We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL - GREAT CITY BREAK”
Review of Qubus Hotel Krakow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qubus Hotel Krakow
Ranked #50 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Inverclyde Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL - GREAT CITY BREAK”
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Great base for a 4 day City Break.
Hotel modern, clean, staff very friendly and helpful - excellent buffet breakfast. Comfy rooms - we had one overlooking river Wistula. Room has flat screen TV and PC with internet access (free). The pool area lovely and relaxing..with fabulous views over Krakow. Just the job after a days sightseeing prior to going out to Dinner!!
We booked trips through Hotel to 1. Auschwitz-Birkenau), 2. Wieliczka salt mines and 3. Zakopane & Tatra Mountains. Great value for money + free hotel pickup. (Prices were similiar when we enquired and Tourist Info BUT hotel pickup was not included).
Needless to say Auschwitz-Birkenau was a very moving experience. The salt mines are unique and not to be missed. Zakopane is worth visiting - it does attracts day trippers with all the market/shops that you would expect of a resort. It is in the beautiful Tatra mountains and the funicular railway and cable cars that are worthy of a visit. The scenery if spectacular. Go if you can!!
If you are travelling from UK the prices of food, drinks, entrance fees etc. are some 30% less. We liked the restuarants in the square at the Jewish Centre.
We bought a tram ticket which lasted us the duration of stay - Tram stop just along from hotel.
Would definitely stay here again and absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALMAR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    556
    109
    29
    16
See reviews for
215
660
48
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This was my second time at Qubus hotel in Krakow. In other occasions I could be in different hotels right in the center of Stare Miasto and, even if I appreciated the antique buildings and more romantic atmosphere some of them have, I must say that Qubus is a more rational choise.
First of all, price. Booking on their official site, you find special rates (save&stay) that are about half of normal rates. There is no cancellation policy, but I paid a double room 98 eur/night against the official 180.
Small complain about price...rate is indicated in euro, then when booking, everything is charged on Credit Card, converting Eur in Polish Zloty. So at the end, using their exchange rate, the 98 euro were actually 112. Not a drama, but not so fair and nice to realize afterwards.
Room is not very big, but comfy and quiet. Restroom comfy as well and with a nice bathtub and shower. Closet with iron, elettronic safe, and extra pillow/blanket. Airconditioning was working too.
At 6th floor there is a small but nice covered swimming pool with solarium. Next to it, a mid size Jacuzzi. Worthy of a trial.
Staff is young and kind, even if not so expansive as you can expect in others( latin blooded) countries. They were always ready to help and suggest, expecially a gentle guy named Jacob.
In room is provided free internet connection. You can access internet even without having your own PC, as there is mouse+keyboard+headset next to LCD TV. On Channel 0 you can use a custom distro of Linux with implemented Firefox browser and Skype. I could easily surf the internet and check my mail, while had no chance to access Skype (no access for 4 days). Staff apologized saying they had some problems, but I suspect they blocked it as they might prefer guests to phone from hotel's room more then thru a free Voip as skype... Just my doubts.

Hotel structure is modern, clean and not so appealing, even if it is very pleasant to be in hall and other parts of the building. It is just on the Wisla river (hotel provides free rides every hour to the Wawel castel). It is a very quick and nice way to reach the old town.
For people who prefer to walk, the wawel castle is 1.4 km away from hotel. It is abt 15 min walk. At 5 minutes walk you arrive at the nice Jewish area called Kazimierz.
If you spend couple of days in Krakow, you might like to visit Auschwitz and Wieliczka salt mine. Each of the visits, takes about 5 hours. Qubus has at the ground floor a nice beauty salon and a Gifts shop. In this shop you can comfortably book guided visits to many destinations. Visits are in bus, with an english speaking guide. They pick you up in hotel and leave you in city center or in hotel (as you prefer).
Price per person is abt 90-100 zloty (25 eur). Not much if you consider that entrance (included in guided ticket) in Salt mine is 41 zloty....

Breakfast is good and various. Many kind of cheese, caprese salad, ham, juices, cakes, eggs... a very good way to start the day and feel full during the all morning.
Restaurant is open all day. Not bed. But my suggestion is to eat and party somewhere else then hotel. Krakow is plenty of nice places, pubs and fun.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Litwop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The Qubus isn't centrally located, but is in a lovely location right on the river, and as taxis are so cheap - around £4.50 from the central market square, the location wasn't a problem for us. The hotel looks nice from the outside, unlike some of the other concrete hotel blocks! The hotel was clean, and well equipped, although our room was really small. The main part of the room was just the width of two single beds, and two bed-side tables. But this wasn't really too much of a problem - it was still a nice room.

The swimming pool area on the roof is lovely, although the pool was quite cold.

The hotel buffet breakfast was nice, although I was expecting a massive feast after reading some of the other reviews.

The bar area was very nice for relaxing after a hard days sight seeing, and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from Oskar Schlinder's former factory.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexJoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a trip around eastern Europe and this was definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our trip. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and equipped with a tv, iron, ironing board, umbrella, sewing kit etc...everything you might ever need. The staff in the reception and restaurant are lovely and very helpful. The breakfast was beautiful and certainly enough to keep you full for a long time. We took a couple of day trips which were orgainised by the staff in the gift shop and were totally hassle free and very reasonable. The hotel has a beauty parlour which was very good value and the bar makes the yummiest cocktails (for about £3 each). It is a 20 minute walk into the main square but it is a nice gentle walk. And the hotel offers a feree boat trip to Wawel Castle and is opposite Kazmiericz which is lovely for dinner and a mini pub crawl. All in all would reccomend to even my fussiest of friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

If you're looking for a top class hotel at a budget price look no further. For £50 per room/night at the height of the season, including the finest breakfast you can imagine, this has to be up there with the best.

Ok, it's not right in the middle of town, a good twenty minute walk to the main square, but the trams stop 200m away and at 40p each way and a 3-4 minute frequency you can't fault it.

The pool, gym, sauna and steam room are excellent, and never crowded. Rooms and bathrooms are functional but extremely clean, and unusually for a large hotel the air con works perfectly and doesn't keep you awake at night.

The breakfast was so good I was only eating twice a day, but be warned, it gets very busy around 9.00am, and as soon as you get up for more your table will be cleared and chances are you'll return to find someone else in your seat. One of the problems of travelling alone !

The only downside was that neither of the two bars/nightspots attached to the hotel were open at the time I was there. Not sure why, but I notice other people on here have mentioned it.

One other slightly peculiar characteristics is the use of two single duvets on a 6' double bed. If there's two of you in it, one will definitely end up with a cold rear end !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exiled_Evertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

As a group we were very happy with this hotel which was very clean and modern. The staff was very efficient and would do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The free boat trip from the hotel to Wawel was short but very pleasant. Please note this trip has to be booked at reception. The breakfast buffet is extensive and we also ate at the hotel one evening which was very good and reasonably priced. There are lots of restaurants in the square where we again had some good food.

We used Around Krakow transportation between the hotel and airport. The driver was awaiting us as soon as we left customs in Krakow and arrived 15 minutes early to return us to the airport on our return. The drivers were smart and very pleasant. The cost for 8 people for the return journey was only 180 zloty ( the exchange rate in Krakow was 455 zloty for £100!) Worked out around £5 per person for the return journey. We did of course give the drivers a good tip.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We spent 4 days at the Qubus, and everything went fine.
The hotel is a modern building situated on the other side of the Vistula river, just south of the Kazimierz (Krakow's jewish ghetto).
The location is not too bad, if you are mainly interested in the ghetto and the Wawel castle, but it's a pretty long walk to the Rynek. A taxi cab (provided by the hotel) will bring you to the city centre for 20PLN, or you could take the tram from the stop located in the nearby square (2.50PLN).

We reserved a non-smoking room, but when we arrived there were none left, so we were assigned a smoking room. Luckily it did not smell, but this incident disappointed me because I'm very sensitive to smoke.
The room was not very big, although it was marketed as "deluxe". Cleanliness could and should be improved. There was a lot of dust, and one day I inadvertently missed the trashcan (without realizing it) and the crushed paper sheet I was trying to throw away stayed at the trashcan's feet for the entire duration of our stay.

Bathroom is small too, and not very comfortable. Be careful while entering/exiting the bathtub because it's very slippery. Also, they really should have the drains cleaned some way, because they are completely clogged. Taking a longer shower than usual will result in filling the bathtub as though you wanted to take a bath! Same thing for the sink: don't let the water run when brushing your teeth or it will fill up.

Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and continuously replenished. Probably the best part of the stay.

All in all not a bad stay (I just happened to emphasize what did not work in the hotel) especially at the rate we got, but next time I'll be in Krakow I'll probably try some place else.

Oh, if you are in Krakow don't forget to try the pierogi at the Pod Aniolami restaurant (ul. Grodzka 35) because they are to die for! Especially the meat ones!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sciamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Galaxy
#32 of 259 in Krakow
1,336 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#44 of 259 in Krakow
1,653 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 259 in Krakow
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kleparz
PURO Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qubus Hotel Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qubus Hotel Krakow

Property: Qubus Hotel Krakow
Address: ul. Nadwislanska 6, Krakow 30-527, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Krakow
#22 Family Hotel in Krakow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#28 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Qubus Hotel Krakow 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Qubus Hotel Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krakow Qubus Hotel
Qubus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing