We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from four stars”
Review of Demel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Demel Hotel
Ranked #185 of 264 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Quite good food, but a poor breakfast buffet. A nice room, but with uncomfortable beds and a shower which pours water all over the bathroom floors.
By car, very close to impossible to find without GPS.
For me, definitively very disappointing, and I really wonder where they get their 4 stars from...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank JJ84Wroclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2010

Short tram ride from city centre - tram 4,8, 13 or 41. Stop is Glowackiego then down a side road by football groud (look for sign "Hotel Demel"

Good size room,very clean and good storage. Cleaned every day.

Negatives bed not too comfortable and TV offers no English language stations. A bit wiffy in bathroom and that was not down to me !!.

Sauna downstairs.

Cost £37 for 2 nights - one person in a double room including cold breakfast - normal fayre - cheese,juice,tomatoes.eggs,ham,jam,rolls,bread.

Nice and warm as it was -13.5 C !!.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Granted this was a cheapie, paid out of AirMiles, but it is one heck of a distance from the action in Prague, tucked along an industrial estate with the army barracks just up the road and a football ground dead opposite which expalined the view from my window consisting primarily of Wisla Krakow graffiti! Excellent beds, but a tiny TV with the only additional channels being Shopping (QVC x 2!), no sport! The showers looked a bit aged though worked adequately. Breakfast OK but discovered on the last day if you want something hot (Sausage and Scrambled Egg) you had to ASK for it rather than being asked as was the costum in every other establishment I stayed on the trip! Still on the positive side the Reception staff could not have been friendlier from the uniformed porter opening the door to the chatty young lady behind the desk, its a shame they have to front such a fading establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

What a lovely place Krakow is but a little disappointed with the hotel.On the web site it states a gym,sauna,bar and restuarant! Well the first 3 forget and the restaurant is only open in the morning so prepare to eat out.
The distance to the Market Square is a good half an hour walk but i advise to get the tram (14,28 or 41)which is really affordable.
One big plus for the hotel is the excellent staff for whom without no one would stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackorome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2007

claim they have everything guarded, but my laptop was stolen out of the room while i was having dinner in the hotel.
the breakfast is below standards, only limited selection, no fresh juice, fruit is not looking fresh and the coffee not drinkable
the hotel is out of the center - so you need a cab to get there
or go the the buss along a terrible road with graphitti on the walls
the beds are too small, pillows too soft and overall the rooms are not the size you may expect form a hotel claiming 4 stars
when you want a drink in the cellar bar, you are mostly alone there...
Same for the restaurant.
The food is of an acceptable level - if one is hungry - but for the same price one can have a much better dinner downtoan

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank walter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Demel for 2 nights while we travelled through Europe. Through our entire trip, I had the worst sleep those 2 nights. We had a room with two twin beds...they were horribly small (even for a twin!) and uncomfortable. I'm only 5'4 and my feet were hitting the end of the bed. The room was clean and the bathroom was huge (for European standards).... the front desk was very helpful ... the restaurant food was delicious (the potato pancake was great) ... BUT be very careful with the Taxi's. They will charge you quite a bit more than the front desk tells you it should be. Our driver on the way from the airport drove past the hotel twice before we had to tell him "that's it"...we think he knew, he just wanted to take us in the car a little longer to make a little extra cash.
All in all this was a decent choice for travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CelesteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We stayed at the Demel for 4 nights in May 2006. Although the hotel is not in the center of Krakow it is worth staying in it. It is situated in a nice neighbourhood very easy to reach by the excelent public transportation of Krakow. Only 10-15 minutes by tram from the center. The rooms are clean and not so small. The restaurant is very good and the buffet breakfast has a lot to offer. When next in Krakow we definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xpis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Krakow City West
5.7 mi away
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#103 of 264 in Krakow
157 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Swing
Hotel Swing
#121 of 264 in Krakow
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bona
Bona
#224 of 264 in Krakow
22 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Apis
Hotel Apis
#144 of 264 in Krakow
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vienna House Easy Cracow
Vienna House Easy Cracow
#110 of 264 in Krakow
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demel Hotel

Address: ul. Bartosza Glowackiego 22, Krakow 30-085, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 264 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £32 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Demel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Downtown 4-story Hotel located 4 km from Cracow train station & 10 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Demel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demel Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing