We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome in COLD Kracow!”
Review of Sympozjum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sympozjum Hotel
Ranked #132 of 265 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 11 December 2012

When we travel to any city, the ‘location’ of the hotel is often paramount. The location of the Sympozjum is NOT central to Kracow Old Town and this fact may put a lot of visitors off. If you are one that likes the idea of leaving our hotel for an hour or two and then pop back to your room for a break and then head back out again…then may I suggest that this hotel is not for you. However, if you, like me, are happy to leave your hotel in the morning (after a good breakfast) and then return in the evening after a long day, then the Hotel Sympozjum is fine.
The very efficient tram system (No 18 or 52) leave the stop just outside the hotel every 5 min or so and within 10min you are in the Old Town. Cost 3PLN
The hotel itself has a good team on Reception, that are very willing to give advice and information.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and even thought the décor may be a little dated (very brown!) they are more than adequate for your stay. The bathroom was again very clean with plenty of hot water from the shower. They call it a ‘bathroom’ but we were told that the hotel does not have any baths, so don’t be disappointed, you’ve been warned!
One small –ve point……if the hotel is working hard to welcoming guests from the UK, it would maybe be beneficial to have one TV news channel in English, just to keep in touch with the outside world!
Being on the outskirts of the town does have its benefits thought, there was little or no noise during the night, and so we both had a very good night’s sleep!
The breakfast was fine with a good selection, but again the breakfast room was rather ‘brown’!
The Hotel Sympozjum is a good hotel for visiting Kracow and you will leave, knowing that you’ve mastered the very efficient and excellent tram Polish system during your stay.
Many Thanks Hotel Sympozjum

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hafodybryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

I would reflect many of the comments by recent reviewers. This is a very well priced hotel. The rooms may be a little dated but are spotlessly clean. The bathrooms likewise. The staff are very friendly and efficient. I only ate breakfast in the hotel. There was a wide variety of cheese and cold meats etc. It was adequate but not brilliant. The hotel is a 20 minute tram ride from the old town - best option is a number 18 which takes you directly to the Old Town Square. A 72 hour ticket costs app. £6. Taxis are approximately £6 each way for the same journey. Tickets can be purchased at most stops - and dont forget to validate you ticket on the tram on your 1st trip as there are regular inspections by tram staff. I would recommend a City view room on the 4th floor. A large Tescos across the road is very handy. Wireless internet in Lobby - hard wired cable available FOC in reception for use in your room. I have used the Wentl hotel a number of times in the Old Town Square. Its app. £240 a night. Almost 5 times the price of the Sympozjum. "You pays your money and takes your choice" For me the Wentzl for special occassions but I will be returning to the Sympozjum.

Room Tip: City view 4th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Very warm and friendly greeting on arrival by lovely staff. Very quick check-in and escorted to our clean and spacious room. Large plate of fresh fruit brought to room very soon after arrival which was a nice touch. Our first trip to Poland so didn't know what to expect. Best described as a little dated, a bit 1970's but excellent service, very good facilities, very clean and best of all are the very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Only 12 mins on simple tram ride to the city's main market square which costs 3 Zloty ( 60p). Excellent, will happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not situated in the best location but easy tram ride into centre. The rooms were dated but comfortable and very clean and also quiet at night. There was a good choice at breakfast, had dinner in the restaurant on last night and food was tasty and well presented. Reception staff were welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theresamac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A bit on the outskirts but only 10 minutes by £5 taxi or tram very close by too. No problem to find them either. Nice breakfast, nice dinner, okay room but clean. Very friendly staff. Can recommend it to any visitor to Krakow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sympozjum for 2 nights starting the 22nd Nov 2012 as a couple. The hotel really is fantastic...
Location is a bit out of town and as we were only there 2 days we didn't use the tram service as we wanted to get lots done in little time. You can get taxis from the huge tesco right across the road or the hotel will order you one. They cost between 20-25 Zlotys to the market square, it's always best to base yourself from here, plus there's a lovely bar here with heated outside heating which was fab were we paid £2.30 a pint! Amazing price for the location. Paying to get into the main city wasn't a problem for us at all it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle.
The rooms were nice and big and probably the comfiest bed I've ever slept in abroad. The hotel room had everything you could possibly need for the amount of time you'll be in it! Shower but no bath, again not a problem, body wash and shampoo, hair dryer, safe, shower cap and even a sewing kit all provided.
I wouldn't rate the food in the hotel, I do always like to try the local cuisine but if your not a fan of pork or fish the food isn't for you! Even putting salmon in spaghetti bolognese, yes they like their fish!
The hotel also offers fantastic excursion prices and again out of convenience we booked a day trip to Auschwitz with them including the entry fee, transportation to Auschwitz and back and a guide £25pp and it was worth every penny and more, it's 100% well worth doing.
We also did Oskar Schindlers factory which again was brill and cost 17 zlotys pp and 25 zlotys from market square and back.
Overall the hotel and Kraków is amazing and I would highly recommend! Don't hesitate to message me If you have any questions.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakeandsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Easy tram ride to centre - once you have worked out the system. Hotel has good size rooms, well maintained although brochure guarantee of 'sheets changed daily' didn't happen. TV not working throughout hotel during the 5 days we stayed, and as it was time of USA elections found being cut off from the reporting frustrating. Had 2 hours of persistent nuisance telephone calls to room late one night, security guard resolved them, however, no acknowledgement or apology from management and a ruined night's sleep. English spoken at reception, but staff not particularly friendly. Dining room was different, staff accommodating and friendly, food there at night was excellent and well presented and prices compared favourably to those in a UK hotel. Buffet breakfast was varied and fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#107 of 265 in Krakow
304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Qubus Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#46 of 265 in Krakow
1,700 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#133 of 265 in Krakow
190 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel System
Hotel System
#165 of 265 in Krakow
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#112 of 265 in Krakow
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sympozjum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sympozjum Hotel

Address: ul. Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#51 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#77 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £27 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sympozjum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sympozjum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sympozjum Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing