard cold cuts, pickles, bread etc. warm cereal milk however.
Good value for money and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

...the breakfasts could be a little more varied. No polish meats offered! Coffee was not drinkable and the pre-packed sliced ham on offer was, on one occasion, well past it's best and rather smelly! Service at breakfast could also be improved. I had to seek out a waitress myself at one stage after having waited an age to order scrambled eggs.
Rooms good, but those located on the street side are very noisy in the evenings with revellers returning from the main market square.
Final point to note - maids prepared our rooms for the next visitors BEFORE we had checked out! Not impressed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the central courtyard of the hotel - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Floryan
Hotel Floryan
#132 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#90 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#71 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#81 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Mikolaj Hotel
#116 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#82 of 258 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollera

Property: Pollera
Address: ul. Szpitalna 30 | Old Town, Krakow 31-024, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pollera 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pollera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollera Krakow
Pollera Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing