We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #8 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed in a double room at the front of the hotel so we had a great view of the square. The Wentzl is in a great spot to access all the tourist sites and to view all the activities in the square. The double glazing on the windows very effectively cut out any noise. Tho it was good to be able to open the window at times and listen to the music being played. Breakfast was excellent. Our room was very comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The Wentzl is walking distance from the station so ideal if you are coming from Warsaw. A lovely hotel with a great atmosphere that we would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sqaure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    171
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
132
609
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Yes its not cheap by Polish standards, but if you want a hotel bang in the middle of everything, surrounded by wonderful restaurants and shops and with a stylish funky and comfortable interior, this is for you!! Each room is differently and fashionably decorated and very comfortable, free wi fi, plasma tv and DVD player and a free library of DVDs to use, GREAT place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJen1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in room 24,which boasted a superb view of the main square.The hotel arranged our superbly organised trips to Auschwitz-Birkenau and the Salt Mine and proved to be an excellent base.
We enjoyed our buffet breakfasts each morning in the most wonderful setting in the hotel, but for our main meals ate in the Wesele and La Marmalouda,both of which were nearby and served traditional dishes.
The staff were very friendly and polite and always greeted us as we passed by reception.
We were so pleased that we chose this hotel as it met with all our requirements for our short break.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square are definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I met my hubby in Krakow for the weekend. He was on business in Poland so we thought it was a great opportunity to visit this beautiful city together. Hotel Wentzl is so amazingly located that everything we wanted to do, see, and eat were practically right outside our door.

The hotel was fully booked so we stayed in Room 26 the first night and then Room 35 for the last two nights. Room 26 has no view BUT it has a beautiful balcony. I could totally imagine sitting out there with a bottle of wine and just chilling out on warmer nights. The room was quite sizable and beautifully decorated. We were then moved to Room 35 which had a view of the Market Square. I thought it was going to be noisy, but somehow we heard nothing disturbing through the windows. This room was smaller and darker and had an odor that housekeeping immediately gave attention to. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. They always had smiles whenever we walked through the door. The buffet breakfast was lovely.

The hotel itself is GORGEOUS. You can feel the history the second you see the staircase. Just beautiful. Our first night we ate at the hotel's restaurant and the food and service was outstanding. I am going to review it in the restaurant section so if you are interested in my opinion of it, look there. You cannot charge your bill to your room because the restaurant is a separate entity from the hotel (so we were told). But, if you are staying in the hotel...they give you an 11% discount off your bill.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verucasalt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

One of the highlights of our 6 week European vacation.

The staff were amazing, very friendly, polite, respectful and so helpful.

We booked a tour of Wieliczka, and transport to Zakopane through the hotel. All other questions and requests of ours were handled perfectly.

Eg: Ice for a sprained ankle was provided quickly and with a smile :-)

The hotel is in such a beautiful position, and our room (21), was just perfect, from the view, to the lovely bathroom, the bed, and coffee machine, we loved it all !!

The respectful and polite staff is something we still talk about. Whenever we entered or exited the hotel the front desk staff would stand and then greet or acknowledge us with a smile - it made us feel very special :-)

The hotel position is so central and one of our favourite pastimes during our 5 night stay was finding a restaurant in the main square (rynek) to have lunch, dinner, or just a drink or snack. It was a simple case of walking out the front door and then finding something that appealed.

We can't recommend the Hotel Wentzl too much, in our opinion the best hotel in Krakow.

MUST STAY HERE !!

We will be going back :-)

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Wonderful position right in the centre of the Old Town, in walking distance of most of the main attractions, with rooms looking out on to a sensational square. Everything immaculate in the rooms and eating places. But above all the attention of the staff was fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and if they don't know something they will find it out. When I felt cheated by one of the local tour companies they went to extraordinary lengths to rectify things. I hope to return to the city and will certainly stay here. Can't praise them enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room looking on to the square - maybe they all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is the perfect location--right on the Main Market Square. My room fronted on the square and was totally quiet in spite of the crowds in front.
The desk staff was about the best I have ever encountered. The dining room was booked for a private party, it was 8 PM when I arrived and had no sense of the city. The desk clerk made a reservation for me at a nearby (though out of the square restaurant) and then WALKED me to the restaurant! I simply cannot say enough about the personal service. No request was too difficult. Highest, just absolutely the highest rating: 5 stars is not enough to tell the story.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room overlooking the Market Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing