We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good break in krakow”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #104 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good break in krakow”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days in February and it was very good. Room was clean and tidy and restaurant was spotless. Breakfast was plentiful and a reasonable choice too. When booking, I informed hotel that during our stay we would be celebrating our son's 18th birthday, who was with me and my wife. On arrival, there was a birthday poster and bottle of red wine in the room for us, which was a nice surprise. Good location, short walk to main square. Would like to go back in the summertime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    256
    112
    28
    22
See reviews for
91
220
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from Krakow, stayed at the Hotel Alexander, 5 minute walk from the main square, hotel is clean, fresh and the restaurant is superb!! Stayed 3 nights, recommend Cyrano De Bergerac restaurant, superb food, very reasonable priced, lots of bars and clubs to explore, food and drinks cheap, average 1.50 a pint of local Tyskie, (Lager). Enough said!! The 2 musts to do are visit to the salt mines and Auchswitz, both eyeopeners, makes you appreciate what the people went through and see the full horrors for yourself!! Polski bar is good for sports fans, footie especially, Sky Sports and the rest of the sport channels. We will certainly visit again and take in more of what the city has to offer, we only scratched the surface in 3 days.

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent hotel, spotlessly clean and well equipped twin bedded room. Free Wi-Fi and excellent breakfast, a great base for exploring Krakow. You can pick up a free walking tour from outside St Mary's in the main square. Make a donation to the guide at the end of the tour. Many local tour companies around the central square and easy to book. Some offer hotel pick-up. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel from 21st March. On reading earlier reviews which said that the annexe was noisy and not so good, we had asked to be in the main building and this is where we were. I cannot comment personally on the annexe rooms but we noticed that there were some groups of young English men staying for the weekend - probably stag trips - and they were put in the annexe. Our room was spotlessly clean. The décor was perhaps a little dated but we weren't planning to spend much time in the room. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge and a t.v. The staff were all extremely pleasant and polite and very helpful. The breakfast room was also spotless and the breakfast was good. We understood that there was a bar at this hotel but it has been closed so this may be of interest to some people. The Hotel was 5 minutes from the Old Square and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Alexander 11 for four nights commencing the 20th March 2014. We enjoyed our stay and we loved Krakow. Our room comprised of two single beds with shower and tv. There are only two criticism's that we have. One was the noise of the trains which you do get used to and cant do anything about and the tv only has one English chanel which is the BBC world news. I know you don't go on holiday to watch tv but at the end of a full days sightseeing it is nice to unwind and relax but the news is so depressing. The hotel is in a perfect position to walk anywhere in Krakow and we did walk everywhere. The continental breakfast is superb with fresh rolls/bread, cooked meat, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, hot scrambled egg and frankfurters and cake. If you want tea and coffee in your room the hotel provide sachets of coffee,t bags and powdered milk and you can either get a kettle from reception or use the water cooler on the landings which provide hot water also. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. This hotel cannot be faulted for a reasonable priced room, by no means luxurious but adequate with a perfect location.

Room Tip: The trains are vert noisy I would ask reception for the quietest room they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel - quite unpretentious- is in an excellent position. It is a five minute walk from the Old Town and just up the road (turn right when leaving the Hotel) there is a supermarket and a twenty-four alcohol shop. Also a Post office.
I have to say that the Staff are outstanding - nothing is too much trouble. They booked us an brilliant (but tiring) Walking Tour of Krakow. (It took four and a half hours) It was very informative and we learnt a lot about Polish History. The Guide was brilliant. He timed things to perfection. I would recommend this.
Everything is spotlessly clean. The rooms are quite adequate and brilliantly maintained. Clean towels etc everyday.
The Breakfast had, I thought, something for every taste. Cereals; Fresh fruit, cake, cold cuts. cheeses, egg mayonnaise, cake. and cooked fare - scrambled eggs, sausages, etc. Excellent.
There were a couple of school parties staying here during our stay. They were rather excited and somewhat noisy! (How ever, I cannot help thinking of my own grandchildren and how excited they would be.) It was not a big problem and did not disrupt very much!! The mornings were quite. Just a word of advice - if a school party is in house, get down to Breakfast at 7.45am to beat the rush!!!!!
Christophe on the desk was fantastic. Thank you for getting the Premier League Football Results.
I would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not a problem here - if you have a room overlooking the street (as we did) there is a little noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsorrento2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Alexander has a central location close to cafe's and Restaurants . The room( in the main building) was spotless, cleaned daily , towels replaced daily( providing you follow the instructions and leave dirty linen on the floor) Tea & coffe making facilities ...good, when you felt like an early morning cuppa. Very warm and cosy. Good value for money. Will return to this hotel. The reception staff had very good English. Breakfasts were ample ... and plenty of fresh fruit & endless cups of tea. A nice touch were the filled soap ( at sink) and shower Gel ( in the shower cubicle) dispensers. 2 items less to pack.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Alexander II
Hotel Alexander II
#130 of 260 in Krakow
299 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Maksymilian
Hotel Maksymilian
#39 of 260 in Krakow
851 reviews
Stare Miasto
Logos Hotel
Logos Hotel
#106 of 260 in Krakow
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rezydent Hotel
#67 of 260 in Krakow
937 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#85 of 260 in Krakow
1,454 reviews
Hotel Amber Design
#33 of 260 in Krakow
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: ul. Garbarska 18, Krakow 31-131, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing