We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but definately not a 4 star hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ostoya Palace Hotel
Ranked #132 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I have just returned from 6 days in Krakow. I have booked this hotel due to really good location and the pictures on the website looked good too. Unfortunately, the whole hotel is done up to a really cheap standard, the rooms are really small too (both my parents, and we reserved a 'superior' double rooms, which were an usual double size rooms, not a superior doubles!!!!) Also, there was no coffee in the rooms, and when requested the receptionist said that they don't provide coffee for the room!!! How can a 4 star hotel not provide coffee for their guests??!?! On the up side, the rooms were really clean and staff was really friendly. Unfortunately, the prices didn't match the standards, and I won't be coming back again....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madlenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

Just arrived back from 3 nights at the Ostoya and found it to be an adequate and suitable hotel for a short break in Krakow....Our room was very small(but spotless) with a decent sized shower and bathroom..We had 2 skylights(electrically operated) that were a bit of a pain ( the rain lashed against it 1 night that keping us awake)...The location was great as it was a 10 minute stroll to the huge and beautiful main square...The football grounds of Cracovia and Wisla were only a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction so handy for anyone wanting to take in a Polish football match.....Must just mention the Hotel Bar which was situated underneath the hotel...Although a bit smokey,it was a typical Polish Bar with loads of atmosphere and very friendly locals and Barstaff....

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We were really disappointed with this hotel. The room we had was dark with only two small skylights letting in a minimal amount of daylight. The ceiling was so low we had to bend in half to get into bed and the bathroom had the smallest shower I have ever been in. We did ask for a room with a bath and were initially told they had no rooms free and then were told that if we wanted a different room we would need to pay double what we had already paid.

They give you some welcome drink vouchers when you arrive so that night we went down the small, very smoky bar, showed our vouchers and they asked us what we wanted. We each chose a drink and then we were asked to pay £20 (for a baileys and JD and coke!) as our vouchers didn't cover that!

We arrived for breakfast the next day and gave our room number. When we had selected some food from the ok-looking buffet we were told that breakfast wasn't included and that we would have to pay approx £10 each per day. it really wasn't worth it so we left it.

With the exception of two staff members the staff were rude and unfriendly. The hotel was smoky and our room was awful. The room with the bath wasn't much better either! Really, don't waste your money on this pretense of a four star hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnetts32B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Ostoya Palace hotel for four nights. The first thing that hit us (after lugging our cases up a steep flight of stairs) was the over powering smell of cigarette smoke. Guests are allowed to smoke everywhere including the hallways. I am an occasional smoker but when we went down to the basement where the bar is for a drink, we decided not to bother as the smell was uncomfortable. We had an attic room which was spacious and clean. The bathroom, whilst small, had been newly refurbished with a power shower.

As we had booked room only, we asked the Receptionist where we could get breakfast locally and were met with a shrug and told vaguely to walk to the main square where we might find somewhere. Actually, there are lots of lovely Polish bakeries that have a few tables where people can enjoy a warm pastry with a cup of tea or coffee.

Due to the volcanic eruption in Iceland, our flight back to the UK was cancelled. When I enquired at reception as to the possibility of keeping our room for a few more nights I was told we could but at two and a half times the price we had paid for the pre booked nights. We found somewhere else to stay (see review for Mundo Hostel) which was far cheaper, more modern and smoke free.

We would not stay at the Ostoya Palace hotel again. There wasn't even access to the internet unless you had brought your own laptop with you. Given the circumstances of our enforced extended stay in Krakow, this was unhelpful to say the least.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This hotel is wonderful and I can't find fault! It was welcoming/warm/comfortable with a kettle (few tea bags - take your own!) lovely decor, beautiful bathroon with power shower and all clean and luxurious!
Lovely breakfast - traditional and polish- until 11am!

Helpful staff and private sauna (only £6 for as long as you like)

Short walk to town and all interesting monuments and museums.
Good trasport links to other areas.
Taxi from airport - £15 but you can get there by train - just walk to train station and it's £2 single to airpot but trains don't go that often.

Highly recommended hotel - tradition with lovely features!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williawebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

read previous reviews and although the majority were very good, there were some negatives about the attic style rooms. we stayed in the attic rooms and they were in keeping with the rest of the hotel. High standard of decor and very, very clean. 2 of our party were 6 ft plus and had no problems with the height of the ceilings. Staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast was continental and adequate with a choice of omlettes or cooked eggs if you didn't just want cold cuts.
The location is about 5 mins to the main square and 20-30 mins stroll to the Jewish quarter.
One review we read recommended a trip with Auschwich with a taxi driver called Bob. He cost us 300zty for 4 people in his car. He was informative and friendly and showed us films of the history of the camps during the 1:15 hr trip each way. He shows you more than most of the tour guides and is the cheapest option for organised trips. If you are interest, google him "bob taxi, krakow".
Lovely trip made all the bettr for our stay at Ostoya Palace

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Highly recommend this hotel. The staff went out of their to make certain our stay in this lovely atmospheric hotel. The room was spacious, very clean, lovely big windows. The restaurant was perfect in it's menu. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty to chose from, the chef would make us a hot breakfast also. All in all very very good! :)

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ParisTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Amber Design
#34 of 261 in Krakow
310 reviews
Stare Miasto
Fortuna Hotel
Fortuna Hotel
#123 of 261 in Krakow
103 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Fortuna Bis
Hotel Fortuna Bis
#162 of 261 in Krakow
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#67 of 261 in Krakow
410 reviews
Hotel Apis
#128 of 261 in Krakow
147 reviews
Stare Miasto
Kossak Hotel
Kossak Hotel
#27 of 261 in Krakow
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostoya Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostoya Palace Hotel

Address: ul. Marsz. Jozefa Pilsudskiego 24, Krakow 31-109, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#74 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £50 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ostoya Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ostoya Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostoya Palace Krakow
Hotel Ostoya Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing