We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel, but not centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Efekt Express Krakow Hotel
Ranked #160 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 22 September 2012

HIE Krakow is a good option if you'd like to have decent, comfortable hotel for really low price.

LOCATION & TRANSPORTATION - It is situated in the northern part of Krakow, close to main roads. There is large car park attached (30 PLN/24h). From the city centre you need to pay approx. 20-25 PLN for a taxi, still very low price. Bus #130 goes from the city centre (near Galeria Krakowska) and stops approx. 300 m from the hotel (print your map for the first time), cost is 3.20 PLN/30 min ticket (in the evening you can buy 15 min ticket as this is more than enough to get there).

CHECK-IN was quick and efficient. This is budget hotel, so no additional benefits or extras for Priority Club Rewards Elite status members. I have booked "1 DBL + sofa bed" room. Lobby and reception area looks good and pleasant. There is bar, restaurant, large dining room, business meeting rooms etc.

ROOM #233 was situated on the 2nd floor. I have contacted hotel earlier to advise them that "I do not need to have my sofa ready for the 3rd person" (what they confirmed), but unfortunately when I arrive there it was prepared. Unnecessary extra work for the maid... Anyway... Room was clean and fresh. It is quite basic, but comfortable and good quality. I really liked my bed, which was very comfortable.
I was advised by the Receptionist that there is no Wi-Fi Internet access in the room, despite that it was working there (not the greatest, but still OK). I think that should be changed in the future as this is standard all over the world.
I was worrying that there will be noise heard from the corridor or outside, but it was pleasant and quiet.

In the morning complimentary breakfast was served. Another surprise. I was expecting quite basic (as in UK) selection, but that was really nice. Hot and cold meals, different types of bread, fruit, cheeses etc.

I was quite happy as well with my Priority Club Rewards points which were accumulated just after two economical nights in this hotel. Overall it was definitely great value for money. Comfortable hotel for a little bit less and not too far from the centre.

Room Tip: Room with sofa is more spacious and more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Last time I wrote fantastic place
after 2 years... the same..........

very cheap, clean and easy to find!!
It isn't in city center but no problem, in front of big mall (main train station is there) you have bus n°130 destination AZORY.-...... you will find express by holiday in on your left at the end of its road!!!

Room Tip: last floor, in the opposite corner of main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monicamel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel caters for large groups and overnight stayers. Reception staff are always helpful. This hotel either has a lot to learn in the restaurant business or they're actively trying to discourage diners. Food is good quality but expensive and very, very slow to arrive. Location is well out of town with controlled parking - for which they charge extra. Rooms are comfortable except for the thick rubber under sheets ! Youth groups can be troublesome and extremely noisy to the point where the hotel employ security staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel just for overnight in Krakow. The hotel is simple, but tidy, enough cozy and for reasonable price.

If You are visiting Krakow, so location is not very good, because hotel is about 5 km from city center and if You don‘t have a car so it would be difficult to reach the center. Even with the car it takes about 20 – 30 minutes, because there are lot of traffic jams in the streets.

Rooms are tidy, have free wifi, TV, coffe and tea.
Breakfast is very good and have a large selection of food.
Car parking is pretty expensive, about 30 PLN a day.

I recommend this hotel if You just passing the Krakow and need to stop for overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGNESSSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Aug 2011 for 2 nights as part of a Cosmos Central Europe Tour. This is a large hotel on the outskirts of the city, mainly used for tour groups.

Location
It took us approx 20 mins in a taxi to get to the city area of Krakow so it is not central at all. It is located on a busy highway with not much around in the way of food and entertainment. If you want to be able to walk everywhere then this is not for you. There is a bus stop close by.

Rooms
The rooms are very basic, but comfortable. The bathroom is also very plain and a little dated. Definately no frills bedrooms. There is no mini fridge either. Rooms at the front of the hotel look out over a large car park usually filled with tour buses. The rooms were not noisy at night even though the hotel is close to a freeway.

Hotel Features
Large reception area with a bar and lounge area which was good for drinks at night. You can also sit out the front of the hotel in a small seating area. There are large function rooms on the ground floor where breakfast is usually served. Also plenty of parking if you have a car.

Staff
Staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a friend who left his wallet in a taxi and they went out of their way to help us contact taxi companies. Always willing to help with maps and directions. Reception was open quite late, could even be 24hrs. Mostly speak English.

Food
We ate dinner one night at the hotel and the food was just OK, but this could be just because we were part of a tour. The restaurant did close early though, some friends missed out and there isnt not much around the hotel to eat. Breakfast was OK, somewhat of a selection.

Overall i would only stay here if i had a car or wanted to stay out of the city centre. Krakow is the most beautiful city and i think i would prefer somewhere closer to the city centre near the main square. Saying that it doesnt mean that this is not a good hotel, its just a bit far out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. It is a budget chain hotel so no fancy stuff but all was of reasonable quality and clean. The reception people were helpfull and nice.

There is a hotel parking. Quite overpriced in local terms. As the hotel is on suburbs of town I would not recommend it if you do not drive.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

we found the hotel after crossing a promotion sign.you need a car to be there.the hotel is very new,the rooms are good aize and cleam.the breakfast was good.at the check inn the lady named agnes(if i remember) tryed to charged us 199 pln instead of 149 as was written on the promotion sign outside.as a ptiority club member i asked her about any benefit and she told me that the price of 149 pln is my benefit although it was the regular promotion price.ireserved 3 rooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itamar1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Krakow Hotel
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#111 of 261 in Krakow
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Q Hotel Krakow, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#133 of 261 in Krakow
180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Apis
Hotel Apis
#127 of 261 in Krakow
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Krakow Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Efekt Express Krakow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Efekt Express Krakow Hotel

Address: ul. Opolska 14, Krakow 31-323, Poland (Formerly Efekt Express Hotel)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £35 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Efekt Express Krakow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Efekt Express Krakow Hotel is a comfortable 4-star hotel with friendly atmosphere, helpful staff and convenient location (5 km from the Old Town of Krakow and easy access to the airport). All the rooms are en suite, air conditioned and come with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee making facilities. The Amber Restaurant serves polish and international cuisine, while at the lobby bar you can enjoy a wide range of drinks in a relaxed atmosphere. BEST WESTERN Efekt Express Krakow Hotel also has 6 meeting rooms, as well as a business centre which allows you to take care of any urgent matters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Efekt Express Krakow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Krakow Hotel Krakow
Holiday Inn Krakow
Krakow Holiday Inn Express
Express Holiday Inn Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing