We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Secesja- a real find”
Review of Secesja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secesja Hotel
Ranked #139 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 6 June 2014

On arrival we were given room 603 at the top of the hotel-really not very good - tiny,small window in the eaves you had to crawl to in order to look out and the double bed pushed against the wall so you had to climb over it to get in, no room for bedside tables, bathroom with a very small sink and no where to put anything apart from the floor. We complained, we couldn't be moved on the first night but to be fair we were moved on the second day to 405,twice as big, great views and very comfortable.
Apart from our issue with the room everything went really well. The staff were very helpful, the breakfasts were fine and the hotel is in a great position; everything you want to see in the wonderful city is within walking distance. There are numerous restaurants within a few minutes offering cheap and tasty food, the river is five minutes away in one direction, the old town a comfortable 15 minutes stroll in the other. Free tea/ coffee is a real bonus. There is a small raised seating area where we met friends for a coffee or just read our book.
The hotel were very efficient in organising a taxi to pick us up from the airport, 90 zloty (around £20) for the 25minute ride for four of us. The taxis are efficient is you want to go further afield - Nowa Huta-is an experience not to be missed. Schindler's factory is one of the best museums I have ever been to, do go, give yourself several hours. Aushwitz has to be visited. There are numerous tourist information places in town who will organise a pick up from the hotel for 100 zloty. Loved Krakow, we will definitely be back

Room Tip: Don't have 603 unless you want a dark tiny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwlsTrentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great value for money. Stayed for a weekend in Krakow with a friend. The hotel located in convenient location, perfect of you want to go sight-seeing. Really friendly and helpful staff. Tasty breakfast with good selection. The rooms are good size, clean with nice toilets. Definitely worth visiting when you want affordable place with a good service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights on a cheap quick break. There was a slight issue with the booking that meant we had to switch rooms after the first night but they seemed to compensate by giving us a pretty awesome room on the top floor. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the bathroom was particularly good for space. The breakfast is standard for most European hotels - bread and preserves, meat and cheese - but was fine generally. Located near to the castle and a 10 - 15 minute walk to the main square. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be recently modernised, the top floor was a very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otoko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My sort review: good Hotel in a good location a good price. Breakfast was enough and perfect, room was cleanly and silent, the bed was comfortable. Parking is not the best, a bit circumstantial. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beki7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Warsaw, Poland
2
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were staying for 2 nights, celebrating our wedding anniversary.
I asked to provide a bottle of wine and a basket with fruits. On check-out they charged 90 ZLT ( aprox. 25 EUR!!! ). To clarify - i have paid 55 EUR per night, so the extras is out of proportion!!!
As for the hotel - very nice place, rooms are comfortable and good equiped. The breakfast was good.
The staff - very friendly and helpful. They include coffee / tea 24/7 and when there was no hot water, they prepared for us a coffee at the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am dismayed at the reviewer saying that the hotel is "a bit old fashioned"! It was perfectly clear to me that the owner has gone to huge lengths to create what must be the prettiest, classiest of all the small hotels in Krakow. Carefully-chosen pieces of classic antique furniture, Art Nouveau paintings and posters, excellent choices of decoration of walls and floor, leather Chesterfield sofas and gorgeous Tiffany lighting make the reception/lounge/dining room both warm and stylish.

Ignore also the comment about "continental breakfast". Both mornings there was a hot servery containing scrambled egg and sausages, as well as the usual cheese, ham, salad stuffs, cereals etc. There is no kettle in the room (though there is a fridge!) but you can get pots of tea and coffee 24 hours a day free of charge by popping down to reception via the lift.

We stayed two nights. Because there was a freak heatwave and very close, humid weather I carefully chose a hotel with air-con, but in fact the hotel had not switched it on. I asked the evening receptionist to turn it on, saying our room was so hot and stuffy I don't think I could sleep. He said he did not have the authority (nor did he seek it). As a result, I had a terrible night and barely slept.

Next morning I raised a complaint with the manager and she could not have been more helpful. She immediately moved us (literally - she offered to help carry our bags) to one of the three brand new loft rooms, which have their own air-con, independent of the rest of the hotel. The lift only goes to the 5th floor so you have to climb two easy-rise flights to reach the 6th floor. It was definitely worth the climb!

These rooms are huge and very stylish indeed! She let me choose between two and I selected the one at the rear of the building. It was over 20 feet long by about 12 feet wide, and had three windows facing Wawel Castle -- as well as a Velux in the roof operated by a remote control - very swish! The decor and furniture are excellent and tasteful.

The bathroom was magnificent - better than any Hilton, Radisson or any other 4 or 5 star hotel I have ever stayed at. It was massive (about 12ft long by about 7ft wide) and beautifully fitted out, with a glass shower cubicle with both rain shower and hand-held, PLUS a big corner bath, so if you are a couple you can bathe at the same time! Unfortunately the beauty of the fixtures, fittings and decor was let down by thin, hard, ragged towels with threads hanging loose, plus there is no shelf in the shower to put all your toiletries, but I did mention this to the lovely lady manager, who was eager to hear my suggestions for improvement.

The king-size bed was supremely comfortable, the bedding luxurious, the decor superb. There was also a big, wide faux suede sofabed, but the TV on the wall faces only the bed, so you cannot watch TV from the sofa. There wasn't a fridge but they plan to install one.

Overall the hotel is very clean and is in a quiet area but a short walk to trams and castle, cathedral. A very short walk takes you to the riverside where you can walk along the prom or just sit in peace with a backdrop of the beautiful St Stanislaw's church.

Difficult to choose a rating out of 5 because our first night was terrible and our second wonderful! So I plumped for 4/5, to err on the generous side because this is a beautifully-appointed hotel and the owner has recently clearly paid out a LOT of money to upgrade the three loft rooms into super-luxury ones and is, clearly, striving for excellence and really cares about her hotel.

We paid £40 a night including breakfast, via booking.com. Booked same day as arrival.

Had we been given the loft room on arrival first day, I would have rated this 5/5.

Room Tip: Ask for a loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaWojtczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Not far from the castle. Nice very clean rooms with friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent and tasty. Very good value for money. Area was quiet and felt very safe. Taxis can be booked from hotel and are very cheap. The river is only a short walk away

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BrighouseBoy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Karmel Hotel
Karmel Hotel
#146 of 267 in Krakow
99 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
#84 of 267 in Krakow
712 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Oberza
Aparthotel Oberza
#83 of 267 in Krakow
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#110 of 267 in Krakow
307 reviews
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#86 of 267 in Krakow
488 reviews
Stare Miasto
Home Aparthotel
Home Aparthotel
#64 of 267 in Krakow
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secesja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secesja Hotel

Address: ul. Paulinska 24, Krakow 31-065, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £28 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secesja Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Secesja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secesja Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing