We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maltanski Excellence”
Review of Hotel Maltanski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maltanski
Ranked #88 of 265 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel is decorated in an original style compatible with its age and location in the "old town". Rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Only the deluxe rooms have air conditioning, which was needed during our week long stay. Breakfast buffet is very large, varied and offers many healthy options. In addition, staff will prepare some breakfast items like eggs to order. The staff of were friendly, very helpful and bi-lingual. The hotel is on a main street with a park on the opposite side of the street. The large market square, Reny Glowny is a short walk of 4 -5 blocks away. We enthusiastically recommend this hotel for anyone who enjoys a small hotel with unique decor.

Room Tip: Only the deluxe rooms have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our room at the Maltanski was spacious, just as described. The 16 room hotel was once the Royal Stable. It's across from the Planty and close to the castle. The Planty (park) was once the moat around the Old Town.

We were insulated from the late night noise of the Main Square, yet close enough to enjoy our walks to the square, the castle, and the neighborhoods toward the river. Across the parking lot, in a similar yellow building, is The Biala Roza, a good place to dine

With a flick of a switch, the bathroom mirror didn't fog.

The breakfast room was elegant, befitting the excellent selections. Coffee and refills were served in fresh cups, nice touch. The wait staff and surroundings gave it a fine restaurant feeling.

The desk staff helped us book private tours. I presented a TripAdvisor pin when we checked out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank indrablanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Maltanski Hotel was a great pick. The room was very spacious,clean and well appointed. The breakfast was excellent. To top it off, it is very centrally located just across the street from the Old Town and a short walk to the Wawel Hill

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel. Its location is great, just a bit off the tourist track so it's quiet. The rooms are great and the staff is wonderful. The only concern that we had was that not every room has AC. But the window open wide and there is a fan. The breakfast is really good too.

Room Tip: only 3 rooms have AC if you must have it, make sure you request it when you make your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Being in Krakow as part of a visit by the choir of Bristol Cathedral my wife booked this hotel where I joined her. It is, at worst, five minutes walk from the main square and all the sights of the Old Town and is stylish and comfortable. At the end of a hot and sticky day sinking into the bath was a delight and breakfast was an equal delight. Whilst it is true that there is no bar or restaurant you are but a stroll away from more bars and excellent restaurants than one can imagine. An excellent base for a city visit to which we shall return. Whilst there do not ignore a visit to Auschwitz.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KeithandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here about five years ago and having had a good experience chose it for a return trip to Krakow.

We were not disappointed, location is good for access to all the main sights and yet it is quiet enough to escape if you choose.

Breakfast is good, only downside no bar or restaurant but with plenty to choose from in the busy market square and elsewhere this should not be a problem

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved this hotel, easy to get to from the airport using local transit. A walk through the park and your your in the old town square. Breakfast was very good. Front desk very helpful. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, our room had a lovely terrace, garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#125 of 265 in Krakow
108 reviews
Metropolis Design Hotel
#36 of 265 in Krakow
564 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Floryan
Hotel Floryan
#130 of 265 in Krakow
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#31 of 265 in Krakow
390 reviews
Stare Miasto
Art & Garden Residence
Art & Garden Residence
#20 of 265 in Krakow
290 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#90 of 265 in Krakow
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maltanski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maltanski

Address: ul. Floriana Straszewskiego 14, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#37 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £41 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maltanski 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maltański is situated right by the lush greenery which surrounds the Old Town. The interiors were painstakingly restored to provide accommodation in a hotel where tradition meets all the mod cons. Quiet surroundings, close proximity of Krakow's rich culture and a welcoming atmosphere - this is the Maltański in a nutshell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Maltanski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltanski Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing