We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful amazing hotel - exceeded expectations”
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #9 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful amazing hotel - exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is fabulous - from the moment we got there until we left the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The room was beautiful with everything we could have needed - nespresso machine tea hot chocolate, well stocked and not overpriced mini bar, lovely toiletries, robes, slippers.
The location is perfect - right on the square by the Cloth Hall in the centre of Krakow. The bars and restaurants and shops are right on the doorstep but there is no noise within the hotel.
Will definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieC587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    175
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
135
621
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Wentzl from December 30th till January 3rd, in the room 45. Design of the room is very attractive and unusual as well as the whole hotel designed in ancient style. The room has a small balcony with the main square view and Christmas Market view that makes this hotel as a part of historical center of Krakow. Every hour you can hear bell's sound following playing horn that is very symbolic for Krakow history. Nothing annoys you when you sleep, you don't hear any sounds from the main square. The room is spacious, the breakfast is pretty good but could be more reach. If you want to watch rock concert in tne main square from the windows of your hotel you need the hotel on the completely opposite side. The staff is very polite, the room is clean and the hotel looks preatty fresh. One minus is the parking, I don't know why but the hotel staff reccomended me the parking near the Redisson Hotel that costs about 3,5 Zl. a half an hour that is about 40 Euro a 24 hours in contrast to closest parking at Pl. Wszystkich Świętych 5 for 15 Euros a 24 hours.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just spent a wonderful Christmas week at the Wentzl. This is a very special hotel with an exceptional staff. They are a professional, courteous, well informed team. The hotel is on the main square with many events, shopping and restaurants close by the Hotel. The rooms are unique, spacious and comfortable. We intend to return to the Wentzl with our family next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mjs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Wentzl for three nights in November 2013. It really is in a perfect spot, right in the square and easy to walk to anywhere. However, Krakow is a small city and we spent a lot of our time in the jewish quarter, meaning we walked a lot anyway. But if you want to see the castle, main square and shopping area it is perfect.

Trannsfer from the airport was great, everyone we met who worked for the hotel was polite and the service was great. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it to a very high standard.

Our only downsides were:

The hotel is rated one of the best in Krakow, but inside really isn't that luxurious, especially the rooms. I would say it is a 4* for the lobbies, restaurant etc and 3* for the rooms by London standards.

Although the reception staff were very friendly, we asked to have our safe repaired on the first night and it was never done. Not a big problem, and they offered to keep our things on reception safely, but considering they cleaned the room twice a day, an oversight.

I would recommend Wentzl to anyone staying in Krakow, but with a bit of research you could probably find somewhere just as good for less money.

Room Tip: Our room was a deluxe but looked out on the rooftops at the back of the hotel. Ask for one overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cs1983London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a very lovely 5 nights here over Christmas. The room overlooked the square and it was lovely to look out over the market and the people milling about. We were in room 23.

Room was on the small side but very comfortable. High ceilings with exposed beams.

Staff were extremely polite and friendly. The only very slight negative was breakfast, for which I have had better in hotels, but it was still good.

I am not sure if the rooms overlooking the square would be good in summer as you might find it noisy if you wanted to sleep with the window open, however in winter it was perfect.

Compared to some other hotels I looked at in Krakow, it was on the more expensive end, but worth it for the ideal location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon0672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wentzl is located right where the action is…in the City Square..we were here during the Christmas holiday, so there was lots of activities in the City Square..and all we had to do was go out of the hotel doors to join in the fun…clean hotel, warm staff and for a hotel with a long history…well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Luzonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide,South Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in April 2013

We had a beautiful stylish room with a very high ceiling and lots of wood panelling. Very old world European luxury ! Our window overlooked the wonderful main square of the city and although this was always a busy place our room was quiet at night. The bathroom was huge and comfortable.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and gave good advice on how to get to various tourist locations.

Being on the main square the hotel is very centrally located and as the square is one of the highlights of Krakow it is a perfect location for a tourist.

The only slight negatives about the hotel were the poor lighting in the bathroom ( very atmospheric but hard to see ) and the mattresses were a little hard.

Krakow itself is a lovely old city with much to see and many excellent restaurants. Polish beer is excellent ! The Poles are very friendly and they have done a good job of tackling the modern scourge of ugly graffiti ( Vilnius please take note ! ) especially around the lovely main square.

We had a delightful breakfast each morning in the " Europa " cafe on the main square. Our favourite restaurant was " La Campana " which has a charming courtyard and serves Italian cuisine. Not far from the main square.

Definitely a very good hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lochiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#8 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing