We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private rooms - like staying in an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travellers Inn Hostel
Ranked #114 of 449 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had four nights staying in the private rooms near Wawel Castle and totally enjoyed our time here. There are five rooms (each with its own key) and a communal kitchen, funky living area and two (clean!) bathrooms, there are also laundry facilities available.

Our room was at the rear of the apartment, so we were furthest from the street (though it was quiet on the nights we walked home). This is a great place for couples or friends wanting a cheaper form of accommodation whilst still having the opportunity to meet others. It’s definitely quieter here than staying in a dorm hostel – and most of the other guests we met were around the same age as us (30-somethings) or older, so it is a lot more relaxed environment.

The private rooms are really close to the castle (maybe two blocks away) and once you get your bearings – you’ll realise everything is within walking distance, though they do offer free bike rental if you wish to explore further out.

Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and breakfast are available all day, the staff come by in the morning and are contactable by phone or via skype/email chat on their website if you need to reach them. There is free wifi and two PC computers in the apartment to use. We had some difficulties finding our way there when we first arrived at the train station – so make sure you follow the directions clearly – the receptionist who greeted us was lovely – she went into great detail explaining what there is do and her recommendations for the best pierogi in town.

We highly recommend the private rooms at the travellers Inn and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were on an InterRail-trip through Eastern Europe and finding this hostel after a long journey was just awesome. We slept in a big dorm room and immediately met some nice French guys, who showed us the city. Even though we chose the dorm room, it still was really comfortable and cozy. Tasty breakfast, clean shower facilities, free Internet and free use of the washing machine were everything a dirty and hungry InterRailer could ask for. The staff was really friendly and gave us some very helpful tips and was very obliging after a misunderstanding. We will definitely visit Krakow again and stay again at this beautifully decorated hostel or try the other private room location, as long as it provides the same impression of rather sharing a flat with some really nice guys than staying in a hostel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in the private rooms location near Wawel Castle, and the location was fantastic. The room was large with clean shared bathrooms and a kitchen. We were very pleased with our stay there and would definitely recommend it for couples or families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank lovebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Nice, large and clean rooms, great location, very helpful staff. Thanks again for sending the cell phone I forgot in my room!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grie_Soss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This review is solely for the private rooms section of the hostel, which is in a different location in Krakow to the Hostel Dorms.

Pros

- Very helpful staff. The staff answered all our questions and helped us out where possible. There was a problem with the water supply in the street and the city had to turn the water off temporarily, so the staff offered to take our washing to the hostel to clean and dry it, which was very helpful to us.
- Large and open rooms and common kitchen/living area. There is only 5 rooms here so this place is great if you want to get away from the busy dorm hostels. The staff person is only there in the morning (but you can reach them by phone anytime), which makes it feel like your renting an apartment, rather than a staying in a hotel, which is kind of cool. There is also a small common use balcony that overlooks a small courtyard with a small clothesline.
- Lots of included extras. This place had breakfast, WiFi internet along with internet on two computers there, plus use of the washing machine (and powder) all included in the room price.
- Close to the tram system. The Filharmonia tram stop is only 5 minutes walk away, which is great for getting to and from the main train station and the rest of the city.
- An included Hostel information booklet. Travellers Inn Hostel Krakow have put together a very comprehensive list of places to eat & drink, sites to see plus other advice, which really saved us a lot of time searching for information ourselves. Great job guys!

Cons

- There were some minor maintenance issues that needed addressing. The hot water system on one of the showers stopped working on one of the days we were there. When I let the staff person know, I got the impression that they had issues with this particular hot water system every now and then, but in fairness they did say that someone was coming out to look at the system. Also, the other shower, with the working hot water system, had an issue where the mounting for the removable shower head was loose and so the shower head mount would spin around on the wall and the shower head would fall off mid-shower! We also found the beds to be very basic and a little hard for our liking, plus the pillows were flat and about 1 foot square in size. These are minor things really but worth mentioning for the purpose of objectivity.

Overall, we like the feel of this place and because there was only two other couples here at the time we stayed, it was a quieter and more homey. I feel that the good service we got slightly outweighed some of the issues mentioned above and for that reason I would recommend staying here. If you've travelled elsewhere in western Europe, you realise that you're paying less here for a private room per person than what you pay in some dorms in other countries. It's worthwhile checking out.

Room Tip: If you are getting the train to the main station in Krakow and are following the directions given by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FootFalcon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights both in sarego st. and the other one--the private room. The staff were helpful and very very nice. They help me find and book another place due to my changing plan. The first one in Sarego was nice and safe enough. You may find your private time in a twin bed room and also have a company when step out of the room. The private room was too private for me. Both were in great location. Resonable price. I will come back again :)

Room Tip: Twin bed room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpatcharee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here for six nights, with 7 lads. Booking the hostel was easy enough and I kept in touch with the staff on live chat on their website which gave me a wealth of information and knowledge about Krakow and Nutella. The staff are brilliant here and very helpful, we even went to Poznan with some Irish lad we met and the staff refunded us two nights which is a very kind gesture. Overall the place is clean and has no faults whatsoever. I will definitely come back here in the future!

Room Tip: Eat the nutella at night and a new jar will be ready as you wake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momosgoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 449 in Krakow
741 reviews
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#31 of 449 in Krakow
274 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 261 in Krakow
593 reviews
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
ibis Krakow Centrum
#64 of 261 in Krakow
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn Hostel

Address: pl. Na Groblach 8, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 449 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: £31 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travellers Inn Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are tiny hostel beneath Wawel castle, and we could be your home in Krakow (if you need one).We have great, colorful rooms, all necessary utensils in kitchen, so you could prepare your meal, nice balcony to smoke, some bikes to use, strong WiFi, washer and breakfast included. We have also nice laid-back atmosphere and lots of good advice about Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing