We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #101 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Recently returned from a short trip to Krakov,Staying at the Hotel Matejko. Hotel is self is pefectly located for both the gallaria and the cloth hall both being 5-10mins walk away.
Hotel interior like a lot of older hotels in Krakov seems to be stuck ina 70's time warp interms of decor. tv is provided only channel I could understand was BBC world service (my problem for not understanding Polish). The rooms were c lean and comfortable with an excellent shower. Temp was minus 16 when there, however spent most nights on top of duvet as room was lovely and warm.
Requested double bed only got singles.

Breakfast was plentifull if slightly sparse. in terms of choice, cheese 4 types, cold boiled eggs, cereal, smoked sausage and a cross between scrambled and omelette eggs.
Aplentifull supply of breads and tea/coffe

Would I stay in it again. yes simply brcause you dont spend that much time in the hotel other than sleeping, and its location is proboably one of the best in Krakov.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    355
    127
    30
    12
See reviews for
104
301
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

If you are looking for a cheap stay in center of Krakow this is the place. Clean and in a very convinient location-only two minutes from Galeria Krakowska and train station. Breakfast was good and the hotel suited me fine for stay over night. Mark this is not a luxury hotel and it doesnt have a spa or pool etc but if you just looking for a good base to explore Krakow that shuld suit fine. The only 2 things I did not like: internet suppose to be for free which is not a case, u have to pay for it but its cheap 4zl which is 1 Euro per hour of usage. The other thing I had arrived and late evening and had a bit of a problem finding the hotel even tho I walked by it but the signs are very poor and there was not lighten up at the night time. If I needed another sleep base for a night or two I wouldnt hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Quiet, nice, low profile hotel perfect for tourists arriving to Krakow by train. It takes 5 minutes walk to get here from arrival platform. To get to Florianska Gate and to enter famous Old Town takes another 5 minutes. Guests have easy access to trams and busses hub located near Central Railway Station. Rooms are clean, neat and quite spacious and they serve tasty, filling breakfast. A large shopping mall- Galeria Krakowska- is just around the corner near the train station. But I strongly recommend to walk in the opposite direction, to market place called Stary Kleparz. It is open daily, with stands selling traditional, fresh, quality food. Among them bundz and oscypek- the famous cheeses from Zakopane/Tatras region.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoczmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Rooms not available on first night but problem resolved without fuss and upgraded to best rooms. Great location for station and square. Warm, comfortable and friendly. Would have no hesitation in rebooking at the Matejko.

Room Tip: Go for the appartment rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We booked this hotel for our last night in Kirakow, mainly because of is location, so that we could get to the bus station by walk since we had an early morning flight.

The hotel is pretty huge and it seems a pretty old building. It is located just outside the old city, in a central but still quiet area. The interiors seems like a bit old, kind of soviet style thing, the bathroom especially. Breakfast is pretty awesome, a proper continental breakfast in every aspect, so if that's crucial to you this might be the right choice.

Anyway, it is a great choice if you need to get fast to the bus station. I wouldnt stay for a longer holiday period, it seemed pretty bleak and lacking the small things that make you feel like home when you come back after a whole day walking around in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bum_around2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Best thing about this hotel is the location. Just around the corner from the train station, shopping mall, and about ten minutes walk from the old city and main square. Be aware that the rooms are not aircon. During my stay the temperature reached 37C, and although I was given a large fan, it was still hot. Breakfast very good, although other hotel meals were nothing spectacular. Web site says laundry available, not so. I also purchased a Krakow Card for my stay, but it was not honoured by 2 services, including the bus to salt mines. Repeated emails to provider were ignored.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is situated withing 2 minutes walk of the Krakow galleria and a 5 minute walk of the main market square.
At certain times of the day the bells of church opposite play pieces of music - like an over sized music box .
It was clean, comfortable and quiet (unless you opened your windows - but hey! you're staying in the city what do you expect?
Staff were pleasant and efficient and breakfast was as good as breakfast that we have had at any hotel (including hotels that charge much more)
The bar is open until 10pm but in truth, I didn't want to drink in the hotel while I was visiting such a beautiful and facinating city!

I would highly recommend the Matejko for anyone who wants to spend time in the city rather than the hotel.

Warning ....be careful how you pronounce the word Matejko ... I tried speaking it on my phone app and ended up asking "Where is the hotel of your testicles" it's put me off trying to speak Polish for life :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in 106 which had a beautiful view of the church!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#55 of 256 in Krakow
456 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#85 of 256 in Krakow
439 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#19 of 256 in Krakow
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Hotel Atrium
Hotel Atrium
#71 of 256 in Krakow
438 reviews
Europejski Hotel
#61 of 256 in Krakow
521 reviews
Kleparz
andel’s by Vienna House Cracow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Property: Hotel Matejko
Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing