We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay!”
Review of Sympozjum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sympozjum Hotel
Ranked #127 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 25 December 2011

2nd time here in 2011!

As other reviewers have said, the tram into Krakow is 10mins down the road (walking slowly). This is just past the TESCO Hypermarket.

Front desk staff are very helpful, rooms are comfortable and clean. 1 english speaking channel on the tv which is BBC World News.

Tram ride to Krakow is 15mins.

Will definately be back in 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

hotel is a dstance from town and so it is farily quiet. Big Tesco opposite the hotel. Hotel area seems industrial like. Hotel room is big and the bathroom seems to have been newly refurbished although the rest of the room has not. Foldout bed is ok, not the best but not the worst either. Complimentary drinking water provided but tv channels quite limited. Hotel overall is quite dim and lack the cosy feel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Hotel is ok but nothing special. The room was clean. Everything in the hotel was fine. A nice room with well equipped bathroom suited me perfectly.I was pleased to have chosen that hotel but sleeping was impossible saturday night. The was a wedding in the resturant. We went to sleep at 4 am. It would have been nice if we was told that there would be some noise from the wedding.
The hotel is not in the historic center of Krakow. there is no WI FI in rooms, like it is mentioned on the Booking web. Very small parking. Swimming pool was also small. The restaurant was too expensive. So we didn't eat in the hotel but went to the city center where it was much cheaper

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The sympozjum Hotel is situated approximately 15 minutes from the town centre. On arrival, reception were very welcoming and willing to answer any questions in relation to local amenities and attractions in the area. They also provided free maps and guide booklets as well as information about popular tours and transport.
The rooms were exceptionally well maintained, clean and of a good standard. The decor/furniture was simple but well co-ordinated and beds were comfortable with cosy quilts. A free electronic safe was also based within the room.
The hotel had a spa/treatment room and offered 10% discount on all treatments. These are highly recommended.
There was a wide range of varied hot and cold foods on offer for breakfast which were of good quality.
Over all the hotel staff were polite, helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayline76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

had a fantastic holiday in Krakow. Had read many reviews regarding the hotel. some where helpful and some were not.

The hotel is VERY clean. Everybody was very friendly and helpful from arrival to departure. The staff are very kind and helpful and speak very good English. They were more than happy to assist when asking questions about shopping, travel and money. The room was very clean and very good size, bed and pillows were comfortable and no noise from the road, even though the room faced the road. Bathroom very clean and comfortable. There was also a heated towel rack which was useful if wanting to shower after using the pool.

The bar was small but very nice and the staff were fantastic, especially Marek. the drinks are reasonably priced, although be careful to check costs before ordering as some of the top shelf drinks are pricey compared to the UK ( 2 shots of remy martin XO costs approx £45) however, a single shot is 40ml in Poland, so u do get more for your money. Every detail is paid attention to, including steam cleaning the liquor glasses.

The restaurant was spacious for the size of the hotel and the food was beautiful. VERY reasonably priced, approx £45-50 for a 2 course meal and a drink for 2 people. The food is much better quality and standard than what you would get in the UK for the same price. Breakfast is filling but light, good selection of food for breakfast catering for all tastes.

The spa was lovely! very relaxed atmosphere. The pool is small, but still plenty of room to swim. Treatment prices are cheaper than you would expect to pay in the UK. ie: full body massage is a£35. BEWARE!!! they have 2 types of massage, Classical - which is more like a heavy sports massage, not the best idea if you are looking to relax. then they have Relaxing - which as the name suggests is much less pressure and focused more on relaxing.

As others have mentioned there is a HUGE 24 hour Tesco about a 5 min walk from the hotel. There is pretty much nothing you wont find from toiletries to british Ales in the alcohol aisle to car tyres!!! Prices are cheaper than UK for most items. There are also shops within the hypermarket outside of the tesco shop like pharmacy, watch shop, electronics shop, avon and deichmann's shoes to name a few (there is also a newsagent next to Deichmann's where you can buy tickets for the tram)

Across the road from the Tesco is a tram stop where you catch the 19 tram right into town. It is much cheaper than getting a taxi and takes around 20 mins. I've noticed a lot of peoples reviews mentioning that it wasnt easy, but i couldnt disagree more. Very simple ticket system and is very accessible from the hotel. You are dropped off at 3-4 stops that lead directly into the Rynek Glowny (Market Square) which is the best place to base yourself from.

As for the rest of Krakow, it is BEAUTFUL and the best way for you to understand it is just to go and see it yourself, you wont be disappointed :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NJ0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

i stayed in this hotel as part of a stop off trip to Krakow. having read about this hotel on the internet, and considering the price, i was expecting good things. However, the rooms are very boring plain and poorly fitted. very empty bar, whose staff was more bothered about their phones hiding round the corner than getting me a beer, they were also very rude upon service. I paid £119 for one night in this hotel and feel i could have got much better else where in the city. It is also located a good drive from the city, howeverthey did organise me a free taxi, which was considerate. If the price wasnt so high, then i would have rated it higher. This hotel is not worth more than £80 "400pln" per night let alone £119"495pln"!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iain t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. We got an excellent rate on Octopus. Pleasant, efficient reception staff. Our room was a good size. Clean, with double bed (+ 2 x single duvets) table, two chairs and TV - showing one English speaking channel - BBC World News! Good sized, excellent bathroom with lots of towels and soap dispensers. The bar/ restaurant is soul less - one very large room serving both. Drinks were very expensive ( for Poland). We ate in the restaurant one evening: the food was excellent although after the main course the waitress appeared to go out of her way to avoid eye contact so we were unable to order any more drink, dessert or coffee etc. Strange!!
The hotel is rated 4*- Afraid not. Maybe a good 3*. The Spa treatments are (again) very expensive - we have used the spas in other continental hotels but were put off here by the (what appeared to be ) limited treatments and the price. The swimming pool is actually no more than a plunge pool.
The hotel is situated in the suburbs - about 20 minutes by tram to the city centre. There is a large Tesco store to the left but if you cross the road after turning right out of the side entrance, there are numerous little shops including restaurants, cake shops, banks, kiosks (for your tram tickets) etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
4.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#131 of 261 in Krakow
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#105 of 261 in Krakow
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#112 of 261 in Krakow
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxy
Hotel Galaxy
#36 of 261 in Krakow
1,439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Qubus Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#45 of 261 in Krakow
1,649 reviews
4.9 mi away
Orient Hotel
Orient Hotel
#184 of 261 in Krakow
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sympozjum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sympozjum Hotel

Address: ul. Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#48 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#77 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £23 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sympozjum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sympozjum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sympozjum Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing