We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay at Hotel Jan”
Review of Hotel Jan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jan
Ranked #33 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This Hotel is a little gem,a stones throw from the main square.We had a double room at the back of the hotel,very comfortable,fantastic bathroom with shower ,hairdryer,. our room and the hotel very clean,Staff friendly.
Breakfast was lovely with choice of hot eggs and bacon or cold meats and bread
In general the hotel was perfect and we will be returning next time we visit Krakow.

Room Tip: room number 3 at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babs031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Changed at the last minute to this hotel and really pleased we did! The location is fantastic - so near the main square, great restaurants and good shops. We had a room at the back which was quiet and comfortable . It's well worth paying that bit more for the deluxe double which is much more spacious. Breakfast was ok too with lots of choice. If I went back to Krakow I'd stay here again for sure. The city is great value for money - don't change your sterling till you get there as the rate is much better - just make sure you don't get ripped off. The hotel staff recommended an exchange place which was one of the best ones but airport was good also.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back - pay for the deluxe double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithy5850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here with my parents very recently and the location is fabulous. So fabulous that on the Saturday night I struggled to sleep in Room 7 due to the street/bar noise, however, this wouldn't put me off staying here again.
Great value for money, very helpful staff who were able to assist us arranging a visit to Auschwitz and booking their recommended restaurants during our stay.
Below the hotel is a bar called Silver Whiskey: the best whiskey pub in town!! Fabulous! Great owners who were able to recommend the odd tipple and played a great mix of music. The bar has only been open a month but I am sure it will be a huge success. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Hotel Jan couldn't be more central - less than 50 metres from the main square. We stayed there for a weekend break and were not disappointed by the general facilities offered by a modern small hotel which included a generous help yourself breakfast.
BUT and it is a big but. Insist upon an inside room for some sleep when you drag yourself away from everything Krakow has to offer, as the outside rooms facing the square can be very noisy especially with the crowds leaving the square in the early hours.
We asked to move after one night and were fortunate to change to a family room at the rear overlooking the courtyard which was excellent. As there were only two of us we were lost in the bathroom and room itself but it was so quiet! And well worth the extra £ 12.00 a night.
NB:We did in fact ask for a rear room when we booked on the advice given by fellow Trip advisers and although it was stated on the booking form we still got a front room when we checked in!

Apart from that it was a hotel we would recommend - ideal for your stay in Krakow.
Everything centres around the square and it is so walkable!

Room Tip: Insist upon an inside room when booking/checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighWycombeJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

First location,location just in the middle of everything.We really like breakfast it was very good with a lot of yummy cold meats very nice bread and cakes!!!Staff very nice and friendly and specialy Sylvia was very helpful and so lovely it was pleasure to talk to her.We had room just on the top floor with big balcony and was very quiet so we had very good sleep after busy day.Krakow is a fantastic city to visit.Plenty to see and discover with excellent food almost every corner.So thank you Jan Hotel for nice stay and looking after us during our stay in Krakow.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0lantaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was a very nice surprise for all of us. We were a group of 5 and booked 3 rooms for one night but we were pleasantly impressed by the quality of rooms, beddings, bathroom, furniture. Simple design but very clean, spacious enough for luggage, cozy breakfast room and friendly staff.
And everything at 2 steps away from the Krakow's main square!
We couldn't have asked for more!
We promised ourselves that we will return to Krakow and we will stay at Hotel Jan!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catalina272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here approx 7 nights located just off the main square was told its only been open in its present guise for 3 months.Very comfortable room most comfortable hotel bed i've ever slept in! .On the whole very friendly staff with a reasonable understanding of English.Standard contemporary room very clean,nice spacious bathroom good standard too,first hotel room I've had with no phone ( wouldn't have used it anyway).Flatscreen t & c facilities.
Useful fridge but no free water or mini-bar.I think you can book trips but made my own arrangements.Breakfast was sufficient although couple of times had to ask for the odd item which should have been there Jam etc.You could probably get better facilities at a hotel further out of town for the same money but location is near perfect & I would stay again only downside is road outside is predominantly pedestrian so a taxi has to drop you off 30 yards from the front door.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#18 of 262 in Krakow
967 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#26 of 262 in Krakow
545 reviews
Rezydent Hotel
#66 of 262 in Krakow
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#15 of 262 in Krakow
1,107 reviews
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#30 of 262 in Krakow
748 reviews
Legend Hotel
#10 of 262 in Krakow
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan

Address: ul. Grodzka 11, Krakow 31-006, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Krakow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Jan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened Hotel Jan is situated on Grodzka 11 street near the Main Square in the Old Town in Cracow. It is a quiet hotel located in an old 600-year tenement which is tastefully and elegantly furnished and adapted to meet modern requirements and needs of our kind guests. Hotel Jan has all-night reception which is always at your disposal, breakfast hall is arranged in a form of a greenhouse in which you will be welcomed by plants and exotic trees. This hall can be also used as a place of conferences and entertainment events of any kind. We have a projector which allows watching TV on very big screen, which is very attractive during sport events, especially football.In 800-year old basements of the tenement we can offer you Irish Pub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Jan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing