We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradition - Friendliness - Eclectic”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #17 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Wentzl


This was the prefect hotel for us in that it seemed representative of what 3 things we discovered in Krakau throughout our stay.

1) Krakavians love tradition, which we testified every hour, either by spotting the trumpet and/or by listening the live trumpet tune from the church tower (simply closing both windows isolates the rooms from any noise emanating from the main square);

2) Krakavians are very friendly. Anything you ask for at the reception is attended to. For technical issues you may want to enquire by what time they will fix it – since in our case, of a bad DVD image, a technician was going to come in to look into it the day after we left (but we hadn’t specified to get it done immediately)

3) Krakavian building and decorative style is very eclectic. Forget anything you know about any particular architectural style – else the combination of shapes and colors can get mindboggling; even in the nicest hotel room, expect to see something different in any direction you are looking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylBjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel Wentzl is right on the main square of Krakow. This small boutique hotel is not a happening place, and is really on the quiet side. It does not have a large lobby with sitting space. Rather, it has an old world feel. You can see the various rooms on-line, and can request one, but you won't be guaranteed your choice. If your room overlooks the square, you'll have a wonderful view, however, you may not have a good night's sleep. One of the evenings we were there, it sounded like a men's rugby team was celebrating under our window. Whether they were in the hotel restaurant or in the cafe outside on the street, I am not sure, but they sang and cheered into the wee hours of the morning, which made sleeping impossible. The rooms do have double paned windows, which keep most of the noise at bay, but in this case nothing could have dulled the noise. I feel I should add that the walls between the rooms are on the thin side; we heard voices clearly from the room next door.
Getting past that, the hotel staff was always friendly and helpful.
Our nice-sized room had a high ceiling, and exposed brick walls and beams. It was clean, and the bathroom provided robes, slippers, plenty of shower products and nice towels. There was a safe, desk, and area to sit other than the bed, a flat-screen TV, and tea and coffee in the room.
The buffet breakfast was served in the hotel's beautiful restaurant. There was a nice selection of cold items, with some cooked options available. Here too, the staff was pleasant and helpful.
The location of Hotel Wentzl is perfect for exploring the city, so if you can reserve a quiet room, you won't regret your choice.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by street noise, then ask for a room towards the rear of the hotel, off the squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2trave09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Wentzl, and were very pleased that we had chosen this lovely hotel. The position on the square is great. Some people said it can be noisy at times, which is true, but if you close both sets of windows, you can adjust the temperature with the aircon. Opening the window and looking out on that magnificent square gave me great pleasure every morning.
The breakfast is freshly cooked and delicious, eaten in the beautiful dining room.
The main feature of the place is the charming and helpful staff. Every one we came across, whatever their role, was helpful, friendly and polite. If you ask at reception they will give you great advice on where to eat.
I highly recommend the Wentzl.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arundeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Our room (41) was incredibly stylish and comfortable, and of course had that fabulous view of the Old Town Square from it's little balcony ...............you really felt that you were in the middle of all the action and yet with the windows closed no noise could be heard!

When a place is as good as this you really want it to be perfect, but there were some annoying things that prevent that perfect score, for example...
*The curtains were not sufficiently heavy to block out the light, the room was bright before 6am and this was in March.
*There were no drawers to tidy away your bits and pieces.
*There was no milk or creamer to go with that brilliant Nepresso machine; also any pods or sachets used were not replaced.
*There was no shampoo in our bathroom the 1st night; however, it did appear when we asked for it.
*The mattress was quite thin.....certainly not as luxurious or comfortable as the standard of the rest of the room would lead you to expect. There was also a nasty cheap looking throw on the bed which didn't match the rest of the decor.
* The corridor and landing on the 4th floor was almost pitch dark at night; you had to practically grope your way towards the lifts! During the day you could see some very fancy light fittings but they didn't seem to be working, or we didn't know how to activate them.

Despite these negative comments, I would still highly recommend this hotel; the pluses of the perfect location, the comfort and style far outweigh any negatives. Also, in correspondence with reception before our stay, they were very helpful in giving us exactly the room we wanted even though we booked with another provider.

Overall, I would like to give a score of 4.5 but unfortunately T A doesn't allow half marks.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel's own website to see photos of each individual room. Rooms ending in 1 or 5 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoppyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawelMusial, Manager at Hotel Wentzl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank You very much for comments.

Regarding some cons You have pointed:
- In our rooms we have pillows 27"x31" and 16"x16"size, but also standard size 20"x26" available on request.
- As restaurant is a separate company unfortunately, we can not accept restaurants bills at hotel reception desk.

Hope to see you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night only while traveling for business.

Pros:
- great location
- very nice rooms, but each of them is different, so choose online first
- great service
- good buffet breakfast

Cons:
- no pillow menu, the only available pillows are huge or smaller than your head
- no option for larger blankets, no matter what's the size of your bed
- you cannot put anything on the room since they have a new restaurant, which can be a little annoying
- it can be loud

Room Tip: The rooms can be a bit loud as it's right by the main square. I was told that rooms on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The location of this hotel is simply superb. We spent four nights there overlooking the square and had an amazing time. The staff are so polite and helpful, and their English is excellent. The dining room is gorgeous and beautiful with luxurious decor which transforms you back in time. I noticed that there weren't young children there and I would say that this is a sophisticated hotel, however I'm sure that they would accommodate if required. We also ate dinner there and the food was exquisite, and much cheaper than English prices. First rate!

Room Tip: If you have a room overlooking the square you may have to sacrifice noise for fresh air. I loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Situated in a perfect location opposite the main square the wentzls first impressions are good on the outside inside however its fantastic all of the receptionists speak amazing English and are very polite and talkactive and the manager is a very nice man being a football fan I wanted to watch a local football match not knowing tickets for the team Wisla Krakow were very hard to get. I asked the manager what it was like and could I just buy a ticket on the gate he said no but said he knew someone at the club and he managed to get me a pair of tickets! The breakfast is astonishing as is the room its served in. The rooms are clean and TV contains some English channels. I would highly recommend this excellent hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Krakow.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joemo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#14 of 267 in Krakow
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 267 in Krakow
2,011 reviews
Stare Miasto
Venetian House Aparthotel
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 267 in Krakow
986 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#41 of 267 in Krakow
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#10 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £83 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing