We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Domus Mater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Domus Mater
Ranked #107 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I went to Poland to see Eric Clapton who was playing is Auschwitz (Oscwiecim) and booked this at the last moment based on reviews on Trip Advisor. I'm really glad I did so. Although it's a little way outside town, it's no trouble to get into the centre within 10 mins. This is an ex Monastery and there are plenty of reminders that this is so with a chapel, picture gallery of religious artifacts and regular sightings of priests in the hotel. Saying that, at no time was religion hoisted on me, for which I'm glad. The reception is small but staffed by the most helpful young guys and girls, who did their upmost to help me with routes, directions and general information. The hallways leading up to the rooms are spotless and the the rooms themselves, although not large, are more than adequete. I was travelling alone so my room had twin single beds-I wonder if all the other rooms did as well? The bed was firm-could have been a bit thicker and supportive but no real quibble. There was a desk and bottled water was supplied every day-although there was no fridge-a thing I think they should look into. The shower was magnificent and all in all I thought it was great value. Breakfasts were typical buffet but had a very large range of things from cereals to herring to ham,plus various breads etc - all great European fare. This is a quiet family hotel and overall this was a lovely place to stay at (with very nice gardens, BTW) and I'd certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Useful tip: to get into town costs about £5 each eway by taxi-but if you come out of the hotel, turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    19
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
36
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everything was perfect!! Rooms were so clean and confortable, the food was really good and tasty. The dinning room and chapel very cozy.
Thank you for all your warm and close service.
I hope come back soon as possible.
My best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RafaSSMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hornchurch,essex
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you want a hotel in the centre of the action that's full of life and with Sky TV, this is not for you. If, on the other hand, you want a quiet hotel with beautiful gardens where you can relax, this place is ideal. It is away from the city centre, about 20 minutes by tram. Trams are however frequent and cheap. The rooms are modern and clean. The Staff are very helpful, despite some having a limited knowledge of English ( the hotel is not really geared towards English speakers, for example, all of the TV channels are Polish).
It is affiliated to a religious order, so there are religious photos and paintings on the walls. The food is excellent, with a good variety at breakfast. We also had two evening meals, which were also good and cheap. There is free Wi-Fi and computer use. Yes, the hotel is different from your usual holiday hotel, but we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnofhornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms are very nice and clean, bit small tough. The hotel is elegant and staff is very kind and helpful. I was surprised after we checked in when they told us they don't have any double bed rooms, only twins. The hotel didn't seem to be booked out. And there was no fridge in the room either. I'm not sure if we only had bad luck with the room or all of them are like that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikto201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The house is perfect, very nicely arranged with very good taste. Especially the stages with the sofas, and the chapel. The service was very well done, all very clean and good looking, and the kindness of the people working here was delightful, as well as their flexibility and availability.
The only little thing I would say is that for supper I would have appreciated something more variated and with more fruit and vegetables. But for lunch and breakfast it was all fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander_Pawlowski, Dyrektor generalny at Domus Mater, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Dear Marie. Thank you for sharing your time to write so comprehensive feedback. I hope that for your next stay in Cracow you will also choose Domus Mater. With best regards Włodzimierz Płatek General Manager Domus Mater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our family (two adults + one year old baby) were in Domus Mater for 3 nights. Staff was very kind and helpful. The standard was that we have parking place in areal of hotel, comfortable room, nice and clean hotel spaces of halls or hotel restaurant, access to the hotel garden. Our baby enjoyed that garden near hotel and of course, playing on the carpet on the room. Although the location of the hotel is not in the center of town, there is tram stop 5-7 minutes on foot from hotel. Then it takes about 15 minutes by tram to reach city center. The nights on room were silent and good for sleeping with baby. If you wish to have time for prayer or be in silence with yourself you can enter and stay in the chaple which is straight in the hotel. For all above mentioned we recommend Domus Mater for family-staying in Cracow.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander_Pawlowski, Dyrektor generalny at Domus Mater, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Dear Marian. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Domus Mater with us. It is real pleasure to read your positive comments. We are very glad that we fulfilled your expectations and you are happy with the level of service which we provide to you. Thank you for your tips! We look forward to welcoming you back should your travel bring you back to Cracow and Domus Mater. Best regards Włodzimierz Płatek General Manager Domus Mater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Staff at front desk and breakfast staff were very kind, pleasant, accomodating. My husband (we are from US) wanted toast for breakfast, and the young man found a toaster for him! The hotel was very clean, quiet, comfortable and peaceful, rooms very nice. Great parking if you have a car, which we did. Breakfast selections were varied and tasty! A very nice and affordable place to stay in Krakow!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksander_Pawlowski, Dyrektor generalny at Domus Mater, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Dear Sandra, First of all I want to thank you very much for finding time to share with us your opinion about Domus Mater in Cracow. You really made our day placing such a nice comment regarding our house. We always try to be the best with our service! We hope to embrace the opportunity to welcome you back many times more in Domus Mater in Cracow. Best regards Włodzimierz Płatek General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#112 of 260 in Krakow
272 reviews
Stare Podórze
Aparthotel Adler
Aparthotel Adler
#146 of 260 in Krakow
61 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#98 of 260 in Krakow
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#70 of 260 in Krakow
414 reviews
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel
Yarden Aparthotel
#53 of 260 in Krakow
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Mater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Mater

Property: Domus Mater
Address: ul. Saska 2C, Krakow 30-715, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Mater 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Domus Mater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing