We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful charming hotel/great location.”
Review of Hotel Grodek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
Ranked #16 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Our stay was relaxing, quiet and very close to old town. Great service, friendly staff. My one suggestion: replace the beds.
We found them very low to the floor making it extremely difficult to fold clothes to repack.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiCi819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a lovely stay here at Hotel Grodek.
The location is perfect, just a little off the main roads, so it's nice and quiet. But it's also almost dead center of the old town, so you have walking distance to everything in this district.
We didn't try the local restaurant at the hotel, there were so many other first class restaurants just a few streets away.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to other couples traveling in Krakow.
If I were to mention one negative element, it was the number of "homeless" people staying in the Planty just outside. It was a bit creepy, but there were often security personel around outside.

Room Tip: We had a room facing in the backalley, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Krackow was fabulous. Hotel Grodek, staff brilliant, room charming & spotless, breakfast had everything you could ever want.
Each day the reception staff printed out information for my travel companion and I. We visited Salt Mines, Schindlers Factory, Auchwitz and all the attractions in Krakow.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough, in a quiet cul-de-sac just off the Planty, 4 mins walk from market square.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 456meandyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel is only about 2 blocks away from the Market Square but is on a cul-de-sac street so it is quiet without any people or vehicle noise. However, a major road, with trams, is only across the small garden ("planty") so depending on the location of the room, sounds may come through.

Breakfast has many choices and of very high quality. Rooms are large and bright.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the terrace floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here recently and enjoyed it but the experience was greatly lessened by the room which was really only suitable as a single. With only one small case each we had difficulty moving about. Pity, as the hotel is quaint, well located, nice staff, and a reasonable breakfast.
We had a better experience elsewhere in Krakow

Room Tip: Double standard may be too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Grodek in June 2013 for 7 nights as part of a tour group in a nicely decorated and comfortable room. Although I usually walked to my room on the third floor, there was an elevator available. There were two bottles of water included with the room (one "with gas" and one without). The bathroom was bright and clean. The room temperature was not always consistent, but for the most part it was comfortably cool. We had a breakfast buffet every morning which included everything from omelets cooked to order to breads, cheeses, meats and fruit. The staff was friendly, courteous and attentive, both in the restaurant and at the front desk. One of the best features of the hotel is that it is a short walk from Krakow's main Market Square and a bit longer walk from several notable churches and the Wawel Castle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vkbudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My sister and I originally booked a room in the Grodek’s sister hotel, the Pugetow. When we learned that the Pugetow could not easily accommodate certain of my sister’s health issues, Pugetow management worked with the management of the Grodek and found us a suitable room. The service commitment in the Donimirski chain is simply superb and very deeply appreciated.
The Grodek is in a beautiful, classy building a few steps off the Planty, and an easy stroll from the Mariacka cathedral and the Rynek. It’s in a charming, cozy neighbourhood, with some very lovely shopping and restaurants. It has an elevator that takes you to a peaceful rooftop garden from which you can see the Mariacka and other rooftops. If you prefer, the staircases are easy to find and very charming, with artwork and curios and gorgeous ironwork.
Our room had two single beds and faced across a tiny courtyard to a large wall covered in green climbing vines. Every morning there was a verdant glow from that wall. The windows were huge, six or eight huge panes, and opened both vertically and horizontally, as many European windows do. Some people may not like that view (the green wall) but we found it relaxing and peaceful.
The room was quite large and comfortable, with a coffee / tea maker, which we made good use of. The bathroom was sufficient and the plumbing worked well. We had a room safe that was well sized and welcome, bathrobes, a small fridge, and extra chairs. There was lots of space for our clothes as well as our shopping, in drawers and countertops. The only complaint was that the beds were quite low and soft – we’re used to firmer and higher mattresses. After a bit of effort from the hotel staff the air conditioning worked perfectly. There was a small collection of cats hanging out in the courtyard, and some slept on top of a little woodshed. They added a bit of home and character, and we sometimes threw bits of sausage down onto the woodshed roof (manna from heaven, from their point of view).
Breakfast was served in a lovely, sophisticated room in the lower level, also facing into that courtyard, with a glass roof. There was an abundance of food - proteins, fruits & veggies, and carbs. The cappuccinos were perfect and brought very promptly by the attentive, friendly staff; the pastries were fresh and superb. My only complaint is the choice of music – it was either Celine Dion or Bryan Adams, and sometimes played too loud. It would be better to have light jazz (especially given Krakow’s reputation for jazz, surely some local talent could be featured!!!) classical, or a light pop mix. Even though I’m Canadian, Sealion and Bryan are too much for me in the a.m.
The staff of the Donimirski chain are simply wonderful. Pan Stanislaus, a mature very dignified gentleman, was especially helpful and knowledgeable. He helped us with the AC, and when our room safe wouldn’t open. He also helped us book a tour to Zakopane, and spoke of the history and economy of Poland. Maciej recognized my sister’s accent as being from the northeast, which was really surprising as she left Poland as a preteen over 50 years ago. There were several beautiful young ladies who were also very friendly and helpful at the front desk.
The location is perfect, the facilities very comfortable, but even more, the hospitality and old world charm are impeccable. Thank you to all the staff (and to the Pugetow too!!) for making this visit so comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 261 in Krakow
1,099 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 261 in Krakow
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#26 of 261 in Krakow
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Address: ul. Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-028, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Krakow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#10 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#23 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £79 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Hotel Gródek is located in the very heart of Krakow, yet it is nested away from the city bustle in a quiet street close to Main Market Square. Surrounded with a truly historical atmosphere, you can enjoy the individually arranged rooms, fantastic food and impeccable service. On top of that, the Hotel can also host conferences, offering elegant interiors with all the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing