We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really uneven experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Krakow
Ranked #38 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights a couple of weeks ago. The first 3 nights were in a club room, and the last 2 in deluxe room. The club room was a far superior experience because of the views and the accoutrements of the room, such as down duvets (which were comfortable) and magnifying mirrors. The good: breakfast was great and you could eat different stuff every day, the view from the rooftop bar is fantastic, the rooms are a decent size. The club lounge is on a different floor from the room, which was less convenient than I would have liked. The bad: I ordered 2 beds and was initially offered a king (why ask on the order if you are going to ignore it?), you need to be specific about ordering the house wine (which was actually fine), we couldn't really sleep in the deluxe (interior) room because both the room and bedding were too hot.

I want to affirm what a lot of people have written about noise. In the club room we could clearly hear the neighbor's television but it did turn off just as I was about to call the front desk at midnight. When we changed rooms, we were given a room next to an ice machine that cycles on and off with a very loud hum. We initially didn't notice it (cycled off when we dropped our bags) but on our return I immediately went to request another room. The individual at the desk made like this was my problem until I told him to either move us or unplug the ice machine. He sent me back to the room to wait 20 minutes to determine what to do. It took over an hour to get back to us, finally moving us to the interior room. To reiterate what another writer said about the room next to the elevator, the hotel knew this room had a noise problem and shouldn't rent it out but certainly shouldn't give it to someone staying 5 nights! Another person in our party got an elevator room and complained about that as well.

Bottom line, this is a solid American business hotel but has rooms with noise issues. The staff is not particularly helpful, so stand your ground if you have issues. View was great, location was great, breakfast was great, pool was fine, wi-fi reliable, but rooms can be hot and noisy.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

2 nights over the weekend with friends. Stayed in a deluxe room and the service was great. The beds were amazing. Slept really well. Location is the best, smiling and friendly staff throughout and the hotel has a nice roof top terrace with great service. Will definitely book this hotel next time I am in Krakow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Four of us stayed at the hotel for three nights in April 2014 and were very impressed. The large atrium which houses the reception area, main restaurant and ground floor bar creates a wonderfully light and airy space. Our rooms were well appointed on the first floor and each had a very large, comfortable bed so we slept very well.

The hotel is very well situated, overlooking the river and being within easy walking distance of the beautiful town square and other places of interest. We had planned to eat out, however after sampling the food in the restaurant on the first night, we had dinner there on day 3 as well. The service was fantastic, everyone was polite, friendly and very helpful and the staff at reception were only too pleased to help plan a couple of visits we made during our stay. We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the roof terrace bar after each day out. We have taken many city breaks and, partly due our experience at this hotel, our visit to Krakow is in the top 5.

Room Tip: Our first floor side facing rooms were very comfortable and quiet but there wasn't much of a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was lovely,large, clean and very comfortable. It was a club room on the top floor with a beautiful view. Location is terrific. Reservation clerk was exceptional. Morning desk clerk was very good about explaining facilities and perks of club room. Buffet breakfast had nice international selection. Biggest negative was that I was on the wait list for a room for my third night. Evening clerks wouldn't help me find another hotel when a room was not available. I went across the street to the Kossak Hotel. They had no rooms, but they called 4 hotels to find one for me. Next time I'll stay there...

Room Tip: 4th floor with river or castle views are nice. Club features are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. The hotel is beaytiful. The surounding is beautiful. We had a club room which was great!
The staff is very nice and very helpful. You can take a bike and ride to the city or just along the river.
I would defenatly come again!

Room Tip: Get the club rooms. Beautiful river view. Great lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a good stay overall but the most important was noisy room and poor sleep as a result. Could hear things going on as if the other people were in my room. Location is great, it's clean and good service/ A little pricey for Poland but ??

Room Tip: try to get a quiet room but I do not know where. I had a room on third floor facing the interior Atr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonKrakow, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Lovely to read the words of appreciation towards our dedicated Team members and central location in the embraces of Wawel and river. Here at Sheraton Krakow we boast of the comfort of our rooms and beds – having Sweet Sleeper Bed as a perfect guard to your convenient night sleep…I feel very disappointed that you did not experience that, please accept our apologies.
I would appreciate if you could contact me directly next time you plans bring you back to Krakow, so that our Reservations Department (reservation.krakow@sheraton.com) can look into the room assignment so as to make sure you have perfect rest after long and exciting days spent in Krakow.

Best regards,

Angela Saliba
General Manager
Sheraton Krakow Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stay two days at the Sheraton Krakow hotel.
The hotel's an excellent location at the foot of the palace, and we got a room overlooking the amazing view of the palace and the river. (307)
The room is large, bright and comfortable.
Hotel staff friendly, welcoming and an excellent service. It should be noted the professional management of general manager Mrs. Angela Saliba (That's a few days after our departure, sent us a letter of thanks for our stay in the hotel) and to Mrs. Barbara Lubowiecka group&event manager, that was I guess, responsible for the hotel 10th anniversary celebration, that was during our stay, including a giant cake in form of a double bed,Placed in the lobby.
Breakfast is rich and delicious and served in good taste.
The roof-top bar overlooking the river and the city, giving pleasant and romantic atmosphere.
Town Square, the Jewish Quarter are within walking distance.
It should be noted the efficient service of transportation from the airport on arrival, and the ride to the train station the day of departure, including Antonio's personal escort up into the train car.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheratonKrakow, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Krakow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Rony,

We are so grateful for the rewarding comments and scores, could not thank you enough.
Receiving a praising opinion like yours from an experienced guest like yourself is really a quintessence of work and efforts of entire Sheraton Krakow Hotel Team & myself invested on a daily basis. How nice to see you were a part of our special celebration, indeed the 10th anniversarry of the hotel opening was a special moment – surely enhanced with the activities arranged in different hotel areas, bars, restaurants and impressive cake – in shape and original size of our Sweet Sleeper Bed- located right in the middle of the atrium and lifted by the balloons, glad you liked it.
Will surely share your wonderful feedback with Barbara who was actively participating in the Open Day event, I am sure she will be very pleased for being recognized by you.

There is nothing more for us to be desired than to welcome you again to Sheraton Krakow Hotel, gathering place on map of Krakow.

Best regards,

Angela Saliba
General Manager
Sheraton Krakow Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#49 of 262 in Krakow
517 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#45 of 262 in Krakow
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#43 of 262 in Krakow
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Krakow

Address: ul. Powisle 7, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Krakow
#5 Family Hotel in Krakow
#6 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £75 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Krakow 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Hotel located in the very heart of the city, at the foot of The Royal Wawel Castle & next to Wisla Bulevards. Sheraton Grand Krakow is steps from the most important tourist attractions in Krakow with easy access from the airport or railway station. Hotel offers 232 fully renovated guestrooms, 3 different venues with great variety of menus & beverages & one - the Roof Top Terrace & Lounge Bar - which despite the vast offer of exquisite drinks & unique menu offers the best views of Krakow. There are Club Lounge - the best place to plug in or hang out & Sheraton Fitness with indoor, heated pool, sauna & treatment room. Enrich your stay with Krakow's best view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Grand Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Krakow
Krakow Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing