We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable hospitality and very tasty food!”

Restauracja Ziemianska
Ranked #1,212 of 1,520 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ziemianska Restaurant is a place, where you can enjoy real polish cuisine. Located in a heart of old Jewish quarter - Kazimierz, will provide you an unforgettable experience. Beautiful summer garden is the best place to relax after long sight seeing.Taste our great dishes, desserts, and colorful cocktails. Ziemianska. Don't miss us.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unbelievable hospitality and very tasty food!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have never encountered such fantastic service from any restaurant.
Before we set off to Krakow I emailed them to ask if they still had Sorrel Soup on their menu. They said not but would be happy to make it for us. When we arrived for lunch a couple of months on I was doubtful that they would remember my request but there it was and very, very tasty it was too. (Apparently the chef had been very worried that we would be disappointed)!
We ate in a pleasant, peaceful garden and our server was incredibly friendly and caring of our needs. We shared a portion of potato pancakes with goulash for our second course and they were beautifully presented (under a cloche) and tasted divine.
Would go again in a heartbeat!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

As commented previosuly defintely the best meal of our holiday. We ate here on our first night as it was just around the corner from Hotel David where we were staying. I was determined to eat typical polish cuisine and that is what we got. While we waited for our first course we were given a pot of what seemed like 'lard' with dried plums in and olive bread to put it on. The waitress was very helpful in her explanation and also explained everything we asked about on the menu to us. I had herring (6) in sour cream and my husband Chicken liver in brandy saude with dried plums. Followed by Maczonka Krawokska (Chucksteak in wine, onion and bread) and Pork chop (which is in fact a pork escalope in Poland). Dessert was Poached pear in red wine with home made earl grey ice cream and traditional apple strudel with caramel sauce. All the food was beautifully presented and serve with a smile. The total bill with drinks was 154 zl (approx £35). I was so full I thought I would never manage a 3 course meal again - but I did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Not the cheapest meal of our trip, but undoubtedly the best. A warm welcome awaits visitors and a good menu provides plenty of choice for local dishes. We tried the soups and had a selection of mains, all of which were exceptionally well cooked and presented. Sides of Bread and dripping, and a local Vodka combined to make this a memorable experience. Four of us ate very well for 160 PLN.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BBCEM2DAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Restaurant to go”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We spent more dinners in the restaurant. People are very friendly, music is always soft and food is great. Not expansive. Service is quick and you'll have a good impression of the local.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonaparis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Got to love this place”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

i wouldn't even think twice, next time i'll be in Poland, definitely coming back to this place, you surrounded by so much history in those old district of Kraków but at same time you have got so many young people and access to all best places and "that" restaurant in the very middle of it, just the right place to have break from site seeing, sit down out site and get some nice drink served by this nice bartender name Bartek , he new so much about the place and other sites of town, so not even that you can have drink and amazing served and tasted food but also free guide by the staff of the restaurant... i'm coming back there for sure

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restauracja Ziemianska also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Restauracja Ziemianska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing