We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Bed & Breakfast in the Kasimierz District!”
Review of Karmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karmel Hotel
Ranked #138 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Impeccable accommodations including air conditioning, superb breakfast offerings, friendly, service-oriented staff, free WiFi, a scant 15-minute walk to Wawel Castle and 20 minutes to Market Square. The restaurants attached to the hotel are also wonderful options (a huge benefit if the weather happens to be uncooperative).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AR_fishibhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Karmel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Last December we visited Hotel Karmel for the second time. The hotel with it's beautiful facade is located in Kazimierz (the former Jewish quarter) and it's about a 15 minutes walk from Rynek Glowny, the square in the old town. Kazimierz is a lovely area both day and night. In the night there are several bars, playing great music, full of students and other locals. The interior of these bars is very interesting and not any touristic at all. If you don't want to walk to and from the old town, the taxis are almost free!
The hotel does also have a very nice interior. We did stay in a Comfort Plus room and it was spacious and with lovely furniture. The breakfast was good and served in the very atmospheric cellar. A very good hotel with a great location and it was very inexpensive as well.
But please remember one thing. The Poles tend to be very shy. In a B&B in Italy you often will feel like visiting family after staying there just one night, not so in Poland. They are not unfriendly or hostile or anything, just very shy. But just take the initiative and say hello to them first and you will have a good time. We did!

Room Tip: Book Comfort Plus rooms only!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hotel is on a peaceful street, seconds away from Plac Nowy with its many bars and restaurants. The city centre is accessible on foot or you can catch a tram from a nearby stop. We stayed for five nights and thought the hotel made a great base. Breakfast was plentiful and all the products were of high standard, which is not always the case with hotel buffet breakfasts. Fresh coffee was made to order and there where several cooked breakfast options that could be ordered to go with the buffet option. When we next visit Krakow I will not hesitate to stay at Hotel Karmel.
I would not recommed this hotel for visitors who have mobility issues. The reception was on the 1st floor, and all guest rooms appeared to be on the 1st floor or higher. There did not appear to be any rooms on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaserine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent 3 nights in this small, cute, neighborhood hotel in the Jewish Quarter in Krackow. Room was clean, quiet and very nicely decorated. Nothing too fancy, but perfect for our needs. The staff was very accomodating, we felt very safe at the hotel and the in room internet worked just fine. Location is fantastic, easy walking distance to everything. We would highly recommend this hotel for others.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room away from the street if you are sensitive to room noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBS-and-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Hotel Karmel is a charming, spotless, friendly place on a quiet Krakow street. If I ever return to Krakow, this will be my spot. I recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolKranowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is located in Kazimierz, which is a great location in Krakow. It is a unique area full of awesome shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. Great for young adults. As well, it is just a short walk away from Wawel Castle and the old town square. The hotel was clean, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. All the staff members kept excellent track of us guests, what we were doing, and what we needed. The provided breakfast was a little bit small, but delicious. The omelettes were quite big and very tasty, order one! No elevator in the hotel, you definitely get a workout with the stairs. Excellent place to stay and explore Krakow.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingtark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Okay, now prices have shot up in Kasimierz these last years, so we were very happy to find a reasonalby prices accomodation. and one that was not full of cheap, pseudo-Jewish decor.
The staff is helpful and friendly, the room charming and old-fahioned. We walked in in the late afternoon and therefore only got a 2 -bed room that was not terribly large, but cleverly equiped, making the most of the space.
The bathroom was immaculate, and the tea service in the room made you feel at home.
CAREFUL: Do not think you'll have a more quiet time by booking a room to the back, some idiot from a neighbouring restaurant occasionally decides to throw out his empty bottles at 4am! :-(
Best book in the 2nd floor, streetside.
Breakfast is served in the Italian restaurant next door, it is large and fresh.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PollyPeachum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Oberza
Aparthotel Oberza
#81 of 261 in Krakow
144 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#137 of 261 in Krakow
289 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Miodosytnia
Aparthotel Miodosytnia
#178 of 261 in Krakow
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#68 of 261 in Krakow
423 reviews
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#24 of 261 in Krakow
471 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#96 of 261 in Krakow
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmel Hotel

Address: ul. Kupa 15, Krakow 31-057, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £30 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to the Karmel hotel, situated in the centre of the Krakow’s Kazimierz, the former Jewish district. We have prepared for you some cosy and comfortably equipped rooms in a restored tenement house from the early 19th century. The location of the hotel itself, in the stunning neighbourhood of most historic buildings gives you a unique chance of associating with the cultural heritage of Kazimierz. We wish your stay in our hotel to be full of nice experiences, convincing you to visit us again in the future. We can provide lodging for 20 persons, in single and double rooms with: - bathroom/shower - TV SAT - radio - telephone - mini bars in “Comfort Plus” double rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karmel Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing