We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were totally happy with the accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nordic House Apartments
Ranked #143 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were totally happy with the accommodation”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We arrived late evening - 10.30pm. We had contacted them the day before and they said someone would be waiting for us - they kept their promise! We walked up many stone stairs and eventually arrived at our rooms. It was a very pleasant surprise. Really good rooms with everything we could wish for. The people at Reception were friendly and helpful. All in all, absolutely no complaints whatsoever. If any of us had trouble walking, which we didn't, it would not have been ideal because there was no lift and we were on the third floor.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiansquaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    43
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Just returned from staying 2 nights at the Nordic House after visiting family in another part of Poland.

Really I just want to echo what other reviewers have said - this apartment has a fantastic location and if you leaned far enough out of the window you could just spot the corner of the market square literally a stone's throw away. This was ideal for us with only a couple of nights to spend in this fantastic city.

The room was a great size but i was a little confused as to why with such a big space and marketing themselves as apartments, they didn't do that little extra and add things such as tea/coffee making, a fridge etc. or even a massive bed. The bed was a normal double with 2 single duvets and, as someone previously mentioned, comedy pillows (square and flat), the bed didn't even have a headboard which kind of made it feel like someone's spare room. None of these are negative things, simply my comments and don't detract at all from the fact you are in a great location in a really big, adequately furnished room.

Downsides for us were the stairs - 75 to the 3rd floor which was OK first thing in the morning but not so great with suitcases or after a day of walking around the sights of the city. Hubby also missed English TV - I had read other reviews and thought "you don't go away to watch TV" so it didn't bother me at all but he missed being able to watch an hour while I was reading before bed.

Altogether a pretty good room in a superb location at a great price in a fantastic city.

  • Liked — Location a stone's throw from the main square
  • Disliked — Stairs!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at this apartment for four nights. I recommend you ask for apartment #21. It has a balcony.
The staff was wonderful, and breakfast is included. They are located steps from the central Market Square. A fifteen minute walk will get you to the Castle. Great restaurants, bars and nightclubs are all around the apartment.
They will also help you schedule any tours outside the city.
I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank kapnkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2008

After reading the excellent reviews of Nordic House we felt confident with booking this apartment. We weren't disappointed. We travelled by train from the airport to the city centre which took about 10 minutes and cost about £2 each. From the train station the city square is about a futher 10 minutes walk and the Nordic House Apartments are just the other side of the square. In fact, its just a minute walk.
We arrived early but someone was available in the office to allow us to leave our bags whilst we waited for the room to be cleaned.
Our room was on the second floor. Some people have complained about the stairs, to be honest, it didn't bother us. It could only be a problem for the less able bodied.
The room was exactly how it looked on the website. Extremely spacious with wooden floor and comfortable double bed. It was very clean and the bathroom looked fairly new. The shower was lovely and hot and that was ample heating in the room. The bed linen and towels were all fresh. There is a TV in the room and yes you can only get news channels in english, but who goes away to watch TV!!!! There wasn't a view from our window, but again, that doesn't bother us, as you don't go away to see the sites from your room! Breakfast is served in the cellar bar. It is very basic and consisted of bread, jam, cheese, ham and a boiled egg. It does however set you up for a mornings site seeing! The restaurants and bars around the square were lovely. The service was excellent and prices very reasonable. I would recommend visiting Auschwitz and also the salt mines, but be prepared for lots of walking and take comfortable shoes! You can book in the many tourist information places around Krakow, but we found the one in the centre of the square slightly cheaper. The tour guides were excellent at english and very imformative. I'd definitely recommend a trip to Krakow to friends and also recommend the Nordic House Apartments as a great base to explore this wonderful city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No coffee making facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Just recently stayed at the Nordic House apartments and what a great choice. Within 50 yards of the main square this is an ideal location.

We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who spoke good english. He escorted us to our rooms and told us details about breakfast times in the celler pub etc etc. We payed in cash on our arrivial which was handled really well and without any problems..

The apartments are very big and spacious. The apartment was very clean as to was the bathroom.

Downsides if any. We were on the top floor and the building has no lifts so its a bit of a hike upstairs. We are young so it was no problem to us but if you were unfit or elderly this might be a struggle.

All in all this was a great choice for our holiday. the rate was 900 zolty for 3 nights + 9 zolty local tax on top. Great apartment to stay at and highly recommened

  • Liked — Friendly service and spacious clean apartment
  • Disliked — Stairs to the top floor
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

These apartments are in a wonderful location, a stones throw from the main square. Huge rooms and very clean and well looked after. Staff were helful and friendly and the breakfast was really good. No choice but something for everyone. Only down side was we were in 33 and 3 sets of stairs to climb after a long day out site seeing.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — no fridge
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Just got back from Nordic House, and enjoyed it. Plusses were the clean, large and bright room (we had No. 21, which has a balcony) , decent breakfast, no buffet, but fresh rolls, ham, cheese and a boiled egg served to you along with coffee and juice, superclean bathroom and friendly staff.

Our room had a double bed, a basic MFI type wardrobe and a couple of Ikea type easy chairs, with a satellite tv system seemingly capable of receiving every known German channel, but only the dreary CNN in English. But then again, you aren't really there for tv.

Not so good was the nightly choice between a stuffy room with windows closed or horrendous noise from the street below, well into the small hours, and the comedy pillows on the bed. Less mobile guests should heed previous comments about the stairs too - fifty steps to the second floor rooms, which could be a problem for some.

Superb location next to the main square was a bonus, although the aforementioned street noise was an inevitable downside to this.

Well worth considering, but if the minuses are important to you, try somewhere else. It worked for me though.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Street noise at night
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#108 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Stare Miasto
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#107 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Campanile Krakow
#69 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mikolaj Hotel
#118 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#88 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic House Apartments

Property: Nordic House Apartments
Address: ul. Sw. Anny 5 | Old Town, Krakow 31-008, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordic House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Nordic House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic House Apartments Hotel Krakow
Nordic Hotel Krakow
Nordic Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing