We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Krakow
Ranked #36 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2008

I stayed here recently with my girlfriend and really enjoyed it. For a start the hotel's location is excellent, it's very close to everything and buses to day trip locations in general leave from the lobby. Despite what I read in other reviews the staff were helpful at all times and efficient without being over-friendly. The staff's English was flawless in general also. Our room was spacious and spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel pool/sauna/gym were to our liking.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank omegaman3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,041)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grand Krakow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2008

Hotel is in great location. Next to Wawel Castle by the river. Takes about ten minutes to walk to main square. Buffet breakfast excellent and staff very polite and helpful. You can be picked up directly from hotel by tour operators offering excursions to Auschwitz and Salt Mines etc. Although the excursions are very reasonably priced we decided to do them on our own. Trip to Auschwitz costs about £28 each if going on organised trip. It cost us £2.50 each. This is the cost of the bus fare from the main bus station that will take you directly there. (bus number D7) There is no entrance fee but a small charge if you want to see a flm about the liberation of the camp. You really need about 3-4 hours to see everything at Auschwitz and Birkenau. There is a shuttle bus to the 2nd camp. Salt mines were abit of a disappointment. A definate must is a city tour in an electric buggy. Eating out very cheap and many good restaurants located arond main square. We will definately return and will stay at the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Sophie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed at the Sheraton Krakow for 4 nights in the summer. We booked the holiday independently. Through Trip advisor we found a local taxi firm (bobtaxi.com.pl) who came recommended and booked our airport transfers and trips to Auschwitz and the Salt mine prior flying out. Bob the taxi owner and driver was also a great guide with good English. We would definitely use him again if we return to the area. Also if taking the camp trips through the hotels we had been told that the day is very long due to the amount of pick ups/drop offs from other hotels. With Bob we had our own personnal guide and driver at a reasonable rate. We picked the Sheraton due to its location on the river and for it being next to the castle. If you want to be closer to the main Square then the Raddisson is about 5 mins nearer. We booked a room with a castle view though this turned out to be a side view as with all the rooms on our side of the 4th floor so not really worth the extra cash but better than the rooms which look internally over the reception/restaurant and Cube bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel sports bar was a good place to relax with a drink after the days sightseeing. We had a couple of issues which were dealt with by the Hotel very promptly and professionally (Room not ready when we checked in - free drink in the bar while waiting for the room, The Fuse had blown one night in the room- fixed within 15mins and on check out some items from the bar had been charged to our account which were not ours - removed without question by the front desk staff). The Buffett breakfasts were the best we have ever received in any hotel throughout our travels across the world. Everything was available and fresh. We did not eat in the hotel restaurants at night but the menu looked inviting though we never saw it busy. The hotel has a fitness suite in the basement with seperate changing rooms for men and women. The saunas are also located in the changing rooms so we were unable to both sit together and chill out. The pool is small and freezing!!!! There are some tread mills and other training equipment available. Krakow itself is a beautiful City. The hotel is suituated about 15 minutes from the main square with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. The walk is pleasant passing through public parks which were part of the old town walls, and past Pope John Pauls residence when living in Krakow. There is plenty of information boards/photos around the area giving some good insight to his time and his life in Poland. We felt the area was as safe as anywhere we had been whether in the day or at night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LincolnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Just returned from 5 days at the Sheraton, great hotel, staff excellent. Visited Auchwitz and the Salt Mines both trips well worthwhile. . We loved Krakow and the Sheraton and would certainly return. We had a deluxe room overlooking the castle which was lovely, no complaints about anything in the hotel, loved it. Cup of hot chocolate in the Cube at night before retiring just made the end to a perfect day. Had dinner two nights in the Avanti Restaurant (Italian) which we got from one of the guide books, a fair walk from the hotel (but not too far about 15 minutes) a lovely restaurant with great food.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

I stayed here with my family on a family vacation. This is a wonderful hotel. It is right on the Wisla River. The Wawel Castle is next door. A true five star hotel. Maybe the best hotel in Poland.
It has a great vodka bar and nice restaurant for breakfast.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank Bones57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This is an excellent hotel. Built four years ago to high standards. It is now running smoothly with enthusiastic staff who speak good English.

The de luxe rooms on the front have good views of the Vistula and the castle. You cannot open the windows, but the air conditioning is good. Beds are very comfortable. Free internet is a nice touch, although prices are fairly high for Poland.

Food was surprisingly good for a chain hotel. Some of the Polish dishes, the local mushrooms in season, were very good and the wine choice reasonable for Poland.

Krakow is a beautiful city and the Sheraton very well placed to walk into the old town in a few minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ClydeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

From the minute we arrived we felt really welcome. Having the bathrobes on the bed was a lovely touch. While the hotel was expensive the staff and the service were beyond compare. The breakfast was really good and the sports bar (someplace else) was good craic. Brilliant location. No more than 15 minutes from anywhere. We would definitely recommend this hotel. The SPE Bar Manager should realise that screening the World Cup Qualifiers should include all the countries in Polands Group, not everyone is fixated on Englands progress, especially when you have in excess of 8 screens at your disposal. Other than that small criticism, this was one of the best City Breaks we have enjoyed in years.

Andrew & Carol McAllister
Dundonald
Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AMACNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#22 of 261 in Krakow
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#84 of 261 in Krakow
628 reviews
Hotel Stary
#55 of 261 in Krakow
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Krakow

Address: ul. Powisle 7, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Krakow
#9 Family Hotel in Krakow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £87 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Krakow 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Hotel located in the very heart of the city, at the foot of The Royal Wawel Castle & next to Wisla Bulevards. Sheraton Grand Krakow is steps from the most important tourist attractions in Krakow with easy access from the airport or railway station. Hotel offers 232 fully renovated guestrooms, 3 different venues with great variety of menus & beverages & one - the Roof Top Terrace & Lounge Bar - which despite the vast offer of exquisite drinks & unique menu offers the best views of Krakow. There are Club Lounge - the best place to plug in or hang out & Sheraton Fitness with indoor, heated pool, sauna & treatment room. Enrich your stay with Krakow's best view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Krakow
Krakow Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing