We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Krakow”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #100 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent hotel, spotlessly clean and well equipped twin bedded room. Free Wi-Fi and excellent breakfast, a great base for exploring Krakow. You can pick up a free walking tour from outside St Mary's in the main square. Make a donation to the guide at the end of the tour. Many local tour companies around the central square and easy to book. Some offer hotel pick-up. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel from 21st March. On reading earlier reviews which said that the annexe was noisy and not so good, we had asked to be in the main building and this is where we were. I cannot comment personally on the annexe rooms but we noticed that there were some groups of young English men staying for the weekend - probably stag trips - and they were put in the annexe. Our room was spotlessly clean. The décor was perhaps a little dated but we weren't planning to spend much time in the room. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge and a t.v. The staff were all extremely pleasant and polite and very helpful. The breakfast room was also spotless and the breakfast was good. We understood that there was a bar at this hotel but it has been closed so this may be of interest to some people. The Hotel was 5 minutes from the Old Square and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Alexander 11 for four nights commencing the 20th March 2014. We enjoyed our stay and we loved Krakow. Our room comprised of two single beds with shower and tv. There are only two criticism's that we have. One was the noise of the trains which you do get used to and cant do anything about and the tv only has one English chanel which is the BBC world news. I know you don't go on holiday to watch tv but at the end of a full days sightseeing it is nice to unwind and relax but the news is so depressing. The hotel is in a perfect position to walk anywhere in Krakow and we did walk everywhere. The continental breakfast is superb with fresh rolls/bread, cooked meat, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, hot scrambled egg and frankfurters and cake. If you want tea and coffee in your room the hotel provide sachets of coffee,t bags and powdered milk and you can either get a kettle from reception or use the water cooler on the landings which provide hot water also. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. This hotel cannot be faulted for a reasonable priced room, by no means luxurious but adequate with a perfect location.

Room Tip: The trains are vert noisy I would ask reception for the quietest room they have.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel - quite unpretentious- is in an excellent position. It is a five minute walk from the Old Town and just up the road (turn right when leaving the Hotel) there is a supermarket and a twenty-four alcohol shop. Also a Post office.
I have to say that the Staff are outstanding - nothing is too much trouble. They booked us an brilliant (but tiring) Walking Tour of Krakow. (It took four and a half hours) It was very informative and we learnt a lot about Polish History. The Guide was brilliant. He timed things to perfection. I would recommend this.
Everything is spotlessly clean. The rooms are quite adequate and brilliantly maintained. Clean towels etc everyday.
The Breakfast had, I thought, something for every taste. Cereals; Fresh fruit, cake, cold cuts. cheeses, egg mayonnaise, cake. and cooked fare - scrambled eggs, sausages, etc. Excellent.
There were a couple of school parties staying here during our stay. They were rather excited and somewhat noisy! (How ever, I cannot help thinking of my own grandchildren and how excited they would be.) It was not a big problem and did not disrupt very much!! The mornings were quite. Just a word of advice - if a school party is in house, get down to Breakfast at 7.45am to beat the rush!!!!!
Christophe on the desk was fantastic. Thank you for getting the Premier League Football Results.
I would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not a problem here - if you have a room overlooking the street (as we did) there is a little noise b...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnsorrento2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Alexander has a central location close to cafe's and Restaurants . The room( in the main building) was spotless, cleaned daily , towels replaced daily( providing you follow the instructions and leave dirty linen on the floor) Tea & coffe making facilities ...good, when you felt like an early morning cuppa. Very warm and cosy. Good value for money. Will return to this hotel. The reception staff had very good English. Breakfasts were ample ... and plenty of fresh fruit & endless cups of tea. A nice touch were the filled soap ( at sink) and shower Gel ( in the shower cubicle) dispensers. 2 items less to pack.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here late Feb early March the hotel staff were friendly and helpfull, the room in the main building was comfortable warm and very clean, Krakow is a beautifull city and Auschwitz is a must, loved it so much going back in May and to the same hotel, rude not to for a £1 a pint!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank regulartraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just had 4 great night stay here. The hotel and rooms are spotless warm and cosy,the breakfast plentiful and fresh. The locationt is perfect 5 mins from the Old city centre with plenty of bars and restaurants. There is nothing to fault this hotel except a bar if you like a relaxing drink after a long day doing all the fabulous trips.


Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Reg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Alexander II
Hotel Alexander II
#133 of 261 in Krakow
302 reviews
Stare Miasto
Logos Hotel
Logos Hotel
#111 of 261 in Krakow
290 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Maksymilian
Hotel Maksymilian
#38 of 261 in Krakow
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rezydent Hotel
#70 of 261 in Krakow
954 reviews
Hotel Amber Design
#43 of 261 in Krakow
301 reviews
Stare Miasto
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#126 of 261 in Krakow
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: ul. Garbarska 18, Krakow 31-131, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £39 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing