We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Ranked #59 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel with character”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here in May as part of a tour in Poland. We found the location ideal & although other people have complained about the size of the bedrooms we didn't find this too much of a problem.
The Staff were very helpful & accommodating - willing to go that extra mile.
Food in the Hotel was good - maybe not as good as some of the bigger more grand chains but it had more of a character feel to it, which we liked.
There is a nice lounge area to have a drink before or after dinner & very conveniently located to the main square where there are many restaurants.
If we return to Krakow we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKrakowCityCenter, Kierownik recepcji at Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for pointing out our convenient location, helpful staff, nice lounge area and food with the character in the Tulip Restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Agnieszka Klimas
Front Office Manager
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    232
    69
    18
    11
See reviews for
72
284
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely city break in the Golden Tulip, which is just outside the pedestrian area in Krakow. It is a five minute walk to St. Mary's church.

The room we had was very well appointed, modern and spotlessly clean. Not the biggest hotel room but sufficient after a day walking around. Didn't use the bar or restaurant but the breakfast was beautiful - traditional Polish continental with lots of choice.

Just to note, in the room, there was no tea or coffee making facilities. The small safe was free. Ease to use wifi and computers by reception - we could also print our boarding passes for our return flight.

We used the hotel to arrange a trip to the salt mines, which was done well, but the highlight was 2 three hour free walking tours by the St Mary's church. Just google them for times. Worth visiting the castle and the fire breathing dragon by the river.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergei_Meekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKrakowCityCenter, Kierownik recepcji at Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay.

We are happy that you had enjoyed your city break in Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel and that you found so many pros of our hotel like spotlessly clean rooms and traditional Polish continental breakfast with lots of choice.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Agnieszka Klimas
Front Office Manager
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a very central for a weeks tourist stay. We came by coach so can't comment on the amount of car parking but the only negative comment on the whole hotel experience for us would be a complete lack of drawer space in the room, and a very limited amount of shelf space. The staff said this was how the architect designed the room which re-inforces my view that all architects should be made to live in the buildings they create. The meals are very good, very reasonably priced and very well done. The menu is not excessively long but suffices for a short stay. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKrakowCityCenter, Kierownik recepcji at Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Let me thank you for your feedback and for pointing out helpful staff and tasty, reasonably priced meals in the Tulip Restaurant.

We will use your comments about the drawer and shelf space in the room to make the improvements in our hotel.

We look forward for your next stay in Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel.

Yours faithfully ,
Agnieszka Klimas
Front Office Manager
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Golden Tulip for 3 nights it is in an ideal location for the old town and square couldn't fault it. The staff were very helpful especially the evening barman who looked after us very well - prices of drinks and food were also very reasonable which surprised us for a city hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone doing a short city break and would recommend using Escape2Poland for your tours and airport transfers. They were very efficient and you can book them online before you go.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKrakowCityCenter, Kierownik recepcji at Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review and for recommendation of Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel to the other travelers.

It is a great pleasure to read that we met your expectations.

We look forward for your next stay.

Best regards,
Agnieszka Klimas
Front Office Manager
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Whilst agreeing with other reviewers regarding lack of overall space within the hotel's public areas, for a short stay we found this hotel ideal. Yes, our room lacked storage space but we spent so little time there due to our busy schedule that it was not an issue. We found the hotel to be clean & comfortable and all the staff extremely welcoming. Prices for both food and drink were reasonable and there was a very good breakfast buffet each morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theboss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKrakowCityCenter, Kierownik recepcji at Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your opinion, especially for your kind words regarding the reception staff and breakfast buffet.

We are happy you found Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel ideal for your stay.

See you next time in Cracow.

Kind regards,
Agnieszka Klimas
Front Office Manager
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at The Golden Tulip Hotel, Krakow for 3 nights at the end of March. We found it to be very central, reception people very knowledgeable extremely helpful. We ate at the restaurant all three nights because it had a really good menu, good prices and well presented and above all cooked to perfection. The fillet steak is a must! We will definitely being returning to this hotel and to Krakow - we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKrakowCityCenter, Kierownik recepcji at Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Madam,

How fantastic to see your posting on Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel- thank you!

We appreciate your kind words, especially regarding the Reception staff and the Tulip Restaurant.

With pleasure I shared your feedback with the entire Team here.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Agnieszka Klimas
Front Office Manager
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed with my wife for 4 nights in May on a 10 day tour of Poland with Titan Travel. Titan is noted for it's usual good choice in quality accommodation but this time they got it wrong.
The Golden Tulip is well-located for the Old Town in a quiet side street. It is a conversion of two town houses completed 11 months ago but some of the glazed roofing leaks. confusingly there are two separate buildings seemingly accessed by only one lift for guests and all hotel services. The staff are young friendly and willing but the claim of being a four star establishment is dubious. Room 412, like all other rooms had only a single narrow wardrobe, no drawer nor cupboard. Thus our room began to resemble a teenager's bedroom with clothes, shoes, paperwork and possessions spilling out of suitcases and over the floor. The stated double bed was two singles pushed together with two covers. Krakow is a truly fantastic city and long wet walks around it's large and ancient centre would have been eased by a bath but there was only a shower and again no space for washbags etc. Indeed there were no toiletries ,flannels or tissues in the tiny washroom. A room suited only to an overnight guest with a small overnight bag. The advertising strapline of Golden Tulip is "International standards, local flavours" a contradiction confirmed by the absence of any English-speaking news channel on the television. Many groups seemed to use this hotel but the narrow street outside sometimes means coaches have to discharge their passengers and even luggage some way up the street. No big deal until the rain buckets down. The tiny lobby is also unsuited to the group trade. Krakow is a fantastic city and deserves a stay of several nights but best spent in another hotel than the Golden Tulip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bridboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTKrakowCityCenter, Kierownik recepcji at Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay.

We are happy you enjoyed your visit in Cracow in general.

I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have experienced. Please accept our apologies.

Your comments were shared with the relevant departments, were investigated and we will make improvements.

I hope you will decide to give our hotel one more chance.

Kind regards,
Agnieszka Klimas
Front Office Manager
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Amber Design
#41 of 259 in Krakow
283 reviews
Stare Miasto
Kossak Hotel
Kossak Hotel
#19 of 259 in Krakow
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
andel’s by Vienna House Cracow
Kleparz
PURO Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Address: ul. Lobzowska 8, Krakow 31-140, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing