We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Ideal for a 3 night Easter Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #8 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Excellent and Ideal for a 3 night Easter Break”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a wonderful choice of hotel for a 3 night stay over Easter 2013. Before we arrived I had e mailed the hotel with a number of queries regarding rooms, tours, transfer etc. Staff responded immediately and were so helpful and pleasant that even before we arrived we had high hopes for a wonderful stay. The hotel, staff and our stay were excellent and exceeded our expectations. Each time we walked through reception the staff stood to greet us.

We arrived at approx 8.30pm - we had pre booked a taxi transfer with Primetours € 17/69 pln. You could pay in zlotty or euro or sterling. Driver was waiting for us and in less than half an hour we were at the Hotel Wentzl. Check in was efficient and quick - we had booked room 41, which was located on the 4th floor, and is exactly as the pictures on the web site. The hotel has only 18 rooms so there was never a wait for the lift - in fact we never actually met someone on the lift.

The room was spacious with all mod cons- large flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, nespresso machine with plenty capusules provided, mini bar. Plenty hanging space in wardrobe but no drawers - did not bother us. The safe was in the wardrobe. The room also had a desk and chair and a little seating area with a table and two chairs. There as a lovely little balcony overlooking the square. No noise could be hear unless the balcony door was open - when open you could then hear the church bells and the bugler on the hour. The only issue with the room was bad lighting - for reading we moved the lamp from the desk.

The bathroom was modern and spotless. It had a bath with a fabulous rainfall shower over bath. Shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, shower hats provided. For some reason the bathroom was always very warm - like a sauna. Hair dryer also in bathroom.

The breakfast was included in our room rate and was served on the first floor. Hot items could be ordered from the menu such as omelettes, scrambled eggs, frankfurters, bacon and eggs. There was a large variety of juices, cereals, breads, cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cakes, croissants, tea and coffee. We really enjoyed it and felt there was something so suit everyone

The hotel has free wifi which was great - wifi seemed to be available in most places - just ask for the code.

The location is perfect and so central - right on the square. There are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. We had dinner in Da Pietro (an Italian - almost next door to the hotel), Wesele (this is just across the square) and Resto Illuminati (just a street away). We had drinks in Szara, Vis a Vis, Europejska (also had a nice lunch here) to name but a few. We had coffee and cakes in the cafe next to the hotel which was lovely.

This may be a little more expensive than other places - but it is definitely worth it. As it is small it seems to book out very fast. I would have no hesitation in receommending this hotel to anyone visiting Krakow which is a lovely place to visit for a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    174
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
134
616
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

An absolute must if you are visiting Krakow, and make sure to book in advance as it is small and in demand! The room was spectacular and quite large with an amazing view of the main square. The staff were wonderful, helpful, accommodating, and knowledgeable. Before we even arrived we had our requested tours and special dinner reservations all arranged by the front desk staff and there were no disappointments. The hotel restaurant is also second to none! If that's not good enough, it is also quite reasonably priced!
There was some sporadic noise from the square below during the weekend but if you keep the window closed and the air conditioning running you should be fine. It is worth it to also be able to hear the bugles and the bells from the cathedral!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in room 32 in this hotel in mid March for four nights. The view from our room was picturesque and was like a winter picture window looking out onto the main square.

The room was lovely and very clean and freshened daily by the very attentive hotel staff. The room was quiet, although looking onto the main square, the windows kept out any street noise.

The hotel staff were very friendly and polite and helped us to organise our trips and airport transfer.

Plenty of lovely restaurants to eat nearby this hotel and all at a fair price, certainly less than you would pay for at home.

I would definitely recommend a trip to Krakow and would recommend this hotel and your base as it is wonderfully located for a city break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view onto the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

What a wonderful hotel this is! We stayed here for 5 nights and would look forward to getting back to our room after a day of walking, so much so that we ended up having early nights rather than go out in the evening! The room was very unique and had so many lovely little details which set it apart from the standard 5 star chain hotel. The shower, now this is something special, I'm not sure if it's the same in every room but it was a huge shower head with a good water pressure. I could have just stood under it all day if I could. Pro tip: set aside extra time in the morning for the shower as it's just insanely good. Oh another thing is the staff are lovely and super polite!

Room Tip: Top floor have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesG_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed in Hotel Wentzl recently; 22nd - 25th March 2013 & couldn't wait to stay here. Arrived at the hotel & staff were friendly & very welcoming, taking our suitcase up to the room for us. We had a room on the 4th floor, looking directly on to the main square; room 43, with a little balcony. Very clean & a gorgeous bathroom / wetroom, disappointed at first with no bath, however the very large shower soon put a smile on my face. The only downfall with our room was it was cold and the radiator took a very long time to heat up, after a day of walking around in -8○C we would have loved to come into a warm room. Also we had two single beds pushed together making a double, with two single duvets. The free WiFi was great also as we took our iPads & could watch English tv. A little tip for anyone staying at the Hotel Wentzl, book Auschwitz with the lady/gent at the desk, it cost me and my boyfriend in total 260 zslotybetween us, about £30 each, you get picked up from the Hotel & taken straight there, then after the tour around Auschwitz 1 (about 2 & a half hours) the driver takes you to Birkenau for the second tour (about an hour), then drops you off afterwards. It was a smooth and a hassle free way to do it :). Overall was happy with the stay, would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayJB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is a jewell. Great rooms, friendly staff, superb location. Wonderful breakfasts in their Baroque styled restaurant. Then only hotel adjacent to the old town square, in this most magnificent of cities. The hotel has consistently received great reviews and we based our stay, on those ratings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square and make sure your rate includes their breakfasts. This aspect can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in what is a exceptional hotel,,,, room 41 was large modern loft room, most recent addition to the hotel,,, outstanding location right on the square and main arteries to other areas just what was required for those cold nights when walking back. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful, booked all our trips and airport transfers for us before we arrived. Hotel is probably expensive for krakow but as most things you get what you pay for and in this case very true, still cheap in comparison to a similar standard hotel in the UK. Well done to hotel WENTZL for a most enjoyable stay and a beautiful hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Coaten72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
1,624 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
885 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
649 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing