We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“06/08/13 - 13/08/14”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya
Ranked #106 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“06/08/13 - 13/08/14”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during our first visit to Poland / Krakow.
Although it is slightly further out of the main town than some of the other hotels, we found it to be more than adequate for our needs as we spent most of our holiday exploring the old Jewish Ghetto and the times we went into the Old Town or Kazimierz, the tram (located only a few metres from the hotel) was perfect.

The hotel is clean, comfortable and well staffed. The staff were always polite, helpful and smiling!
We could not fault the staff at all - perfect.

The breakfast menu was good enough for the start of even our most busiest of days, serving a selection of hot and cold foods, with plenty of juice, tea and coffee available.

We only used the hotel restaurant a couple of times and the food was excellent!
The only reason we didn't use the hotel restaurant more during our stay was only down to the fact that meals (and beer!) were cheaper in the town.

The room (a standard double) was comfortable enough, plenty of room, tea / coffee making facility, fresh bottled water daily, clean, hot / powerful shower and a TV. No air-con made the room very hot during the day and night and despite the fact that there was a fan in the room, it made it difficult to sleep. Opening the window did little to cool the room and only alerted us to the fact that the tram stop is very close. The trams are noisy but they do not run all night so didn't cause us any problems.

For the money, facilities and location, this hotel was pretty much perfect. The only downside was the temperature of the room and lack of cooling using the fan provided. The TV only had one English channel (Euro News) but as we'd not come to Krakow to watch TV this was no major worry.

I would definitely stay here again.

Thanks to everyone at The Best Western, Galicya!

Ian & Claire.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iannocenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to read your review. We are happy that you are satisfied with your stay at our hotel. Thank you also for the comment regarding the AC of course we will pass your comment to our Management, regarding the tv channel for your information we have 2 english channel for our guest.
We hope that your stay in our hotel and in our city was pleasent and memorable and you will come back us again in the future.

Kindly regards
Beata Dyna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    108
    46
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
98
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
241 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Most of the reviews were good and that was misleading for me. Propably the hotel has renovated and not renovated rooms. Our room was not as seen on the professional photos. It was outdated. The main problem was that there wasn't Airconditioning. They put fans in our rooms for air. We couldn't sleep at night. This is the reason i cant put this hotel to the trip advisor's best. It needs more work. But i need to say the staff is extremely helpful. The maids brought more pillows when we left a note for this request. The breakfast staff is friendly and the reception always helpful with a smile. The owners and management just need to make the rooms woth the money the visitors and paying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air-conditioning and not fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelos_Christou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments about our hotel.
Our hotel is a standard 3 star rating and meets all the basic requirements required by the brand Beste Western. Every year we pass a standard internal audit and assessment of hotel quality is evaluated very positively. Within two years of the entry into the brand we are trying to gradually make changes and improve our standard of our services. Unfortunately the hotel does not have air conditioning and there is no information anywhere in our hotel offer that we have one. We try to deal with this fact and therefore provide fans for rooms.
Regarding high standard of rooms at the hotel have several types of rooms and demand on the choice of guests as standard, premium or superior. They vary in size, additional equipment, and of course different price. Each hotel has its own style and atmosphere, and unfortunately can not always meet the requirements of all guests. Of course we will consider your comments and suggestions because they are very important to us.
Once again, thank you very much for the opportunity to host you in our hotel.
We hope that in the future even give us a chance for another visit and we will try to make further positive changes.

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for two nights in August 2014, hotel is spotless throughout and reception staff the most helpful I have ever come across, downside no a/c in bedrooms and it was HOT! Reception did their very best, giving a second small fan....no help but then supplied a really large fan for the second night which helped a lot. Breakfast perfectly adequate, easy to get into the centre via tram.

Room Tip: Ask for a large fan in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patannejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a positive opinion of our hotel.
Unfortunately the hotel does not have air conditioning but we try to reduce the inconvenience in this matter and provide the fans. We are very pleased that you have such pleasant memories of your stay in our hotel.
We hope that you will return to us soon!

We wish you all the best,

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Window at most rooms can hardly be opened (just a very thin line). And BBQ at ground floor restaurant can bring unpleasant smoke into your room through this thin line. No air condition in room. Tram runs to train station every 20 ~ 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shao J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,

It is very sad that we did not meet your expectations and requirements that you expected.
Regarding the windows in the rooms, one window is hinged and the other is protected only because of its security. Always on request we release the lock a second window but you have to inform the reception desk. Grill is located outside in the garden restaurant and so far there have been no complaints from the guests.
The menu of dishes from the grill has just launched on the basis of the suggestions and comments of our guests. Our hotel does not have air conditioning and there is no visual feedback that is, so when choosing a hotel you should check this information. For our part, every room is equipped with fans.
Our Hotel is not located outside the city but only 3.5 km from the center with very good line of communication so it is not possible there will be no any noise from outside.
We hope that in spite of these observations remain positive memories of your stay in our beautiful Krakow.

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms are tidy with enough space. Hotel is clean, but a room with street-view is not recommended due to the noises from outside (tram, traffic). Shower wasn't easy accessible (Small opening , high step in and out - actually quite dangerous when the floor is slippery).
Breakfast was modest, but satisfactory.
Quality of hotel dinner was under influence of the mood of the cook. One day the meal was just poor, the other day was great. It's like roulette really!

Location of the hotel is fine, just a short tram ride away from city centre.

Huge plus: there was a fan available in the room and bottles of water were provided every day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your opinion, it is very important to us because we know how we should improve our services.
Regarding showers in the rooms, of course, we will take into account your comments, it was the first time we got information about the bathrooms.
The hotel is not on a main street are rather on suburbs, but reception on guest' request can change the room and move to another part of the hotel.
Regarding the meals we informed our Manager of Restaurant about your feedback. We hope that your stay in our hotel was in spite of all successful and you will keep on your mind only positive impressions and you will return us again.

Best regards
Beata Dyna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
122 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel is clean, modern, very affordable & with good friendly staff, breakfasts very wide in array of food with lots of fresh vegetables & fruit (while the same stuff every day).
But how noisy is the area around I just can't describe: 24h/7d noisy multiline traffic, non-stop rumble of tramways etc. Because no air con in the room it's possible to sleep with open windows only, but with all this loud noise we may sleep with ear plugs only, so buy them in advance if booking BWGalicya.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a good evaluation of our service and nice experience of staying in our hotel.
Unfortunately on some issues we do not have a direct impact but we try to eliminate within our possibilities
We hope that despite some considerations when planning your next visit to Krakow you will consider staying at our hotel.

Best regards
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This may not be the usual experience of hotel visitors, but I was one of 5 adults accompanying 41 teenage kids on a school trip to Krakow. While the hotel and other residents deserve a medal for sharing with such a group, the patience and understanding of all concerned certainly contributed to a successful and stress-free experience. The check-in procedure was a picture! However, the staff worked methodically and courteously, with little or no incident. The only meal we had while in the hotel was breakfast which, although basic, was adequate and served in a pleasant environment. Of particular note was the night porter - a young chap who understood the particular difficulties of having girls and boys of a 'formative' age staying in close proximity to each other! He worked well with the school staff and was of great help in keeping everybody in their proper places (if you understand what I mean!).
Although the hotel isn't that convenient to the old town, it has tram connections nearby. For more 'normal' visitors, this would be a good value option for a short, sight-seeing trip to Krakow,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC_AEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwona S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and services.
With the experience of taking youth groups in high season whose behavior sometimes gets out of control and have a negative impact on individual guests stays we have developed some solid standard procedures. Which so far operate positively in both directions.
For us the most important is the satisfaction of all guests.
We hope that when planning your next visit to Krakow also choose our hotel.

Greetings from the team Hotel Best Western Galicya
Iwona Sulikowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Efekt Express Krakow Hotel
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Krakow Hotel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Krakow Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Krakow City West
4.1 mi away
Q Hotel Krakow
Q Hotel Krakow
#85 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#104 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya
Address: ul. Rzemieslnicza 4, Krakow 30-363, Poland (Formerly Hotel Galicya)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Krakow
#64 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Galicya is a comfortable hotel located in the Podgorze district, known for its interesting urban buildings and the numerous companies which have decided to open offices here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galicya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galicya Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing