We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a hotel”
Review of Hotel Grodek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
Ranked #10 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Pudsey nr Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 24 October 2008

I chose the hotel after seeing a write up about it in the Sunday Times travel magazine, It is listed as a 4 star but it was every bit as good as a 5 star we stayed in in Prague.
It only has 23 rooms so is small and intimate, every room is individually designed, we paid for a standard doube but later found we had been put in a de-luxe double (we were in room 207) The room was lovely, the bed was really comfortable and the sheets were changed every day (luxurious monogrammed bedding) breakast was taken in the conservatory and there was everything you could ask for, we never bothered with lunch while we were there as we had plenty at breakfast time, we ate in the restaurant one night and the food was lovely, it was reasonably priced considering the quality (wine was expensive though)
The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the town square but because of its location away from the street it was very quiet. Staff were pleasant and friendly, if we went back to Krakow we would definately stay there again. I booked through StayPoland.com who were excellent

  • Liked — Luxurious room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank McBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    127
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
68
389
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2008

recommended by a friend living in Krakow and it was superb. We had excellent comfort and what an outstanding restaurant. Easy to walk into the Rynek but very quiet. The roof top terrace must be great in the spring. Give the place a try. It is small and very friendly.

Mike UK

  • Liked — the whole ambiance.small friendly booutique hotel and very effecient
  • Disliked — could not turn the air con off
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

What we loved?
*Great Staff. We were very impressed, everybody was so sweet and willing to help. They have great drivers, don't bother with taxi.
*Decor. I was looking for a nice stylish little hotel to impress my slightly snobbish boyfriend, since I was trying to show him my country of origin in the best light. GREAT SUCCESS! We both loved it. Little romantic boutique hotel, perfect location, we were walking everywhere.
*Breakfast the buffet has very good selection. Order some scrambled eggs, or an omelet if you prefer. They have cappuccino machine, smoked salmon and among other things, great polish yogurt.
*Great little library with tiny little bar, but they had everything we needed, and I've got a feeling that if they were missing anything, somebody would have ran to the liquor store just to make us happy.
What we didn't like:
*The restaurant at night. They are trying to much, but the basic flavors were just not there. The prices were very high for the quality. We were the only guests there at 8pm on Saturday night.
We are both in the hospitality business and as much as we loved the hotel, the restaurant was a huge disappointment. They say it's a 4 star restaurant but I would only give them a star for service only.
*What is up with the music during breakfast?
We had to listed to the worst possible music every morning. Grodek, please change the CD, it would be a huge improvement, this music makes it feel cheap.
Everything else is really perfect.
GO TO GRODEK, it's not cheap, but I'm sure you will love it!

  • Liked — my room
  • Disliked — my dinner
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

The Hotel Grodek is a small and friendly hotel within a central but quiet location, ideal for tourists.
My wife & I celebrated our wedding anniversary while staying at the Grodek, the staff provided a few special touches which made the stay even more memorable.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the decor immaculate.
Breakfast was served in the dinning room, which also doubled as a show case for old Roman relics excavated during the building and construction of the hotel. Breakfasts were excellent, with hot and cold options, all beautifully prepared, even decaff coffee was bought in on request. The accompanying Country and Western music at breakfast was my only concern!
We found all the staff friendly, helpful and everyone spoke English well. Help was available with tours and concert tickets too.
Krakow is a wonderful city for a short break and this hotel certainly compliments the needs of tourists to a high standard.

  • Liked — Helpful staff, clean, excellent decor and break breakfasts
  • Disliked — Country & Western music breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank manxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We went to the Grodek as we were going to Krakow for a wedding. They were so helpful when we booked it directly with them via e-mail, only two days in advance.
The hotel is lovely - all the rooms are different and we had room 101 with the bed on the plinth. The bathroom was a wee bit small with few surfaces and only a shower, but it was clean, modern and stylish. I can't remember the brand of the products but they were nothing too exciting, although there were tonnes of them.
The restaurant is great fun and the cigar bar is cosy and lovely. We were allowed to drink there until we dropped. The staff overall were so helpful and friendly - they could not do enough for you. The hotel is small enough for them to remember you and greet you whenever they see you. Also on our final day they offered us a lazy check out until 5pm with no extra charge. They said that all of the wedding party were checking out and they would not need our room - it was so sweet of them and this is something I have never been offerered, even at some of the best hotels in the world. The staff were also extremely helpful when it came to booking taxis/making reservations etc.
The hotel is perfectly located - literally just 2 mins from the main square. Breakfast is good - a selection of fruits, cereals, meats etc, plus you can order anything you like from the menu - eggs benedict etc.
The roof terrace is great for a few drinks and seeing the views of Krakow.
I am certain the if this hotel had a gym/pool it would be classified as a five star - everything there certainly was to a great standard.
This is a wonderful hotel and we will definitely be staying there next time our travels take us to Krakow.

  • Liked — Stylish and charming
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEAandNOTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

Colorful, comfortable rooms. Quiet and easy walk to old town. Very helpful staff. Small, quiet bar with two beers on draught. Nice furnishings, decor, breakfast room with nice light. Very modern construction with earlier structures preserved.

  • Liked — modern construction in historic setting
  • Disliked — single public computer
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beerdrinker2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2008

This hotel was relatively expensive but provided us with a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food from the restaurant was amazingly good. The room was quite small but very clean and wonderfully presented and the bed was comfortable. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to people who are thinking about it.

  • Liked — The location and the beautiful room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sydneys_swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,068 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 259 in Krakow
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
915 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Property: Hotel Grodek
Address: ul. Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-028, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#23 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Hotel Gródek is located in the very heart of Krakow, yet it is nested away from the city bustle in a quiet street close to Main Market Square. Surrounded with a truly historical atmosphere, you can enjoy the individually arranged rooms, fantastic food and impeccable service. On top of that, the Hotel can also host conferences, offering elegant interiors with all the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing