We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, don't miss it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grodek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grodek
Ranked #10 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We chose this hotel after reading and researching Trip Advisor and other sources and were very pleased. The location is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful with excellent English. The hotel is beautifully furnished, the linens embroidered and the entire facility is spotlessly clean. The breakfast, included in the room price, is adequate but has a limited selection of items. There is a computer with internet access on the 2nd floor. Glad we made this choice!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tngypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    123
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
376
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

I've been staying in this hotel in February. I would say: perfect , small but very comfortable, super stylish hotel! Very good located (in front of the park, just a few steps from city center and castle). Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast wonderful, tasty and full. I would recomend to everyone who is planing to go to Krakow. Thank's to the Hotel.
Sandra and family from Lithuania

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Out of 17 countries, we give Krakow #1, the Grodek was absolutely wonderful. The staff was more than friendly & helpful, we felt like family. The breakfast was more than expected. Our "Suite" was well worth the price. We never left the town for 2 1/2 weeks. we expected to take some side trips but found the town so enchanting, the Grodek so romantic.....I would return in a heart beat! In traveling 17 countries with ininieries that would kill most travelers, Krakow inspired us to throw our itinery out the window and just wonder slowly and admire. Consider Poland in January, it's beautiful. Buy the book on the town legands and you will be entertained endlessly discovering the places & discovering they still keep these marvelous legand alive today. We LOVED Poland!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuitaDickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Everyone says the same its well located, quiet, rooms spacious - so can't say anything more really, just wanted to add my recommendation of this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Krakow. Auchwitz and Salt Mines are a must when visiting, although Salt Mines not suitable if you have an issue walking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

Hotel Grodek is just a short walk to the main square of the old city in Krakow, but it is in a quiet location as well. The decor is antique and charming and the rooms are well appointed and equipped. Breakfast is excellent and the restaurant also serves good dinners. Other good restaurants are an easy walk from the hotel as is public transportation. Staff was pleasant and helpful - we had no complaints about the Grodek which offers good rates as well as good accommodations. It certainly met our needs.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

I chose this hotel on the back of other "tripadviser" reports for a party of older people to enjoy Krakow. It certainly lived up to its reputation. It is conveniently tucked away in a cul de sac just 5 minutes away from the main shopping area of the old town. We were 25 mins from the airport (£7 pp return using a taxi firm identified on the internet) and the same firm organised a trip to Auschwitz with a 10% discount-("aroundkrakow.pl"). Everyone was pleased with the rooms - comfortable, well appointed (hairdriers, bathrobes, very reasonable priced mini bars, air conditioning, heated bathroom floors etc), and most of reasonable size. Service was very good and reception was extremely helpful in assisting in organising a walking tour (which proved to be excellent, informative and nicely paced) and good restaurants. First night we dined in the hotel and for 12 of us it was most reasonably priced with a good choice of menu, wine was a tad expensive, but we had a room to ourselves and enjoyed the ambience. Overall, we found our food and drink costs to be on the cheap side - the Zloty exchanging at 4.7 to £ - coffees and beers being around £1 to £1.50 in the old town area. Breakfast in the Grodek is a delight - hot and cold food, an abundance of tea/coffee etc. I always rate hotels by the standard of scrambled eggs - it was of a high standard and done with bacon. The hotel is well placed so it is easy to walk to most places of interest - 20 mins into the Jewish quarter and its quirky restaurants (the Aerial); 10/15 mins to the Wawel Castle. The hotel like Krakow is full of historical and quaint interest. We would all like to return in fact it merits a 4 night stay and not just 3.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ditton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

My husband and I had a long weekend begining of May. Grodek was my second choice - my first being Wentzl (on the square), but Wentzl would not confirm a PLN price only a Euro price and this was the time when the £ was getting weak. I made the right choice. Grodek was 2 mins walk from the square and approx 10 mins walk to Kazimierz district and was quiet. My email communications with the staff was always pleasant and I booked room 307. We had one annoyance but not a big deal really - we arranged a taxi with the hotel to pick us up from the airport - I even confirmed it the day before - when we arrived no taxi, I would have thought they would have managed this better. We did not have a drink in the hotel bar - in Poland you can still smoke in public places and for us as non-smokers it was unbearable. Breakfast was very good - scrambled eggs, poached eggs, eggy break, french toast etc,,,,,,, as well as the normal cheeses, hams, fruit etc,,,, BUT the staff are not particularly efficient - you will need to go up to them and tell them exacty what you want!
If there is one negative I would say the views from the hotel rooms are not particularly great.
I would stay at the Grodek again and I would recommend it to everyone.

Other info:
As far as eating - we found two fab resturants not far away, just off the square:





1. Trzy Papryczki - Fantastic little place, fresh pizza made for you - one of the best pizzas we have had. The entrance to this place has lots of advert cards for other resturants etc,,, - it is worth going to take a look as it offers % of meals and free drinks etc,,,,,
2. Can't remember this resturant name but it is next door to Trzy Papryczki



We also found one terrible resturant - The Piano Rouge. Fillet steak like bubble gum.

There are many resturants and bars around the sq. Most have 0.5l of draught beer for 8.50 - 10 PLN, wine by the glass is 100ml and is around the same price as the beer - there is one bar/resturant that takes advantage of tourists beyond acceptance - The piano Rouge. They only have a smal area for seating on the sq - sit at the next table with a different company and the price will be competitive with all other bars. THe cheaper bars seem to be on the side of the SQ where Wentzl hotel is - don't know why.

THe horse and carriage trips are great and very popular, however there are times when you can barter. 25mins from SQ to Castle and back - we were first quoted 140PLN and they would not budge on this price - but with another person we got it for 100PLN - it is worth asking several 'drivers' for best price. THere are also small electric cars that have tours. There are 3 areas - old city, Kazimierz district, Jewish Getto. We walked the Kazimierz and Jewish getto areas but go the electric car for the old city area which included the castle. It is rushed but an experience. The price is 120PLN for 1 area, 180PLN for 2 areas and 240PLN for all areas. They were offering 100PLN for one area which we took.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esined_smit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grodek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grodek

Property: Hotel Grodek
Address: ul. Na Grodku 4, Krakow 31-028, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#6 Family Hotel in Krakow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#23 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Grodek 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exquisite Hotel Gródek is located in the very heart of Krakow, yet it is nested away from the city bustle in a quiet street close to Main Market Square. Surrounded with a truly historical atmosphere, you can enjoy the individually arranged rooms, fantastic food and impeccable service. On top of that, the Hotel can also host conferences, offering elegant interiors with all the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Grodek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grodek Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing