We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 5 night stay in Krakow”
Review of Sympozjum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sympozjum Hotel
Ranked #112 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Heywood, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great 5 night stay in Krakow”
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Just recently got back from Krakow and the Hotel Sympozjum. I was a bit worried after reading someother reviews on the net. But the hotel was great. More like a four star hotel. Its a little out of Krakow but has great public transport links to the centre. Bus stop round the corner and take the 124 to the centre or a 5 min walk to the tram and you want the 19. Tram takes 10 mins and bus about 20. Trouble is public transport stops around 11pm so you need to get a taxi. At 1am it cost us £4. Lots to see and do. If you prefer a bit of an adventure don't go on organised trips. Never been to poland before but to go to auschwitz on a tour from hotel would cost 120zl pp. 240zl a couple. We both did it on the train from Krakow Glowny for 80zl all in. Spa are is very nice small pool but just enough for a paddle about and its 2m deep. I would not hesitate to go back to the hotel sympozjum.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat-n-bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    244
    132
    33
    17
See reviews for
77
270
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I used the Hotel several time in the past, due to good price. But this time I got a bonus! The Hotel finally has decided to get the 5th star away and become more of a business hotel. Main changes I've noted are: improvement of the quality of food ( maybe the new menu?) a dedicated executive floor. The SPA is still good, this time I've tried the Haman massage, I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Our family was flattered on the offer to spend New Year in five-stars hotel under enough low price. Basically all was good: both normal beds, and a substantial breakfast, and even pool from a jacuzzi. But it in any way did not pull on the declared highest status of hotel. Three or three with plus - here the present level of this hotel. Baths in a room are not present. Bed-clothes with holes (It, by the way, to us for 4 days so never also have not changed). The smell of a tobacco smoke from restaurant reached the uppermost floors. A set of television programs the small. In a room there was no device declared in the description for preparation of tea and coffee that has very much disappointed. For window opening it was necessary to ask a key from the cleaner. Etc. I repeat, all can be endured it, short of that you live in hotel of 5 stars.
But as a whole with the spouse and to the child it was pleasant to us.
The main thing - it is not necessary to mislead visitors of hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank meladaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Sympozjum and from the moment we arrived, we couldn't fault it. Our cases were taken in on a trolley and we were very well looked after during our stay. My bro lost a present he'd bought, and the reception staff phoned all the taxi businesses in the city for him! We ordered a champagne breakfast in our room on the sunday as it was my husband's 50th, and they decorated the breakfast trolley beautifully. Earlier comments from other people re the staff being surly were, in our experience, unfounded. We were told from a Krakowian tour guide that although Polish people do not smile as easily as some other races, it is not an indication of unfriendliness. When you think of what their country has been through, it's probably a learned behaviour, so as to hide their emotions. Anyway, the hotel is lovely, clean, staff very helpful, spa and pool spotless and atmospheric and the food and service,wonderful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevnTich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this Hotel. After reading some reviews posted prior to our arrival here we were a bit dubious. However, we found the Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much bother for them. The restaurant was first class with a good choice of meals. We had dinner there on one night of our stay and thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine and the service. (15% discount for hotel guests). Prices were a little higher than restaurants in the city, but still cheap compared to UK eating out prices. Swimming pool is free to all hotel guests, although small it was pleasantly adequate and includes use of the jaquzzi. Rooms are clean and well furnished.Overall great stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

The hotel was plain and in need of being redecorated and refurbished. It lacked any type of theme and was situated on the main route to a hospital. Every night we were woken by the sirens out side our window usually at about 4am. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and the pillows were flat, lumpy and small. We ended up going to Tesco’s across the road and buying pillows for £11 each. The buffet breakfast was uninteresting and luke warm. The coffee and tea were served out of a vacuum flask and on the last 2 days an urn. There was a toaster provided on one out of the 4 days we stayed. The best point about the hotel was that we found the staff friendly and helpful. We went on 3 tours organized from the hotel and they were excellent. Although the pickup at our hotel was 0830 hrs and we then had 1 hour to travel around the other hotels until we joined the main coach at the Hotel Orbis Cracovia. Taxis to the centre of the city cost between 20 and 30 Zloty (£4-6 STG) but after 10pm they went up to 45-50 Zloty (£9 - £10). The airport is a 15 minute drive by taxi and costs 90 - 100 Zloty (£18-£20 Stg). One of the most disappointing things about the hotel was that we booked it because of the Spa Pool and Hot Tub - the pool was closed during our stay due to technical problems and the hot tub was tucked away in a dark part of the cellar. The tub had very few jets and was small with poor lighting and offered no real atmosphere. One of the lifts was out of order (during our stay) and the other lift was used by both staff and guests. I do not think that the Star System is a good way to judge quality.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrieAnneBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

8 of us in three rooms, 2 single beds and 2 of the worst beds weve ever seen, both of which collapsed on the first night and had to be replaced by proper beds. Why didnt they put decent beds in in the first place?

Breakfast was typically eastern european.

We found the staff quite rude and unfriendly.

Krakow was fantastic, Sympozium wasnt.

  • Liked — Nothing really sticks out
  • Disliked — The rudeness of the staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheJoinersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
4.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#130 of 258 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxy
Hotel Galaxy
#34 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#110 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
#155 of 258 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#105 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Krakow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sympozjum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sympozjum Hotel

Property: Sympozjum Hotel
Address: ul. Kobierzynska 47, Krakow 30-363, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#25 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#47 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#77 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sympozjum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sympozjum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sympozjum Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing