We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful city - great location for hotel”
Review of Campanile Krakow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Krakow
Ranked #70 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We stayed for 5 nights at the Campanile - excellent location just a stone's throw from the old town square, much closer than several more expensive hotels in the city. We paid about £40 per night, the room was large and clean, staff were friendly if a little reserved, and the only problem we had was one we've seen from other reviews: although we had paid for breakfast as part of the room rate, the staff insisted on Day 2 that we hadn't. When we produced the document confirming this they quickly apologised, but on Day 4 it happened again! In fairness, they again backed down, and we were not charged on departure. Incidentally, if you do decide to take breakfast as an add-on, I don't think its worth 8 Euros, and there are plenty of alternatives nearby. Do take your booking confirmation in case of confusion.

Otherwise the city is wonderful: castle and river / bridges are probably not up to Prague standards, but then where is? However, the rest of the old town is very impressive, with some wonderful buildings and countless excellent bars and restaurants: try the beer at CK Brovars' - the wheat beer is superb.

Trip to Auschwitz and Birkenau was excellent if sobering - we booked through the Tourist Information office and the full day including mini-bus transfers cost around £20 each. You could possibly do it for less, but we thought it was good value.

Travelled via Central Wings, flights on time and service very good. Booked the transfers through Krakow Shuttle - same good service there.

All in all a really good few days, and we would thoroughly recommend both the city and the hotel: we will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJHManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2007

Stayed at Campanile for two nights at the end of October. This is a very good budget hotel. The hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the buffet breakfast was good with a small selection of hot food. Excellent position in the old town.

Got a taxi from airport to Auschwitz and then to Krakow to save time . This cost 360 zls with Krakow shuttle.com. Went on buggy tour which was a quick way of seeing main tourist attractions.
Lovely atmosphere at night.

4  Thank eleanorcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

The Campanile is in a great location - within a few minutes walk of the main square and numerous bars and restaurants. Its also within 5 minutes of the train station.

Our room was on the fifth floor and was spotless. The tea/coffee making facilities were an added bonus and appreciated since it was averaging about 4 degrees outside during our 4 day holiday.

The staff were very friendly and efficient and, all in all, the Campanile was good value for money. The breakfast was good, with a wide range of bits and pieces.

The Campanile is a great base from which to explore Krakow and we are planning to return very soon. If you are looking for a good basic hotel that is clean and a stone's throw from the main sights, you can't go far wrong here.

Krakow we love you!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheekyChimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

I couldn't believe what a nice hotel this was with an excellent location for the price we paid. The room was nice, plenty of room clean (except for a few bugs). The location couldn't have been better - just a 5 minute walk from the Market Square (just inside the park that circles the historic area. breakfast was pretty decent for a European hotel (but make sure that it is included in the room - they told us it was and then tried to charge us when we checked out - it isn't worth the price if not complementory). They did forget to call our cab so we were an hour late getting picked up for the airport. But still - for the price I'd defenitely stay there again.

Krakow was beautiful and there are so many cute shops along all the side streets that you could spend days and not see them all. The castle area was o.k. - the salt mine is a must (take the $2 cable car - not the overpriced bus tour - get there early if you don't want a long wait) - and of course, Aushwitz is such a part of history that it is worth the long bus ride. St. Mary's church on the square is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen in Europe - inside and out. Krakow is a wonderful place to relax and spend a leisurely few days to shop and people watch.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rwheeler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

Having scoured TripAdvisor for some reasonable cost accomodation in Krakow, I plumped for the Campanile for a guy's weekend away.

Given that all we needed was a bed for the night and a place to shower and change it was a good choice - nothing fancy - but decent, clean and reasonably priced. A bonus was it's location - literally steps away from the Planxty Gardens and not much further from the Town Square. Some of the other 'tourist' grade hotels appeared to be quite a distance from the centre.

Check-in was straightforward and our room was ready when we arrived just after noon. Reception staff gave us a map showing location of hotel in relation to main sights - there was also a useful city guide
available in the room.

Room was a good size with a street view (although the street was quiet albeit with some revellers late at night but nothing too annoying). Bed was quite comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities available in room. Small TV but with limited channels. Very limited wardrobe/storage facility - but that shouldn't be too much of an isue
if you are in the hotel only for a night or two.

Bathroom was small - bath with over-shower - but clean. Basic toiletries only.

Basic continental breakfast available - but was charged extra for this despite asking at check-in whether breakfast was included in the rate (and was assured it was!). If I had known otherwise I would have ate elsewhere - if only to try something different for breakfast.

Krakow if a pretty attractive city - with lots of interesting and historic buildings and churches. Some good shopping too - a new gleaming shopping centre has been built beside the main railway station which will be an attractive addition for the shopolics visiting the city!

The main square is buzzing day and night - great atmosphere in mid June when the weather was fabulous and cafe society was at its height!

Highlight of the visit however was the day trip to Auschwitz. A chilling, sobering, trip the memory of which will remain with me for a very long time. Well worth doing if a little rushed - it's about an
hour's drive out of town and cost's about £20 if booked through Crackow Tours.

Didn't have time to do the salt mines but others have recommended the
tour - so that's something for the next time we visit!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlwaysReady2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Just spent three days in wonderful Krakow at the Campanile
Hotel. Just near the Planty, the location was great and we walked nearly everywhere. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. I was tempted to take the pillow home with me. Their breakfast buffet was the most extensive we were offered on our whole trip. Besides the usual breads, pastries, meat and cheese, they had scrambled eggs and sausages every day.
The only problem we encountered was the lack of promised air conditioning. We were told "it was broken" and" it will be fixed tomorrow". Three requests for a fan finally produced one.
I know this seems a petty complaint, but, when you are a woman of a certain age, the lack of air conditioning can be a serious problem in summer. Especially when you booked based on that as a feature of the hotel. I would stay again, but at another time of year.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nbrenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

a group of 13 males of vairing ages (27 to 70 ) just got back from a visit to krakow in poland. our main aim was to visit auschwitz a few miles away. we stayed at the campanile hotel near to the town square. it was great value for money. rooms have a.c. kettle, t.v. (no english channels, but who cares). bath/shower. the whole hotel is spotless, and the staff are friendly and helpfull. we only had breakfast in the hotel which was good. the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the town square or the train station. eating and drinking in the square is still reasonable. approx £1.50 - £2.00 for a beer and £6.00 upwards for a main course. we booked our airport transfers,auchwitz visit, and salt mine tour over the net with marco der pole.com. they were excellent. we had meet and greet at the airport, a.c. mercedes mini buses on all trips. they were always on time and nothing was too much trouble. we would use them again without hesitation. have a good time in wonderfull krakow

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bertWestBromwichU_k_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#91 of 262 in Krakow
1,490 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
Wielopole Hotel
#16 of 262 in Krakow
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#116 of 262 in Krakow
121 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#18 of 262 in Krakow
967 reviews
Hotel Classic
#146 of 262 in Krakow
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Krakow

Address: ul. Sw. Tomasza 34, Krakow 31-027, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £41 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Krakow 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Krakow Hotel Krakow
Campanile Hotel Krakow
Krakow Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing