We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, functional, nice friendly staff”
Review of Sympozjum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sympozjum Hotel
Ranked #123 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great value, functional, nice friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A bit on the outskirts but only 10 minutes by £5 taxi or tram very close by too. No problem to find them either. Nice breakfast, nice dinner, okay room but clean. Very friendly staff. Can recommend it to any visitor to Krakow.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    250
    134
    39
    18
See reviews for
81
277
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sympozjum for 2 nights starting the 22nd Nov 2012 as a couple. The hotel really is fantastic...
Location is a bit out of town and as we were only there 2 days we didn't use the tram service as we wanted to get lots done in little time. You can get taxis from the huge tesco right across the road or the hotel will order you one. They cost between 20-25 Zlotys to the market square, it's always best to base yourself from here, plus there's a lovely bar here with heated outside heating which was fab were we paid £2.30 a pint! Amazing price for the location. Paying to get into the main city wasn't a problem for us at all it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle.
The rooms were nice and big and probably the comfiest bed I've ever slept in abroad. The hotel room had everything you could possibly need for the amount of time you'll be in it! Shower but no bath, again not a problem, body wash and shampoo, hair dryer, safe, shower cap and even a sewing kit all provided.
I wouldn't rate the food in the hotel, I do always like to try the local cuisine but if your not a fan of pork or fish the food isn't for you! Even putting salmon in spaghetti bolognese, yes they like their fish!
The hotel also offers fantastic excursion prices and again out of convenience we booked a day trip to Auschwitz with them including the entry fee, transportation to Auschwitz and back and a guide £25pp and it was worth every penny and more, it's 100% well worth doing.
We also did Oskar Schindlers factory which again was brill and cost 17 zlotys pp and 25 zlotys from market square and back.
Overall the hotel and Kraków is amazing and I would highly recommend! Don't hesitate to message me If you have any questions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakeandsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Easy tram ride to centre - once you have worked out the system. Hotel has good size rooms, well maintained although brochure guarantee of 'sheets changed daily' didn't happen. TV not working throughout hotel during the 5 days we stayed, and as it was time of USA elections found being cut off from the reporting frustrating. Had 2 hours of persistent nuisance telephone calls to room late one night, security guard resolved them, however, no acknowledgement or apology from management and a ruined night's sleep. English spoken at reception, but staff not particularly friendly. Dining room was different, staff accommodating and friendly, food there at night was excellent and well presented and prices compared favourably to those in a UK hotel. Buffet breakfast was varied and fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Breakfast was the usual buffet type which is standard in many hotels I have stayed in throughout Europe. Room was very clean and maid service every day.
Hotel is not in the centre but a 10 to 15 minute tram ride takes you to there. I would stay there again as I think it was very good value for the money.
We had a meal there when we arrived. The quality of the food was very good and compared to prices we paid in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Clean, comfortable and very friendly staff. Rooms are quite large and bathrooms are very modern. TV is from the 90's, no LCD's here. The walls bounce a bit when the person in the next room slams the door. You do need to catch a tram into the centre which takes about 15-20 mins. Breakfasts are good for continental. Overall good value for money and would recommend it if you don't mind the trip into the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stopped here on a groupon deal for three nights whilst we saw the sites of Krakow.
Only about 15 mins from the airport.
Checkin was quick , porter took our bags to the room which was spacious , quiet ,and clean .
We ate here one evening the food was very good as was breakfast which is a continental buffet affair.Taxi ride to the market square was 15 mins and cost £6 each way.
Great value would stay here again

Room Tip: Stayz restaurant in market square was brilliant....try the famous fish soup....half a bowl is plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woooodentop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The bus service to the hotel was about £1 each ,with one change(bus 292 then 194,two zones pass for one hour) ,the hotel seemed in the middle of nowhere but with the bonus of a huge tescos nearby , but it was only a few minutes from the centre by the trams outside the hotel.
We were given a room with really worn furniture and bedding ,we complained and the next room was fairly tired ,but much better.they dealt with the complaint immediately and i can say that the staff were polite and helpful ,with internet cable loans(free wired internet in rooms) and euro plugs too.we had only paid £200 each for the whole easyjet holiday including flights(and breakfast) for 3 nights and in reality we were happy with it as it was a good base.it has a small swimming pool and tepid jaccuzi. the staff booked a salt mine visit that i hadnt managed to book before we arrived ,and within hours of arriving we were on our way.I recommend visiting the salt mines yourself(much cheaper) and picking up the main tours by the sheraton in town ,to avoid an hour round trip picking up at other hotels.If you want a cheap hotel,this one will do(it claims to be 4 star!) it may have been once....

Room Tip: the area around has no views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#114 of 259 in Krakow
267 reviews
4.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#133 of 259 in Krakow
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#100 of 259 in Krakow
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Orient Hotel
Orient Hotel
#198 of 259 in Krakow
104 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
#161 of 259 in Krakow
242 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel System
Hotel System
#145 of 259 in Krakow
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sympozjum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sympozjum Hotel

Property: Sympozjum Hotel
Address: ul. Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#47 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#77 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sympozjum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sympozjum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sympozjum Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing