We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Student home” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Studentcki Piast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Krakow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Studentcki Piast
Ranked #190 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Wakken, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Student home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A very cheap place, I think we paid 80 PLN for 2 days for 2 persons. So that's almost nothing. The downside is that it's a student home that seemed to be stuck in the mid 60s. There was a cafetaria for breakfast but we never saw nobody. The staff is friendly but they were not tourist-minded at all. We had to share the bathroom and the beds are all twin beds (maybe not the most convenient way to travel as a couple). It was next to a supermarked and close to a tramway which goes downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed 4 nights for approx. 220PL zloty at this student hostel in Krakow which is 30-40 mins walk from the centre of old town. Taxi price from the hostel to the downtown was 22PL zloty. There was no wireless network. Two rooms shared one bathroom, which was clean enough, towels were not changed during my 4-nights stay. Biedronka supermarket (you can't buy alcohol there) is next to the hostel with reasonable prices. The hostel has it's own bar open till 11 pm. The staff don't speak english/german well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Low cost hotel in students dormitory. Hotel rooms are seperated from dormitory. You can eat very cheap breakfast and lunch in students canteen. About 20 minutes to the Old town by tramp and walk. Hotel is located on the grand floor, dormitory is from the first floor to the top. In a building is a small pub for students. Near hotel you can find discount with good prices

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barteque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

For the price, you get an OK good deal. Two rooms are connected to one bathroom. The Hotel is not far from a bus stop (a 1 minute walk) and only a 10 minute walk away from the tram that zips you into downtown (a 10 minute tram ride). The Hotel was almost entirely full of students, but there were a couple families. The dinning hall on the first level of the hotel has delicious Polish food. Overall though, there are probably better places to stay closer to downtown with better rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philster7588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

I stayed in the Piast Hotel for about a month while in Krakow. I stayed in a double room by myself which was located on the first floor. The first floor has been recently been remodeled; while it is not anything special to write home about and while the walls are bleak, the rooms are very clean. The upper 7 floors have not been remodeled to my knowledge; however, I have been to multiple rooms on the upper floors and while they are not as new, they are still clean.

There is a bar downstairs, as well as chinese restaurant (pretty good, too), a Milk bar-esque cafeteria, a hair salon (solarium), bank, and ATM. Also, there are two major grocery stores within 5 minutes of the hotel. The Beidronka only takes cash and remember to bring extra change.

The staff at the hotel are some of the nicest people you will run into. They are extremely helpful and will do what they can to get any problems worked out for you. Even though it is a student hotel, anyone is welcomed there. And although many would think the combination of students and a bar would be a problem, there is 24 hour security so noise is never a problem. In fact, I saw many families staying there.

Piast is a good 30 minute walk from the center of Krakow. However, the walk is a good chance to explore some different restaurants, see the suburbs, and walk through some nice parks. I would highly recommend Piast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imcginnity11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#28 of 404 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Amber Hotel
#15 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Studentcki Piast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Studentcki Piast

Property: Hotel Studentcki Piast
Address: ul. Piastowska 47, Krakow 30-067, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Number of rooms: 333

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing