We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Grodek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
Ranked #9 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

This hotel was relatively expensive but provided us with a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food from the restaurant was amazingly good. The room was quite small but very clean and wonderfully presented and the bed was comfortable. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to people who are thinking about it.

  • Liked — The location and the beautiful room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sydneys_swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    125
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
385
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2008

This is a wonderful hotel, very centrally located in Krakow but yet hidden away on a quiet street. You can walk to market square in less than 5 minutes. The staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging a taxi, tours, restaurants, etc. There is a very cozy bar on the lower level and a fantastic restaurant in the hotel as well. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was one of the best meals we had while in Krakow. The breakfast each morning was nice and included a nice assortment of juices, cereals, pastries. The staff also cook a special order eggs and bacon for us one morning. I loved Krakow and the Grodek was fantastic. I'd definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Krakow.

  • Liked — Room, Restaurant, location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melrosetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed at the hotel grodek after originally booking at its sister hotel the hotel pugetow. Unfortunately this was being refurbished so we were transferred to the Hotel Grodek. On arrival we were impressed by the staff and their efficiency. Even though we arrived at 9:30am they showed us to our room.

The hotel is in the best location possible....even better than its sister hotel. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the main square where there are bars restaurants and shops.

We got a taxi to the hotel from the airport costing 66 Zloty (about 13 GBP). Going back we went via the train station (a 10 minute walk from the hotel) the train went straight to the airport and only coast 6 zloty (1.20GBP) if we had known this on arrival we would have taken the train...which was an excellent service.

Getting back to the hotel the room was lovely and clean and comfortable. Free internet connection and sky tv. The breakfast was lovely offering either a cooked option or cold buffet.

All around the square are fabulous restaurants and bars and stumbling back to the hotel was easy.

We booked trips to Auchwitz and it was a touching trip

we also found our way to the salt mines we went on our own....via a minibus which was half the price of organised trips.

We loved Krakow and loved the Hotel Grodek......it was an excellent hotel with a great location. well worth it for the price.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petercLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake district, england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

We stayed here over Christmas with family.We booked a suite and a twim room. The suite which was on the third floor was very comfortable, well decorated, very clean, underfloor heating in the bathroom, heated mirrors, down duvets and pillows, great bed, reasonable mini bar, free fast internet connection, iron, teas coffee, buiscuits, hairdryer, tv, robes, slippers and more. The twin room had the same amenities minus the separate lounge area.

Breakfast was excellent, cold meats, cheese, smoked salmon, bread fruits, cakes, cereal, tea, coffee, juice or you could order various hot food and a selection of coffees at no extra charge.

All of the communal areas were spotless with log fires, bar very cosy with a selection of books, chocolates.

The staff were exceptional, young, very smart, efficient, and very friendly. I cannot find fault with this hotel, it is a boutique style with tasteful old furniture and situated three minutes walk from the main square, very quiet no traffic noise or noise from passing people.
Great hotel, fantastic staff, spotlessley clean...5*

  • Liked — Classic style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

My wife and I stayed here with several other couples for three nights in October, 2007. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The rooms were wonderful, the location terrific , the restaurant one of the best in the city, the bar is cozy , and the staff was extremely helpful and attractive. (If you want a tour guide, ask the front desk if Andrew is available; you will have a good time with him.)

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

Grodek hotel is in a cul de sac very close to the main oost office (Poczta Glowny) and from the main square (Stary Rynek) is best reached on foot down the street at side of Empik bookstore.

It combines a small hotel with basement restaurant where I have eaten several times in recent years.

I had Room 305 for one night in September. It was classed de luxe but was relatively small. Large double bed with two duvets. Bathroom had bath with integral shower. There was iron and board, as well as kettle. Comfortable room but not particularly luxurious.

One internet terminal halfway up one of the staircases

Staff v friendly on arrival. Speak English.

Road works going on near the hotel. So approach is dusty.

Breakfast was buffet style in basement restaurant. Fair selection of cheeses, some fruit but no fish. Coffee ok. 4 juices. Quality good and possibly as extensive as one could reasonably expect in a small hotel

Rate paid inc breakfast for 2 was PLN 890 (EUR 235) - charged in advance. Not particularly good value for money in Krakow. There is better elsewhere in the chains. I will choose Novotel or similar in future.

  • Liked — Friendly staff in good location
  • Disliked — High price
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerinpoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galston Ayrshire ,Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

Have just returned from a four night stay at the Grodek Hotel in Krakow. There were six of us,all young retirees,discerning and well travelled and all of the same opinion concerning the Grodek. It is a gem of a hotel,so close to the centre and yet so quiet. We occupied three rooms on three different floors and each room was different. One was fairly small, the other two were larger and each was designed differently. Each room had tea making facilities,bath robes,an iron and ironing board,safe and plenty of wardrobe space The staff was excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet and twice during our stay we ate in the hotel in the evening and had a lovely meal reasonably priced. If you go, try out the roof terrace,it is a nice place to relax after a day's sightseeing. We were not due to leave Krakow until the evening but after our 12 o'clock check out the hotel stored our luggage and allowed us to use their lounge until our taxi came.

  • Liked — The luxury of it all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Property: Hotel Grodek
Address: ul. Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-028, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#6 Family Hotel in Krakow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#23 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Hotel Gródek is located in the very heart of Krakow, yet it is nested away from the city bustle in a quiet street close to Main Market Square. Surrounded with a truly historical atmosphere, you can enjoy the individually arranged rooms, fantastic food and impeccable service. On top of that, the Hotel can also host conferences, offering elegant interiors with all the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing