We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality/value ratio but NOISY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Ranked #110 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
122 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent quality/value ratio but NOISY”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel is clean, modern, very affordable & with good friendly staff, breakfasts very wide in array of food with lots of fresh vegetables & fruit (while the same stuff every day).
But how noisy is the area around I just can't describe: 24h/7d noisy multiline traffic, non-stop rumble of tramways etc. Because no air con in the room it's possible to sleep with open windows only, but with all this loud noise we may sleep with ear plugs only, so buy them in advance if booking BWGalicya.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a good evaluation of our service and nice experience of staying in our hotel.
Unfortunately on some issues we do not have a direct impact but we try to eliminate within our possibilities
We hope that despite some considerations when planning your next visit to Krakow you will consider staying at our hotel.

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    109
    46
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
100
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This may not be the usual experience of hotel visitors, but I was one of 5 adults accompanying 41 teenage kids on a school trip to Krakow. While the hotel and other residents deserve a medal for sharing with such a group, the patience and understanding of all concerned certainly contributed to a successful and stress-free experience. The check-in procedure was a picture! However, the staff worked methodically and courteously, with little or no incident. The only meal we had while in the hotel was breakfast which, although basic, was adequate and served in a pleasant environment. Of particular note was the night porter - a young chap who understood the particular difficulties of having girls and boys of a 'formative' age staying in close proximity to each other! He worked well with the school staff and was of great help in keeping everybody in their proper places (if you understand what I mean!).
Although the hotel isn't that convenient to the old town, it has tram connections nearby. For more 'normal' visitors, this would be a good value option for a short, sight-seeing trip to Krakow,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC_AEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and services.
With the experience of taking youth groups in high season whose behavior sometimes gets out of control and have a negative impact on individual guests stays we have developed some solid standard procedures. Which so far operate positively in both directions.
For us the most important is the satisfaction of all guests.
We hope that when planning your next visit to Krakow also choose our hotel.

Greetings from the team Hotel Best Western Galicya
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for four days. The room was clean and the staff were very helpfull. It is slightly out of town but it is within easy reach of a walk. Or you can take the nm.8 tram into the centre.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

With great pleasure, thank you for such a good and objective review of our hotel.
The main thing for us is that you are happy with the last stay in our hotel and even thinking about the next visit.

We wish you all the best !

Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and we had the best experience of our holiday from 3 countries. Very clean hotel, very helpful and friendly staff and an excellent breakfast for a 3 star hotel. For coffe A+. Congratulations for the way you treat your guests! Ana Roman, Romania.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anusca26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire team of the hotel Thank you very much for such a positive opinion of our hotel.
Your satisfaction with your stay is most important to us.
We are constantly trying to raise our standard of service and meet the needs of every guest.
Once again, thank you very much and we wish you all the best!
We look forward to your return visit to our hotel soon.

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stop, if you are thinking about visiting Krakow! We visited here from the 15th-17th July and had fantastic time. Krakow really is well worth visiting. The hotel in general is great and you do not need to look any further! I can't remember her name but the blonde haired receptionist was exceptional, answering any questions we had, and giving us all the information we needed required upon arrival. So a big thank you to her.

Rooms- the rooms were absolutely spotless, couldn't have been cleaner. Your room is cleaned every day, with fresh towels and two bottles of water. There were two fans to keep cool, as obviously it's hot during the summer. Shower fantastic, with a hair dryer in the bathroom too!

Food- We only had breakfast here, but the restaurant and bar are available to use in the evening. Breakfast had a great selection, including frankfurters, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, cold meats, cheeses, salad, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, fruit juice, bread(with toaster). Definitely enough to keep you going.

Location- I found the location fantastic. Not much around the hotel(a shop and a Macdonalds), but there is a tram stop about 1 minute to the left of the hotel. Get the number 8 tram, and this will take you to sights like Wawel castle, the Jewish district, and the main square(which is a wonderful square to visit). This takes about ten minutes to these stops. If you are wanting to go to the bus/train station, as we did to visit Auschwitz, then get the number 10 and it takes you just round the corner from it. I recommend the bus as it takes you right outside, whereas the train doesn't. The trams run until between 11-12 I believe, so we had to get a taxi back one night from the main square. This worked out at about 6 pounds, so you don't need to worry about stopping out late down Ul Szewska(the nightlife). The tram also costs 2.80 zloty(60p).

All in all, a wonderful hotel. A perfect base for exploring Krakow :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyCarter1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much!
We are very pleased to read such a wonderful review about our hotel.
For us the most important thing is that your stay was an enjoyable holiday and left good memories.
We wish you all the best and of course, Welcome to join us again soon!

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 10 – 15 July. All the staff are very,very helpful and so friendly! They made local phone calls and printed a few bus time tables for me at no charge! As a veggie I had no issues with the b/fast of sliced gherkins, tomatoes, cucumber, boiled eggs, soft white cheese and pickled mushrooms [which I’d never had before] lovely! All the usual cold cuts, pancakes, scrambled eggs and little chunks of red sausage. The restaurant had large windows so it was nice and bright on a sunny day…unfortunately I only got 3 of these; the other 3 were cloudy and very, very wet so make sure you take waterproofs. I was on my own so there was more than enough room for me. A flat screen TV with only one English language news channel but not a problem as there’s free WiFi in the rooms! There’s no air con so if you get any hot days it’d be a complete nightmare using the table fan. Cleaned daily unless you put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. I had room 302 and there was quite a bit of traffic noise pretty much constantly but I got used to it. Nice bathroom with Dove hand wash and Imperial Leather shampoo/shower gel!! The hairdryer was a good one too! The tram stops are just around the corner from the hotel and it’s very easy to get about although you have to buy your tkts before boarding unless you have the correct change to pay on the tram. I bought mine from one of the little booths but once I’d worked out the route back from the Centrum I didn’t bother with the trams after that. Admittedly it was about an hour but if you like walking you’ll be fine. There are lots of things to see in the Old Town so check out the tour operators in the main streets as they seem to do the best deals. I went to another town called Tarnow as a Polish colleague of mine is from there and she insisted that I visit ! It’s very nice and clean with a little local museum which was open on Sunday although pretty much everything was closed.

Room Tip: You get quite a bit of traffic noise in room 302 on the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for such a good opinion about our services.
We were very pleased to host you in our hotel.
We are very pleased that your stay in our hotel and a beautiful Krakow left so positive and pleasant impression.
We have great hope that we will still have the opportunity to host you again in our hotel.

Best wishes from the entire team Hotel Best Western Galicya !

Best regards

Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and was pleased with location, value and service from staff. The room was nice and clean but lacks air conditioning and thus the rooms were a bit hot and stuffy during the warm July nights. We had a room at the back of the hotel and the only noise heard was from the odd tram.
The hotel is a couple of miles from the old town, we took a slow walk one night and it took about 40 mins to get there and got a cab back, tram stop is also very near the hotel.
We had a car and the location of the hotel was ideal for quickly getting out of Krakow for a trip to Aushwitz (1hr 10min) the salt mine (15 min) and Wadowice (40 min) also the Sanctuary of Divine Mercy is less than a mile away and walkable . Parking is 20Zl a night at the front of the hotel and parking spaces seemed plentiful,
Breakfast was good, plentiful with lots of choice including a couple of hot items (eggs and sausages) We also ate in the restaurant twice for dinner and were happy with the food and price, the waiter/barman was a very pleasant guy always willing to help with a smile. The restaurant is air conditioned.
WiFi was stable and fairly fast.
Would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Krakow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff of the hotel very thank you for such a favorable assessment of our services.
We are very pleased that your stay at the hotel and attractions that seen in Cracow left so pleasant memories.
Certainly are more interesting places to see so we invite you to the next trip to Krakow and our hotel.
We wish you all the best !

Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
4.1 mi away
Best Western Efekt Express Krakow Hotel
4.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Krakow Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Krakow Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Krakow City West
4.1 mi away
Q Hotel Krakow
Q Hotel Krakow
#81 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#104 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Galicya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Galicya

Property: Best Western Hotel Galicya
Address: Ul. Rzemieslnicza 4, Krakow 30-363, Poland (Formerly Hotel Galicya)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Krakow
#64 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Galicya 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Galicya is a comfortable hotel located in the Podgorze district, known for its interesting urban buildings and the numerous companies which have decided to open offices here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Galicya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galicya Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing