We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it's number 1 status” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth it's number 1 status”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the side street location, this hotels interior and service certainly makes up for it. Rooms are big, modern and comfortable. No bath in my room but a shower which wasn't an issue. Mini supermarket across the street. There is a little noise but it's a city centre not the countryside, if you are a light sleeper then ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Situated just on the outskirts of the old town (10 min walk) and even closer to the Jewish centre of Kazimierz where the best eateries are, the hotel does have a fabulous restaurant attached with a 15% discount for guests. I priced up eating in the old square which is worth it once for the experience but other than that I ate in Kazimierz, the value for money and the quality of food was outstanding. Taxi from airport was 89 zloty, the train is out of action for a track upgrade until 2015 so taxi is the best option, bus takes far too long in my eyes. What ever you do, if you can't get your zloty in the uk then don't get them on arrival at Krakow airport, it's a right old rip off. Head for the kantor exchanges in the city but use the ones away from the main square as their rates tend to be much better. Shop around for your tours, there's plenty of operators and both visits to auschwitz and the salt mine are a must. I got a 48 hour tram ticket which came in handy for moving around the city, but make sure you stamp it in the ticket machine as soon as you board the tram for the first time. The ticket inspectors are in plain clothes and they will fine you if you haven't stamped (even if you've bought a ticket). All in all a brilliant city and hotel and can't wait to visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    247
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
290
977
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights hotel could not have been better. Staff couldn't do enough for you even working all hours of the day they had a smile. Modern furnishings and very clean as well. Breakfast was always fresh we ate at different times each day and was constantly being topped up. We booked at trip to auschwitz got picked up and dropped off at hotel only cost around £40 for everything very reasonable. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatherhc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere close to the center of Krakow and went for the Metropolitan Hotel and what a great choice it was!

Great location / Really clean (newly renovated) / Nice staff / Lovely rooms (beds was lush).

We have really fond memories of Poland and ALL the people we met was so nice, so will be returning (beer is quite cheap, tastes good but quite strong 5.6%) and airport is so near.

We booked our tours online from the UK and the service / pick up times were faultless.
- KrakowShuttle - Saltmine Tour (dont miss this, its beautiful)
- Auschwitz-Tours.com - museum visit (this is very profound, a must)

Food - one night we went to Hard Rock cafe in main square - great food
Lizard Lounge - great for live music, get a flyer off a tout and its free entry

Note; Main square in the old town, this is huge and a sight to see with all the lovely churches, stall, bars etc. But take & care and note the way you came into the square!.As once in and after a few bars / meal / wandering around, you come out and all roads leading out look the same, so try and remember a shop on the corner of your road (we walked everywhere and never bothered with taxis, felt safe).

Room Tip: the company we booked with asked for a superior room and we got one, no extra cost :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-huggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful, recommending external restaurants which were brilliant. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well maintained. The food at the restaurant was delicious with a piano player to add to the ambiance. We booked a tour of Auschwitz and the salt mines separately to the hotel and would recommend people arrange it with the hotel as there won't be much difference except it was cheaper through the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is superb, a great location on the edge of the Jewish quarter. A party of 6 we arrived early in the morning and were allowed to check into one of the rooms immediately. The hotel is within walking distance of the main tourist areas and 5 minutes from the bars & restaurants of the Jewish quarter. A lovely bar area reasonably priced, we didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was extensive and great quality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior double - lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. Have to say we were really impressed by the cleanliness, the simple elegant design and the very helpful staff. We arrived early, and our room was not quite ready, however the reception staff took our bags, gave us a map and pointed out the best way to get to the sights. We spent a wonderful afternoon in the spring sunshine, wandering around the old town and then we made our way to the Wawel palace complex. The hotel is located very close to the Jewish area, but it was an easy 10 minute walk to the old town. It's also convenient for Schindler's factory, again another 10 minutes walk away.

We had asked for a quiet room away from traffic, and we were given a room on the first floor overlooking the little courtyard. The room was a good size, and well appointed. There's a safe for valuables, and a little fridge (you can stock this yourself with purchases from the supermarket across the road!) The bathroom was modern, and the shower was pretty good. The toiletries supplied were lovely. Breakfast was standard European fare, good selection and I can recommend the smoked cheese :-)

My tip would be to try the hotel restaurant Fab Fusion, guests get a 15% discount on food prices which are already reasonable. We didn't eat here until our final night, but wish we'd tried it sooner! Really good choice of food, the waiting staff are helpful and happy to suggest dishes for you to try.

To sum up our stay, we were really impressed by this hotel. It was comfortable, convenient, quietly luxurious with lovely, unobtrusive staff - a good choice as a base to explore Krakow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sadbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

After reading the glowing reviews of this hotel we booked four nights.Although the hotel is just fine there is one problem,NOISE! Just a few reviewers have mentioned this,perhaps the rest are heavy sleepers.The constant slamming of guest bedroom doors really spoilt our stay. This needs to be addressed urgently. Also soundproofing in the room leaves a lot to be desired,hearing next doors tv blaring out and raised voices did not help,maybe we were just unlucky.For the above reasons we will not be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#30 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Boutique Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Address: ul. Berka Joselewicza 19, Krakow 31-031, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel is established in a newly renovated 19th century building, perfectly placed between the Old Town Square and the trendy area of Kazimierz. It is ideally located away from the noise, yet only minutes walk from the city’s main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Metropolitan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing