We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let first impressions deceive you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantis Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantis Hostel
Ranked #28 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Donadea, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't let first impressions deceive you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

After receiving a free cherry vodka shot after check-in, we walked up stairs that looked like a communist block from the 1960s. Once we opened the door to our block of rooms the place looked much nicer. The beds were clean and comfortable, the room was large and spacious and had two fans going constantly. The kitchen is well stocked and the common room is an excellent place for a few drinks before a night out. You have to keep reconnecting to the wifi but it's not a major deal. Definitely the best value accommodation we stayed in during our month's travel around Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    102
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
11
33
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hostel, as many have said looks grubby on the outside but much of it has been refurbished inside. We had a en suite room for £30 a night and it was excellent - kitted out with Ikea stuff rather than the usual hotel banal stuff. The common room had the atmosphere of someone's lounge and was great for relaxing in - much better than a hotel room or hotel foyer. The main attractions are all in easy walking distance. The longest walk we had was to and from the train station and that was 25 minute stroll or a 15 minute walk.
The staff were very helpful providing maps and showing us where to eat.
Our booking stated no breakfast but there was free cereal and milk for breakfast and tea and coffee was always available - there was even proper coffee as well as instant!

Room Tip: Room A1 is on the first floor - it is a double with an extra bed and en suite bathroom - much bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deswilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

In several words to say - clean, tidy, comfortable and nice. Especially the place, I mean location! Don't be afraid that it is not in the touristic centre! Hundred of meters - and you are in a very interesting place - Jewish quarter. Not many tourists know this place. Many things to see, many interesting and strange bars, really different from the market square routine:)
P.S. On that time when we arrived there were no water at all, so it was quite uncomfortable. We're told to wait couple of hours. We went to the city for walking and when we got back after 6 hours there were still no water. 30 minutes by 30 minutes, every time we were told to wait. Hopefully after third time the receptionists find away for us to take a shower, we would write excellent review if she'd have done that after first time, nevertheless it was a nice stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grytė B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The location near the Jewish quarter was great for the evenings. The building itself doesn't look great, but they'd put in a new reception area and it looked like they were making other improvements too - the left luggage area was a shed outside so I didn't use it, hopefully they'll sort that next. Good facilities - bathroom was the best I've seen in a hostel and all beds have a socket and large locker. The wifi was good, but you kept having to log in which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

When you first walk up, you will be a little wary. The neighborhood and building looks scary but once you climb the steps and go into the actual hostel it isn't that bad. Staff was pretty nice.

The common room is actually pretty nice. It is set up with one big room but separated into three separate "rooms". That was really nice because you could possibly have your own space. A couple of nice couches, tables and little round things to sit on. Really nicely decorated. Wi-fi was very good on my laptop but only in the common room. I couldn't get it to work on my I-phone. I think it had something to do with the double log in. For whatever reason, the 2nd screen wouldn't pop up. But no one else seemed to have a problem.

Kitchen was the usual hostel kitchen though bigger than most. Free coffee, tea, milk. Breakfast was cereal and I believe toast as well. I don't recall there being any butter or jam. Off the kitchen is a little balcony that overlooks the street.

The dorms were big with a table and chairs. The beds were not the most comfortable I have slept in but they weren't the worst either. The showers were nice and hot however, there were only three for the floor and I had to wait over a half hour at 9am. But if you take showers at night or after check out, it is fine.

The only thing that I really didn't like is the way they store the bags for you. There is a shed out back. They just gave us the keys to go put our bags in and again to take them out. No one came out with us to see that we didn't mess with anyone else's bags. They also paid no attention to us as we walked out with our bags. They do have lockers in the rooms which is nice.

Girls in our room were drinking heavily (vodka straight of course) and one puked all over the bathroom in the middle of the night. By the time I got up about 8am, it was all cleaned up. Kuddos to the cleaning staff. Kitchen and common rooms were very clean. Dorms would have been as well except for the drunk girls.

The location is close to the Jewish quarter. About half way in between old town and Jewish quarter. I would say about a 10-15 minute walk to old town. If you are coming from the bus station, get really good directions and have a map or a GPS if possible. The directions I got from google map were really missing some major details. The pedestrian tunnel goes under the train tracks so when you walk out of the bus station doors, you go right on Bosacka and then right on the first street - Topolowa. You walk to the end of the pedestrian tunnel turning left right before you enter the shopping mall. After a very short time, you will see the plaza. (If you don't see it and keep walking, take a right when you come to the street which is named Lubicz street.) When you see the plaza, walk diagonally or left to get to the corner of Lubicz and Westerplatte. Going diagonally will safe you a few minutes walking. Take a left on Westerplatte and walk along side the park. Take a left on Starowislna. Take a right on Jozlefa Dietla. The hostel is a few blocks up. I think the walk takes almost a half hour.

Bottom line, it is a nice place to stay. The security in the actual hostel was pretty good. Code to get into the common room/kitchen. Keys to get on your floor and into the rooms. They could use more showers and have a little bit more security with left luggage but other than that, I was happy to stay there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road. The view from the back rooms was a nice field with trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

It is a very good hostel. I stayed in the newest part, 6 bed dorm with en suite bathroom and payed about 10 euros a night. The beds are typical ikea and the bathroom is very nice with an awesome shower.
Wifi is fast and free, but only in the common areas, not in the rooms. The kitchen is good, but the fridge is just a bit small. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnterQuery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Entrance is a bit scary, and the luggage store! Staff super helpful, rooms clean and kitchen cleaned often. Great location close to the Jewish Quarter - the cool bit! Not far from main square either. Great budget stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndi_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hostel Faust
#187 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#69 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#97 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#3 of 407 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Kazimierz
Good Bye Lenin - Pub & Garden Hostel!
Premium Hostel
#37 of 407 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hostel

Property: Atlantis Hostel
Address: ul. Jozefa Dietla 58, Krakow 31-039, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantis Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest hostel in Krakow. Few words about the location: marvellous, stunning, astonishing !! Not only is close from here to the Wawel Castle (3mins walk), but also it is close to the Jewish District - Kazimierz (just cross the street ;-) Feel yourself free to enjoy your stay at the newest hostel in Krakow !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing