We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was expecting something better than "very nice" from all the positive reviews. I have no criticisms: location is good, on a quiet side street, easy walk to the major tourist sites. There are many good restaurants a short walk away, and the hotel's restaurant is quite good. Breakfast was excellent. My room was surprisingly large, comfortable, and pleasantly furnished. The gym was beautiful, and though very small it had a lot of equipment. It is a reasonable size gym for a small hotel, but there were 3 of us in there at once and it felt very crowded.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Metropolitan for four nights in early June 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. First impressions, formed while turning down a dead-end and somewhat dilapidated street, did not inspire confidence; however, this feeling was immediately dispelled after pulling up in front of the Metropolitan, bright shiny and new, being greeted by it’s marvelous, charming and thoroughly professional staff and being ushered into a lovely and comfortable room. It should be noted that the Metropolitan is a new hotel, spotless inside and out and stands in stark contrast to its neighbors. That being stated, there is a small supermarket and ATM immediately across the street that those who may have, as was our case, been traveling through Europe for several weeks. Additionally, a short walk from the Metropolitan is a full or self-service laundromat...your choice. Having just spent several nights at the Hilton (castle) in Budapest, which frankly was more of a business hotel, not necessarily warm and inviting where, counting perhaps on business funded budgets, you were “nickeled and dimed…or more appropriately dollared” for every consideration, the Metropolitan was a wonderful change. A lovely and expansive buffet breakfast was included every morning and the restaurant, which we used for dinner once, was quite good. The Metropolitan’s location couldn’t have been more ideal. First of all, it’s located directly adjacent to the Jewish Quarter, which may best be described as the more happening Bohemian area of Krakow, replete with cafés and fun bars; secondly, it’s a short and easy stroll, less than 10 -15 minutes for the conditioned city walker to Krakow’s historic main square, which is a bustle of activity that goes on well into the summer evenings all through the week. As a consequence, while happy to enjoy the sights and the bustle of the main square, we were glad to escape the hordes of tourists there and make our way back to the tranquil repose of the Metropolitan each evening. Value, location, the pleasant and professional demeanor of their staff and the high quality of the accommodations make it easy to recommend the Metropolitan as a great place to stay while visiting Krakow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is modern, fresh and immaculate. The rooms are spacious and provide everything you would need for a short break. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. The breakfast food......well my eyes lit up and my mouth wide open. There was so much choice I was walking up and down alongside the counter deliberating what to eat, fresh fruit, salads, meats, a variety of bread and of course the traditional English. All beautifully presented. Makes my homemade porridge look very uninviting!!
The evening meal was delicious as well.
The hotel is positioned central to the attractions and off the main road but don't be put off by the other adjoining and adjacent buildings, tatty and covered in grafitti.as were most buildings in Krakow.
We had a slight problem with our room in that builders were working in the building next to the hotel creating quite a din at 7.00 in the morning. It was our last morning that bothered us as we didn't have to get up early. After a quick word with reception the manager immediately gave us an apartment for the night over the other side of the hotel. It was quiet and gave us the lie in we needed. On the whole I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms at front of hotel e.g 106 are closer to main road and the trams can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachariusdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were visiting family in Krakow and this hotel was just a block away from their flat, which made it very convenient. It's a lovely hotel with every possible amenity including a restaurant, bar and wi-fi. The breakfast was amazing - far exceeded our expectations. Probably our favorite part of the hotel was the enclosed courtyard. We sat out there with our coffee and a book in the morning, or sometimes at night after coming back from a lovely dinner and walk. The staff is so attentive, friendly and accommodating. There is also a very large grocery store right across the street and a refrigerator in the room which made it easy to get whatever we needed or wanted and to have some place to keep things cold. We will definitely stay there again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Our room had windows that opened on to the courtyard. It was nice to have windows that actually open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 fabulous nights in this gorgeous hotel.It is still new but everything runs very smoothly ,as if they have been around for years.Our luxurious room was a haven from the incessant rain (which normally spoils a trip)but on this occasion we didn't mind at all! I have to single out two staff members for their professionalism...Marcin in reception and Joanna in the restaurant.They tipped the hotel into '5-star' for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Beautiful hotel in central krakow. Our bedroom was very spacious, clean, and had everything we needed (even a great view,!)
The staff were very polite and accommodating. The breakfast is included and offered a large variety of goodies. Make sure you sit in the garden next to the restaurant, great sit down with your breakfast. Free wifi but parking is extra cost.
Lovely experience at this hotel; highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki_664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Metropolitan hotel is excellent. From enquiring through email, booking and our stay there, the staff were attentive and always ready to help. The hotel is about 10 minute walk from the Main Square and 5 minute walk from Kazimierz the Jewish Quarter so an excellent location for exploring Krakow. The rooms are spacious,comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is buffet style with so much choice and excellent quality. We stayed for four nights with our 2 teenage children and would recommend this hotel. Thank you we had a wonderful visit in an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a family room and we given 2 huge interlocking rooms so much space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Westwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 261 in Krakow
1,869 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 261 in Krakow
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,066 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Boutique Hotel

Address: ul. Berka Joselewicza 19, Krakow 31-031, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £76 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel is established in a newly renovated 19th century building, perfectly placed between the Old Town Square and the trendy area of Kazimierz. It is ideally located away from the noise, yet only minutes walk from the city’s main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropolitan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing