We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a good place to stay though pricey for Poland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Krakow
Ranked #40 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room was as good as any other Sheraton room around the world, as was the bathroom. We didn't get a room with a good view, but it didn't matter much. The hotel staff was helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast buffet was very good. Pity there was no access to the roof terrace (I was provided mysterious explanations for this) as there are some table and chairs up there and would have been a nice place to relax in the sun with a book. The location is ok. Although other hotels such as the Radisson are closer to the old town, the Sheraton is near the lake and the castle, which makes it just as appealing. We found that the walk to the old town was a very enjoyable 15 minute walk - ideal after indulging in copious amounts of polish dumplings for dinner! Overall, it was a very good experience, despite the fact that the price was a bit high for Poland. But if money is no problem, I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2006

beautiful ,beautiful hotel. it is in a wonderful area right next to wawel and in front of the river where there is very pleasant promenade and bike track which goes up to kazimierz shopping mall. rooms are amazing. breakfast are plentiful and superb. the only problems i had were being seated in a smoking area but i was swiftly moved and appologised to even though they were very busy.I was a little disappointed with the conceirge as I was travelling alone and requested a concert or opera or something to do on the saturday night. -she suggested the chopin concert, failed to get back to me on the opera and forgot to mention the miss world gala dinner and fireworks display which took place on sat with some of the delegates staying in the hotel . Also when I took calls in my room i could here the background of the dining room from the reception.Otherwise everyone was extremely helpful and spoke near perfect english. I would definitely stay here again . it is expensive but i still think worth it.Krakow is a very safe and friendly city you will have no problems .And Sheraton is in a beautiful place

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hercuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We had a nice sized room, average sized bath, and GREAT view of the river. The large bottle of water every day was much appreciated. Our rate included the breakfast buffet which was very nice.

The hotel is right next to the castle and the river, but that puts it a 15 - 20 minute fast walk to the market square around which the other sites and restaurants are located.

The hotel arranged a car and driver for a day to Auschwitz which made it quite comfortable.

The pool and fitness room were enjoyed by our 22 and 14 year old children.

Several outstanding restaurants at very reasonable prices were the highlight of our stay. We ate great meals both lunch and dinner:
-- For traditional local flavor try Pod Aniolami (94 euro for three courses for four people.)
-- For great Italian food try Leonardo (110 euro for three courses, plus a great red wine for four people).
-- For a "fine dining" Italian meal, try Hotel Pod Roza (136 euro for three courses for four people, plus a super red wine).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank msanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

Stayed 1 night at the hotel as a last minute emergency after a terrible hotel experience in Zakopane Poland.
Paid E195 for the night which included buffet breakfast.
Hotel is located next to Wawel Castle thus location is prime.
It is however a good 30 minute walk to the central train/bus station.
Rooms were clean and service was impeccible.
Noticed many old age tour groups use this hotel.
Buffet breakfast was incredible!
Would stay here again but it is an expensive option in Krakow.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wfejk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

This was without a doubt the best hotel we stayed at during out trip to Europe. We had the hotel car service pick us up from the airport for about 25 dollars. The hotel was beautiful and clean. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was amazing. I would hightly recommend this hotel to anyone. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iluvlida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Krakow. We spent the last few nights of our trip in the Sheraton Hotel. Upon arrival the tone of the hotel was set by the cold welcome provided by the receptionist who appeared more enthusiastic in asking us to sign up for a loyalty card than anything else. She promptly sent us to our room which turned out to be a twin, eventhough she confirmed that we had booked a "king size" when we arrived. On pointing out this error I was shocked to hear the receptionist contradict herself by telling me that I had requested a twin room! After a lengthy wait while she went off to speak to her manager she returned to tell me that on this occasion she would try to accommodate us in a "king size" double. Our second room did turn out to be a double but was a smoking room, we had clearly requested a no smoking room. However tired and unimpressed by the manner in which their first error was dealt with we settled for this room which was comfortable but not what we had expected.
During our stay we found the staff in general to be frosty when compared to the warm Polish welcome we received in other hotels during our trip.
The Sheraton was aesthetically pleasing but had little other qualities that would tempt us to make a return trip. The swimming pool was very small and overcrowded, the atrium roof leaked water while we had breakfast, and the hotel bar was extremely overpriced.

6  Thank TeBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

This is a newish hotel right by the river and the castle. Staff are very friendly and helpful even if one guy did not know we needed to pay our parking fee before we left the car park and we blocked everyone else in whilst it got sorted. Secure car park garage is a plus. The huge atrium floods the public area with light and this is where breakfast and meals are served under umbrellas to give a bit of privacy. There is a large no smoking area too. Food in the evening was surprisingly good- try the veal liver starter! Italian with a Polish twist and breakfast was plentiful and varied.
Our room overlooked other parking at the back as well as the Castle but was a good size and with a well equipped bathroom including washing line, iron and ironing board which you don’t always get in 5*. Plenty of wardrobe space and comfy beds though the aircon was a bit loud (ear plugs sorted that). Free web access too.
The fitness centre is well equipped and there is a small swimming pool for exercise. I preferred to get a massage! Best deep tissue massage I have ever had and only 135 zloty
We did a couple of less usual things in Krakow- visited the Aircraft museum on Jana Pawla II full of Migs and other mysteries from our post-war childhoods about 6 miles away by car or you could go on a tram! Also having seen their kitsch Trabant advertising it in the street nearby the hotel booked us a Communist tour with Crazy guide which was fascinating. My DK guide book did not turn out to be very reliable for opening times and if you want to see the Castle it seems like you need to book unless you are on a guided tour.

3  Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#22 of 261 in Krakow
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,646 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#46 of 261 in Krakow
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Krakow

Address: ul. Powisle 7, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Krakow
#9 Family Hotel in Krakow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#22 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £81 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Krakow 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Hotel located in the very heart of the city, at the foot of The Royal Wawel Castle & next to Wisla Bulevards. Sheraton Grand Krakow is steps from the most important tourist attractions in Krakow with easy access from the airport or railway station. Hotel offers 232 fully renovated guestrooms, 3 different venues with great variety of menus & beverages & one - the Roof Top Terrace & Lounge Bar - which despite the vast offer of exquisite drinks & unique menu offers the best views of Krakow. There are Club Lounge - the best place to plug in or hang out & Sheraton Fitness with indoor, heated pool, sauna & treatment room. Enrich your stay with Krakow's best view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Krakow
Krakow Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing