We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the main square and all the action” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wentzl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wentzl
Ranked #8 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoy the main square and all the action”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here in a room on the fourth floor that overlooked the main square. The view made it all worth it, we would open the balcony doors and watch the action whenever we were in the room. As we were on the main square, we were close to all the major sites and near to buses and the train station. The square is quiet at night and early morning so there is no noise to worry about.
The room was big enough for the two of us, clean and had the amenities that we required. Our room could get quite warm with the heat on- we turned on the AC to cope, but within a day we had figured out how to get it to the temperature we wanted.

The staff was all very friendly and helpful which we appreciated as I was 6 months pregnant at the time. (Arranging cabs, helping with bags, giving us hints when we had questions about the sites) They also had free wifi which is always a blessing! The breakfast was very good, as with any buffet, the earlier you go, the more there is. There was a large selection and it had warm food made to order as well.

The hotel has had a few famous folk stay there, so that should also give a hint as to what a great find it is.

Room Tip: Splurge on a view of the square, the photos we got are hanging on our wall and we loved watching all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    171
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
132
609
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Wentzl with my wife for three nights in February 2014 and it was ideal. The location is perfect,right on the main square with everything on its doorstep. We had room 25 which had a beautiful view overlooking the square.The room was very large with a high wooden ceiling , spotless , well furnished and very comfortable. All the staff were extremely helpful with suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. They booked our trip to Auschwitch and the Salt Mines. The salt mines are a must and Auschwitch although distressing has to be visited.
We paid extra for breakfast which was plenty full and served in an atmospheric dining room.
You would do well to better the Wentzl in Krakow, perfect location , quiet, relaxing and the staff were excellent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PanchoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The location is perfect and is without question the best located hotel in the City. We had room 41 on the top floors which had stunning picturesque views of the beautiful main market and old town square. There is no noise from the square albeit Krakow is a peaceful and charming town and certainly no internal noise from other guests! The room was perfectly furnished having a luxurious feel with a superb mini bar which was extremely cheap. The attention to detail by the hotel staff sets this apart from other hotels; all were very friendly and always willing to give tips and advice about restaurants and sight seeing. The hotel arranged taxis at a reasonable price and everything was reconfirmed a few days before travel which gave an air of confidence. I love boutique hotels and this was the best I have visited to date. Will definitely return to Krakow and when I do it will be to this hotel.

Room Tip: Why wouldn't you choose a hotel that looks over the square - look at their webcam, it is breatht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was really pleased with this place, the staff where very friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel itself is spotless and the room we had was perfect. The rooms are a good size had it had a really comfy bed. We where also lucky enough to get a great view of the main square and the cloth hall. There was also a twice daily room service so you always had plenty of tea and coffee and they turned you bed down in the evening. We got breakfast too, and it was very good - a superb mix of meats, fish, cheeses, breads, pates and hot stuff like bacon and eggs, scrambled eggs etc. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the main square have great views, but the main square can get noisy at the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The location of the hotel is exquisite. Yet, and I don't think I'm a particularly picky person, I didn't find it living up to some of the other ratings. I was on the second floor with a great view but the room was quiet small unlike what some of the other reviewers mention. There was a weird, loud noise coming from the bathroom frequently from the night. They had two pillow sizes, too large and too small and no other options available. The staff - didn't really seem to care that much. I asked for artificial sweetner for my coffee for breakfast and the answer was 'we don't have it' so I went back to my room to get some. When I asked for a 1230 checkout I was told this was not possible but this was midweek in January with low occupancy, they didn't really seem to care or want to help. I might stay there again if I could bring my own pillows and if I could get a nicer room. I did love the location. But it really could have been better if the hotel management tried just a bit harder.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drpsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawelMusial, Kierownik at Hotel Wentzl, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are really sorry that you did not fully
enjoy the stay with us. Because your feelings are important to us I let
myself to explain couple of things.

In our hotel we have 2 room categories: standard and delux. Standard
rooms are 17square meters, delux rooms are 24 to 38 square meters. Probably
your reservation was made for standard (smaller )room.
Regarding the pillows we have available on request also U.S. standard
size pillows 20"x26".
I am sorry for the incident at breakfast. It was probably
misunderstanding ( waitress fault ) because artificial sweetener is
available in the restaurant.
Our check out time is at 12.00 but we agree for late check out when we have
no reservation for the room.
If you come to Cracow again please consider to check Hotel Wentzl again.
You can choose the room you like the best , viewing our room gallery , we
will prepare medium pillows for you. I am sure that you will not be
disappointed again.

Kind regards
Pawel Musial
Hotel Wentzl manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The location is simply outstanding! Our room on one of the top floors had picturesque view of the beautiful main market and old town square. You have no need to worry about loud noises keeping you up at night, as Krakow is a peaceful and charming town! The room itself is nicely furnished, modern, clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were very friendly and always willing to give tips and advice about restaurants and sight seeing. If you like historic boutique hotels - then you will not find a better place,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We've stayed for 3 nights. The room was clean and nicely decorated, overlooking the main square and the cathedral. The staff was very helpful. We were offered assistance with parking our car within walking distance. I can't say anything about breakfast as we haven't taken it in the hotel. If we come again, we'll definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dansi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wentzl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wentzl

Property: Hotel Wentzl
Address: ul. Rynek Glowny 19, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Krakow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#12 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wentzl 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wentzl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentzl Krakow
Wentzl Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing