We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wentzl is a Wonder”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #11 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wentzl is a Wonder”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is THE place to stay in this magnificent city. Not only is this the only 5 star hotel in Rynek Glowny but the windows open onto the most vibrant, beautiful square in all of Europe. The building is over 200 years old and you do feel like you are staying in the private palace of royalty. The staff is completely professional and friendly. We arrived by overnight train at 7AM and didn't expect that our room would be ready but were hoping to drop off our bags. Not only did they accommodate us at that early hour but upgraded us to a suite as well. Our room was huge and beautifully appointed. The thrill of walking out the front door and being in the middle of EVERYTHING cannot be overstated. They only negative was the breakfast buffet. If only you could eat the lush fabrics and stunning decor. Alas you cannot. The same few tired choices appeared every day. They put out only a few pieces of anything at one time and I found myself asking frequently if they could replenish those items. But the worst of it was the gorgeous entry foyer. There were cakes and pastries in glass jars and on tiered trays. Smack in the middle was what looked like some kind of apple cake. I tried to cut into it on the first day but found it very dry and crumbly. The next day when I attempted to try the cake I found to my horror it was the same cake from the day before with my poor attempt at cutting into it. That cake and those pastries, while real food, remained for the entire 5 days of our stay. When I inquired about it I was told, "Oh no one eats those. Just for decoration". I wish I has known that before I ate one!
Aside from that, this hotel is the best! Joanna at the front desk is to be commended for her helpfulness and ever present smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    177
    30
    3
    4
See reviews for
137
626
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed three nights in Krakow at this hotel. The location is fantastic and the view from the room doesn't get much better. Staff is friendly and helpful with advice. Breakfast was only slightly above average, with limited choice in terms of bread (unless you are a big fan of white bread). One improvement opportunity: we arrived by our own car and had not been informed ahead of our arrival that the hotel has it's own parking place in a nearby side street off the market square. We ended up getting almost lost in the oneway streets leading to the square and had to leave the car several hundred meters away.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors to avoid the noise from the square disturbing your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in March and thought the level of service provided and the standard of the accommodation were excellent. The hotel is an period town house so has a boutique feel to it. The room was dramatically decorated in deep reds, purples and black and it was spacious,stylish and well appointed. But what really makes this hotel special is the location on the main square of Krakow, it is so very convenient for all Krakow's attractions, restaurants and nightlife. I will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor as these have balconies overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Located right on the old town market square the Wentzl is a part of Krakow history. Home to a wealthy merchant it has character and charm. Staff are attentive and very helpful. Are room was large enough for two with our suitcases so that we did not have to concern ourselves with tripping over the bags when walking around the room. The bath/shower is a good size.
Being centrally located makes it very easy to walk to all the areas of the old town.
Breakfasts are served in their main restaurant which has some of the most interesting décor one might find in hotels. The decoration resembles an elegant drawing room with chandeliers, drapery and mirrors that are done very well. Very unique.
An excellent place to stay when in Krakow.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights from 6/28 to 7/2 in a deluxe twin room (#35) overlooking the main square. I originally checked on availability in early January and it took several weeks to confirm. I am so glad that it worked out. The main square is absolutely the place to stay in Krakow if you can afford it. There is truly something magical about it.

The room was very spacious with good comfortable beds and bedding. The bathroom was also well equipped with a tub and shower. Free wi-fi that worked well in the room. There was also a computer in the lobby area with free internet access and a printer.

Breakfast was a high point. The restaurant where it is served is very richly decorated with views on the square. In addition to the buffet items, you can order from a selection of cooked to order egg dishes. Really outstanding.

Everyone who worked the front desk were also very welcoming and helpful. On Sunday morning we were greeted by the manager who introduced himself and also reported that Sting had stayed in the hotel the previous night. I can see why he chose to stay here.

I really enjoyed my stay in Krakow and at this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m&m56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

If you want the best possible introduction to Krakow, then stay here. The balconies overlook what has been described as "Krakow's livingroom." Arriving on a Friday, we had a front row view of the square's liveliness from our fourth floor balcony. We worried at first that we would be unable to sleep with all this activity below us (not to mention the hourly bugle) but, when we finally closed the door to the balcony, we found the room to be surprisingly quiet. And it was a delight to view the square beginning to come alive the next morning, : nuns in their habits and lone bicycle riders beginning their day. We were unable to stay longer than one night before joining our tour (Sights and Soul Vacations) but during that day we found the hotel's service to be exemplary and the front-desk staff to be friendly. We were pleased that the hotel accomodated our needs by adding an extra cot to our room. Although this extra bed would make the room too cramped for any long term stay, it was just what we wanted. The restaurant patio was a great place to have breakfast and view the scene at our leisure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The reason to stay here is its position on the Market Square. The view from the window is spectacular, and it is great to wander out of the front door into Krakow's main attraction. It isn't flawless. There is little in the way of public rooms, part of the curtain sagged when we closed it, and the lift was out of action for 15 minutes at breakfast time. I wouldn't eat in the first floor restaurant as it doesn't really give views of the Square, and the room looks like there has been an explosion in a heavy fabric factory. Its a very elegant setting for breakfast though, and there is a menu of well prepared egg dishes.
The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped, with nice touches like a nespresso machine for very good expresso. They are spacious, and with the location justify the cost as an indulgence. The Market Square is one of those places where it feels worth the expense to be in the best spot. Even the sounds of the Square are evocative and contribute to the feeling that you are in the centre of things.
Like the rest of the old town the hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station. We arrived by train, and the service to the airport leaves from the station every half hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 259 in Krakow
1,694 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing