We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorely disappointed”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #10 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
North England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sorely disappointed”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Unforunately, the Wentzl flies the four star flag based on its superb location, its exceptional interior design and history rather than on its ability to provide a four star service.
The staff here are not to blame, rather I believe the middle management of this hotel.
There was no great catastrophy, rather an endless number of little niggles. Small and rather insignificant issues when viewed individually were only minor irritations, but when confronted with them daily and almost without cease, made us feel we chose the wrong hotel.
We brought some of the issues to the attention of the front desk, who did resolve some of them, but after that we felt embarrased to continue to bring their shortcomings to their attention.
I understand that we may have just been unlucky and other travelers may have a different experience, but as some of the issues were not directly related to our room and rather exposed to all of the guests, this is unlikely.
My suggestion to the hotel management would be to stay a night or two at the hotel and use its facilities. Dont focus on the staff, rather the ability to use the hotel for its primary functional which is to use your room as a home away from home.
We will be returning to Krakow and unfortunately will not be staying at the Wentzl again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the square, but sure you confirm before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BPSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawelMusial, Manager at Hotel Wentzl, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you very much for the comments. I am very sorry you were disappointed with our hotel.
We will follow your suggestion, investigate what issues you mean, and do our best to fix them.

If you would to share more comments with us please write directly to me
biuro@wentzl.pl

Best Regards
Pawel Musial Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    176
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
135
622
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Wentzl and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is very romantic, in a wonderful location right on the square and it was a joy to have this view of the Basilica and Sukiennice right outside the bedroom window, especially from dusk onwards when the square was beautifully lit,
The room was richly decorated in deep colours and was very comfortable, with lamps and feature spotlights. The wardrobe had plenty of coat hangers. Everything was sensibly laid out and it was great to have an ample number of plug points for all my electrical items. Double sets of windows blocked out sounds from the square very efficiently but it was nice in the early evening to open them and sit and gaze out at the view. The only thing I would have liked would be to have a mirror over the dressing table/desk for doing hair and make up.There was a large wall TV & DVD player (you can hire films from Reception).Tea and coffee was provided, with a kettle and good choice of sachets and also there was a Nespresso machine, Everything was constantly topped up. Little details were appreciated: china cups, bottles of water which were great to take out with you when sightseeing and a bowl of apples with a fruit knife. There was a very good sized minibar with a wide choice of drinks and snacks and the little fridge was big enough to store a couple of food items I bought locally.
The bathroom was a good size and spotlessly clean with lovely white fluffy towels, slippers and bathrobes. There were very good quality shampoos, soaps and shower gels provided. Shower was nice and hot constantly.
I enjoyed the breakfast and found the choice to be enough, even though as a vegetarian I had to pass on some of the cold platters. The little rolls and the apple cake were lovely and it was good to have a variety of fruit juices and specialist teas. The dining room areas were gorgeously decorated with chandeliers and rich fabrics and great bowls of roses plus you have that amazing view.
All the staff were absolutely lovely, friendly and charming. My case was carried up for me. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.
I'll be visiting Krakow many times in the future as it's one of my favourite cities but after this trip I know I'll never stay anywhere other than the Wentzl . Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthStarFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The room we booked on Expedia was enormous. The bed was gigantic as well and a fridge was included .The room also had a balcony with a wonderful view of the square. There are many many restaurants around the square and also a few churches. Wawel castle is about a 20 min walk and a must see attraction. Overall the city of Krakow is interesting and worth a visit but they need to clean themselves up a bit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUZZFUNGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had a lovely 3 night stay, wonderful rooms (esp. room 21 four poster & beautiful architecture), good breakfast, friendly staff who also arranged restaurant bookings (Pimiento for great steak) and also day trip to the salt mines. We pre-booked Auschwitz trip via Cracow City Tours also v good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CWhite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. The location can not be beat obviously. But there is more. The little details make the difference. Kind service, clean rooms, room made up and turned down without us ever seeing them, the personalized towels, the cava that showed up congratulating our anniversary, and frsh apples every day. I highly recommend this hotel. But do be aware that if you are a light sleeper the location may not be the best for you as the square is always very active and lively! But who can blame a hotel for this as some reviewers have? Some people just don't get it I suppose.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Lovely authentic small hotel. Great location! We were in room 45 with a balcony and fantastic view of the square. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was spacious and very nice with a beautiful bathroom. There is no room service of any type after 11pm including ice....and the shag carpet in the room is dated and worn and needs to be replaced, I definitely recommend this hotel, good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is perfectly located being right on the square. The rooms were large with views over the square. It has character and is very comfortable. The service from the staff was absolutely excellent. I can thoroughly recommend the WENTZL to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in the most central position.

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking the square are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#9 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing